Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect the Planets

by peterentwistle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ok so this is my first submission to Ludum Dare, it is far from what I would consider complete. My main aim for this competition was to learn something new. I have learnt so much about the Phaser framework as well as game development in general. Considering I only started using using Phaser for the competition I think I have done better than I anticipated. Next time I will definitely do a lot more practicing before the competition starts to get comfortable with my chosen environment.

Github: https://github.com/peterentwistle/LD30

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1092Fun2.27
#1106Graphics2.13
#1171Overall2.31
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

When there are two asteroids on the screen, shooting the first one made the second one disappear...
Not bad for learning Phaser during LD...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

Thanks for your feedback Xeke_Death I have fixed that bug now.

alangamebot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Pretty cool first submission. I'm sure you learned a lot. Can't wait to see what you come up with for the next LD

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Congrats on pushing yourself to learn during the jam, good work :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Pretty good for a learning experience and you're first submission! Well done. Not sure if this was intentional but when I collided with the planets my score went up. Again not sure if intentional or not.

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

It's a good learning experience, but it is obvious you have some things to learn.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

For a learning experience you have done really well! I too started LD a while back to learn more about games and crunching work, so I hope you got as much out of the competition as I did! Nice work

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Pretty cool for you are just learning Phaser!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

It doesn't seem to get harder after some point, but otherwise cute little game. I liked the graphics :)

psychonull says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Good job, keep learning!

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nicely done for compo!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]