Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Journey Home

by CRAZEERUSKEE - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello there peoples of the Internets! This is my first ever Ludum Dare!

Ok so Journey Home is meant to be an exploration game. It's meant to challenge your imagination and make you go, "What the-?!" I tried to go for the Another World / Transall Saga vibe. Basically, you are presented with worlds that have small intricacies and patterns. They have nothing to do with you and are just a part of the background, but you still try to understand them and even make up stories for what they are or why they are there.

The game features my first ever attempt at procedural tile and entity sprite coloring/generation! :D

I've left a lot of subtle patterns and things in this game so I do suggest you look around and take your time when playing it.

The only controls are the arrow keys to move, shift + arrow keys to sprint, and the mouse... oh, and you IIIMAAAAAAAGINAAAAATIOOOOONNNN :P

Also quick note! You can't move during cutscenes - don't worry it's not a bug :)

I had a lot of fun and learned a lot with making this strange, strange little game, even if it was unfinished.

ALSO, I have an actual team making a more serious game and I make weekly devlogs videos of our progress. You can check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjywaHBImnId4GNZXAuejKg

If you like that then please feel free to like our game's facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/APeasantsTale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#174Mood3.48
#354Humor2.67
#393Theme3.46
#461Audio2.84
#468Graphics3.21
#751Overall3.00
#887Innovation2.71
#1039Fun2.43

Comments

Hamenopi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35am

Woot!

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

The first download link points to a screenshot, you may want to fix that.

Automatic awesome points for using recorded sounds.
Graphics are pretty good.
Not much in the way of gameplay. Yeah, it's exploration, but that doesn't excuse a game from being boring. Perhaps some narrative text/sound could draw the player in more.

Pretty cool overall :3

Cezel_ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

The game really succeeded with making me go "What the-?!" with it's colorful creatures and worlds. I really liked the audio and graphics. the objective of the game was kind of unclear though, but overall great work!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

5/5 for graphics... I loved them. Wish there was more games like this in the comp. I made it home. I was scared of the infinite void of space.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

The controls didn't work. In OS X

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

great! amazing visuals

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Pretty cool, liked the art

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

@Ofursnati - You may have thought that during the cutscene, but movement is purposely disabled during cutscenes. You can move fine when there is no cutscene.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Haha this was awesome. I feel a little less sane now. It reminded me of toejam and earl. Cool!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Wow, caught me off guard with those visuals and audio! Great job, although I got lost a lot!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05am

Haha awesome stuff. I loved the mood of the whole thing and the randomised tiles. Welcome to the LD community, doesn't it feel great?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

Got lost in space, but found my way eventually.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really trippy graphics, would have loved some music with it. I made it back home and was wishing for some more adventures.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I wasn't expecting to be reminded of the randomised maps in Dragon Warrior Monsters, or, later on, the glitched-out maps in MegaMan Starforce 3. The music was really cute the first time then hard to stand after that. =(

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

HL3 CONFIRMED

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Definitely the most psychedelic game of LD30. :D

I like the dreamlike atmosphere and alien feel. Could have needed a few extra levels. Good job! :)

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

The feeling of exploring some worlds is kinda nice, though the endlessly looping music(?) got old quickly. It's a shame the creatures didn't seem to interact with the character, and I was a little confused about being able to apparently walk through water and lava. It was nice how the last level shook things up a bit by having you navigate the maze-like terrain.

MrP123 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Really interessting and very trippy :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:02am

Great first entry ;) It's a very different game to anything I've ever played... Like the graphics, and it runs very smoothly. Well done!

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I did like the little fellows moving around the second level and the music in the intro. But. The main issue here, to me, is that the size of the levels in comparison to the effects and wtf-moments and general stuff the player encounters. The intro is also really quite long without being clear it is a cut-scene. If I hadn't happened to see that comment I would have though the game broken and shut off there. I like strange games, but this one simply didn't work for me and it wasn't for its strange parts.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]