Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Green Dragon

by 4xisblack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a deep space explorer from a pink planet. Your objective is to find Green Dragon, a celestial body you once spied through a telescope as a child.

I built this game using the new Unity 4.6 beta, which means it's hard to produce a web build because lots of people won't have the beta version of the web player. I'll supply Win, Mac and Linux builds instead!

Tips:

-This game is sort of QWOP-like in that it takes some effort to navigate effectively. Use the left/right keys (or A/D) to 'dance' your ship along the surface of things.

-Every object in space exerts a gravitational pull on your ship! Hold and release spacebar to 'gravity bomb', ie: Launch yourself away from any objects caught in the radius of the blast. This requires some finesse; if you just fling yourself as hard as possible you'll get going too fast for gravity to catch you and end up way off in the middle of nowhere. Maybe that is what you want...?

-The game is over when you see the text 'END' in the middle of the screen. To get here you must find and touch Green Dragon. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#55Overall3.87
#66Audio3.72
#68Innovation3.97
#71Mood3.77
#79Fun3.79
#524Graphics3.14
#595Theme3.21

Comments

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46am

Fun game, I like the controls and style, but the music was a bit too much for me.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00am

Interesting control and game system. But I felt roll direction is reversed.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47am

cool game

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

Top game so far:D Loved the music and the way you used sound :D

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

I liked the weird movement and the visuals. It would've been nice to have more reasons to explore around, maybe just requiring more blue things. Also the roll directions felt backwards.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

Best game on this LD I've seen so far! Finished in about 20 minutes. Glitchy. I like that.

headchant says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59am

loved the music and the idea of soundzones

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I found Green Dragon! Very cool gameplay.

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

Really neat concept. The roll directions are definetly the wrong way.

The music is ambitious, but weird.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Great graphics overall there is just that one white planet/shape that needs to be antialiased. I loved the multicolor flashing gravity bomb; it made you feel really powerful. However it might have been better to keep the control of your ship instead of spinning it after take off.

The positional audio worked extremely well and the audio was enjoyable.

awsumpwner27 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Ending left me spooked.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

I like the rolly-bouncy controls, but would have preferred the controls reversed, I think.

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

That was actually very cool. I loved the mood and the art. Great entry!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Thanks for the feedback y'all! I've corrected the bug to do with spin direction feeling reversed.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:39am

Very cool game, fun physics!

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:34am

Cool stuff with sound. It makes strange planets...

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:40am

I loved how music is linked to some places, and stop in deep space! The controls are fun too!

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:38am

A surprisingly innovative game. I enjoyed the controls and even the crazy sounds. I found the greed dragon and then the game ends. In my oppinion what's lacking is a purpose. Why am I doing all of this?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]