Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Virus Quest

by jeffrydegrande - Jam Entry

Virus Quest is a Side Scrolling 2D Shooter Game in which you take the role of a Network Administrator that was so pissed at the viruses that were infecting his network and kept his network disconnected from the world that he dived into the system himself to wipe them out!

Fire bolts of data to blast down the viruses while you dodge your way through the computer network road!
Use the Arrow Keys to move and Space to shoot. You earn points by killing those nasty viruses. Challenge your friends to be the greatest psycho network manager and collect the most amount of points of all!

That's about it.

Virus Quest was created by

Jeffry Degrande (@jeffrydegrande) -- programming
Lucas Antunes Estanislau Ribeiro (@lucasaer) -- game design
Guilherme Franco -- character design
Hamilton Junior -- environment design
Filipe Miranda -- programming
Renato Murta -- programming
Igor Leroy (@lerrua) -- programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#231Graphics(Jam)3.75
#464Audio(Jam)2.84
#520Fun(Jam)2.80
#536Mood(Jam)2.81
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#712Theme(Jam)2.05
#744Innovation(Jam)1.95
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39am

Thank you for your game. I really like the graphics and the mechanics feel very well. Good job.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:31am

The graphics are nice. I think the enemies could move around a bit more so you can't stay in one spot as easily

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

great presentation! the scrolling background is pretty awesome, and I enjoyed the music

aldonbaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01am

Man I made it to 100 points. It was very fun, way fast, sfx is way too loud for the game. Made me dizzy too.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

I love your sauce!!
and omg i just noticed there are faces in the background..
i also love your juice

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10am

Good graphics and feel of speed, but very repetitive and not so original. Moreover i dont really understand the link with the theme but its cool.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for playing our game folks. Really appreciate the nice comments.

Our take on the theme is you're a network administrator having to fix up your systems, as they're so infected with viruses it's currently disconnected from the rest of the world.
We had to cut down scope drastically and didn't get anywhere near implementing all the ideas that would have made that clearer.

guimonpa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I liked the art, but the gameplay was a bit glitchy, specially when getting to the edges of the screen.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice audio, but I feel like the gameplay could be a bit more innovative.

doomista says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Make it slower, add enemies and powerups and it will be a standart fun SHMUP. Nice graphics

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice game, the backgound were very good.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

Nice art. Pretty smooth to play. Suggest you make a timer so that they don't take dmg every frame when on an enemy. Apart from that, add more art and powerups and enemies and you have a really nice game :)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice graphics regular gameplay. It is a shame to see so many games developed with unity. Developers of the world: Please use or develope free libs and tools for your games. The world will grant you....

Xadjim says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

Kind of annoying that I can fly out of the screen.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Hi there. Unplayably fast. Nice scrolling BG, just too darn quick!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Pretty cool. Liked the music and art, though I think the player character has alight mismatched style. It's difficult, fast-paced fun. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]