Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmic Conga

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

COSMIC CONGA

A game of dexterity and cunning, incredulously manipulated into existence in a mere 72 hours by 3 poor souls in Sunny Scotland.

Controls
Drag between your planets to reinforce
Drag to enemy planets to attack
Left click a planet to toggle connection rate
Right click a planet to cancel a connection

Be careful, connections cost...

-----

Edit: we've now added a more 'balanced' build

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#263Graphics(Jam)3.66
#320Overall(Jam)3.31
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#441Innovation(Jam)2.94
#465Humor(Jam)2.21
#473Mood(Jam)2.93

Comments

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

Not bad. Damn that AI is good, just can't beat it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

Haha, yeah I can't beat the AI either. Fun game, love the music!

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56am

A fun game. The music is great (and keeps me retrying over and over again). The game is very hard though, i didn't manage to win.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

The IA is very hard to beat ! The music is exellent and the graph too.

Elejdor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03am

The UI irritates me. When something good for the player happens the numbers should be green when bad they should be red. When you are trying to think really fast it is very confusing. Anyway the game is a good variation on a well-known system. 4/5

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

The first time I played I didn't understand nothing and I lose my planet. But the second time it was just great, I really like the gameplay... simple and efficient. Very fun but it still need strategy! Goooood.
Great!!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice idea, I love this kind of game but the game isn't balanced.. The enemy cleary takes the first world faster than you.. When you took the first planet the enemy is already taking the third..

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Hey, thanks for all the great feedback! I've done a new build with some balancing changes, it's still a challenge but I've removed a lot of the randomness, the AI now attempts to make a new connection once every 2 seconds on a single random planet rather than a random chance to make a connection on each.

Never made a game like this before and having played it to death it's hard to be a judge of what's actually 'difficult' anymore :D

Magic numbers all the way!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Decent music, good looking graphics and a concept that is most likely the closest to the theme that I have seen so far. The game was quite fun to play, even though the AI kicked my ass fairly quickly.

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Great game! Nice concept, nice graphics, a bit too hard :)

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

The AI is just to strong. Am I missing something?
Would be a nice mobile game you should think about porting it to Android or iOS.

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

The AI is really good. Good game!

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Pretty good game! However, it seemed really hard get a foothold. I probably wasn't using the "fast connection rate" as effectively as I should though.

arzi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Very nice idea, I could see this developed further. The AI is killer though.

Also, right click opens the context menu in addition to cancelling a connection, I think that can be disabled somewhere in Unity.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Addicting! That AI is rough!

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice job! I like the art style.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Good concept, cant get much more "Connected worlds" than that. But as others have said, AI is far too good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Love the graphics and audio but there are several games with similar gameplay...

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The music is just awesome, it fitted the game really well. It reminded me of the background music for Tropico. The game is really hard even in challenge mode but it was really fun. The graphics is awesome and yes, nice work indeed :)

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Finally game with nice gameplay. Congrats guys, keep working and release it on mobile platforms.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I've updated the 'balanced' version again to not terminate connections when a planet runs out of resource, instead nothing will be passed until enough has regenerated. I've also set the default connection tier to 'fast', so clicking on a planet slows the connection rate after establishing a new connection (useful for moving resources between flanks while not compromising your defence).

Thanks everyone! Keep the feedback coming! :D

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

To be fair I just tested the first version for now.
The idea of selecting between colonization or self regeneration is interesting. But the IA is really fast on that one.
Great choice of music.
Now I'will enjoy the balanced version.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Love the music

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Really difficult but great idea :)

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Wow audio is loud :) Good game, AI is tough !

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Damn that was fun :) Well done, Scotsmen!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Good concept, but AI is too tough. Great atmosphere (graphics and audio).

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very strong - love the production value, the concept, and the gameplay.

As mentioned, the AI is insanely fast. Perhaps I'm missing something, but even in the balanced version I can't stay alive for more than a few seconds.

Very fun design, regardless. Great work!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

Pretty hard (even when playing on the balanced build) but the actual gameplay itself fits the theme very well and I absolutely loved the music.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Fun game! very challenging

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great job! A little hard to get used to but that's alright! I love the look and feel of it.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great music and visuals. Gameplay is simple but just incredible hard.
Playing against the original AI felt really frustrating.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice gameplay !

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:01pm

A great, simple, real time tactics puzzle game, that's the genre I'm going with.

The balanced version was a bit too easy for me so I gave the original a shot. Oh boy what a challenge. It took a good few dozen tries but when I finally cracked it the elation was tangible. The trick is play just like the AI except a bit faster!

What it lacks is difficulty options, preferably multiple tweakable values, for instance;
- AI decision delay (to mimic humans)
- AI decision type (random, tactical, strategic [Define those as you want])
- Game speed (how fast the resources are replenished)

Other possible avenues of development include, but are not limited to, multiple map types, scenarios or even procedural level generation (the buzzword of the day).

Good job overall. Hopefully you'll take this one a bit further. I will personally back your Kickstarter.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]