Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ferryman

by ashdnazg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Clarification: Score is calculated by using the following formula:
Score = Remaining Gold - Lost Souls x 5

Where souls are lost if they're on a boat while it sinks.
That's why building a huge flotilla might give you negative score :)
==========================================
Apparently you are the ferryman over styx.
With people in the living world multiplying and dying in ever growing numbers, the only option is to expand.


Thanks for playing my game! Try to leave harsh feedback in the comments :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Humor3.58
#98Fun3.72
#195Overall3.60
#239Theme3.68
#256Audio3.25
#284Mood3.32
#552Innovation3.16
#777Graphics2.76
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47am

Just tried this game works good :) Cool concept just took me a minute to figure out I should buy more boats to get more souls across the river.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

Great idea to connect our world and the underworld. Great (and humourous!) sounds effects and soundtrack. Could be a little more difficult, I had many more boats than needed.

I saw your post while making my LD by the way ;), great to see you've made it!

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

STYX HIGHWAY ESTABLISHED. Thank you for travelling with us. He hope you had a safe journey. "Hell" yeah, what a good game!!! (And what a Fleet I had...!)

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Since I tried it before the voting was on, I thought it was only fitting that I cast my vote. It is an incredibly fun game and I really liked the idea of ferrying people around.

I liked the random events they were really both funny and good to break the monotony of the game. Although I'd loved to have more dead uncles (well, in a good sense... err... you know what I mean).

I liked also the feedback from the world that you had up there (I am guessing they are true events) so they mixed well with what was happening with the game (when the battle ensued, more soldiers and the numbers increased).

All in all, it was a really lovely game and incredibly fun (I built a fleet that almost drowned the sea :P).

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

First time, I saved 134 souls and lost 8. And my final score is -28.. What? Not sure how it's calculated. Haha. It's a nice game though. Oftentimes I think games' UI get in the way, but in this time it's simple and responsive.

Not very deep gameplay though, could do with some more strategy.

I'll say 5/5 in humor, because of the random events and the pretty ridiculous (in a positive sense) boat upgrades. Something that might make it better would be an "unlock upgrade" button, so you start with just a boat, and then you upgrade to .. an orca?!
Would add an element of humorous surprise.

Second time I played though, a demon sunk my only boat before I had a chance to buy more, and the game didn't continue on from there or stop. Both times, I got the demon protection(?) offer right at the start, and it takes quite a while to get 30 gold..

Overall it's a nice entry though. Graphics are simple, but not ugly, and they get the point across. Sounds and music are good too.

Eigen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really nice concept. My only complaint is that people didn't die fast enough (what am I saying ... :O) once I had plenty of boats. I like the music. Graphics are obviously bare but the little guy rowing the boat animation is a nice touch. Final score was negative, what was that about? All in all - one of my favourites I've played so far.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Thanks all!
The score is basically your remaining gold with some deductions for lost souls (people who got their boat destroyed).

It seems I should have said so ingame...

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Fun idea, nicely executed. I loved the breaking news and the cookie clicker appeal of the gameplay. This could definitely be expanded into something bigger and more complex if you wanted to. I'd love to play a version with more control, more random events and tougher challenges. Nice work.

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

A really fantastic submission. Although the art wasn't the most spectacular thing in the world, I still found it really charming. I thought your use of sound was incredibly effective, and I loved the little music loop. The game was very simple, but very fun. And I love your take on the theme 'Connected Worlds'.

Congrats on a great submission.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This is one of the best uses of the theme I've seen until now!

The game is smooth and not very long, which is not necessarily a bad thing, moreover if you consider the 48 hours we had to make it.

I found it to be a little easy, once I figured that no matter what, a thousand boats are better then a cruiseship but it did not spoil the fun at all, which was a great thing!

Great job really!

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great little game! Took me a couple tries to beat.
Nice use of the theme!

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Looks like you lots of effort into the game. The game is fun to play and has a nice tune. I would wish that the boats could collide :D

Besides of that I encountered a bug: The music stopped and ~30 seconds later all boats went out of the right screen starting an infinite loop that drew 100% cpu power and crashed the game/system. Unfortuanently i can't provide more debug info. I hope that helps :)

But overall well done!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

That bass, man. That's all ya need. None of that boat nonsense. Just that deep, funky bass.

Jk, nice game! The little touches help.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

I got a score of 159! Dunno exactly what that means, but I assume its good! This game was simple and satisfying to watch, although pretty easy. Having an army of whales and cruise ships going down the river Styx is always a fun time though.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

That was pretty fun :)

My first game ended quickly as I lost my only boat and didn't have enough gold for a new one, but I won my second game easily.

I didn't seem to notice any difference whether I accepted or rejected paying for the optional events though.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:32pm

It's simple, but strangely compelling! I'm not sure of the significance of the insurance salesman, but I find it hilarious that the demons are trying to operate a racket on the river, and also that tons of rich uncles keep dying and leaving boats in their wills :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]