Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

1492

by Hexadecima1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 100% historically accurate account of Christopher Columbus' journey to the new world.
I didn't compose the music D':

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.54
#27Fun3.97
#27Audio3.96
#38Mood3.96
#55Overall3.87
#365Graphics3.41
#381Innovation3.39
#393Theme3.46
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Fabulous game, the graphics and music both fit perfectly. It's also very funny, which never hurts! My fleet of the Galactica, Serenity, and Swordfish only made it to day nine :(

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

funny game. pretty cool mechanic that's easy to implement but still gets you to want to replay. cool music.

otherwise it's a bit like reading a children book.

Morosaurus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

Man I'm liking this game a lot, it's got a lot of replayability and the music is nice and upbeat

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Really enjoyed playing this game! Loved naming my ships, haha, though I never seem to pick good traits. Was enticed into playing three times before I figured I really should make sure I get back here and rate it, the music definitely made the journey feel exciting (:

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12am

It gave me a good laugh, I love how everything seems easy at the begginning and then strange things starts to happen. Also it's quite a unique take on the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Hey. I like the idea, felt somewhat doomed from my initial choices, but maybe that's the point!

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very funny.

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Minimalistic and sweet. The music fits really good.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Best one so far! Love my Challo, Rudolf and Jollooni ships!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice music and really realistic replay of christophers journey... :D Did he lost so many good men at the battle vs the sea monster ^^

Lemonade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50pm

That was rather amusing, if very luck-based. After dying again and again closer and closer to India, I managed to win with a Polite/Optimistic/Hearty crew (IIRC).

I don't regret spending this much time on it.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice, funny and clever !

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24am

This was very funny. Great work!

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

At first, I was all "WTF did I just play". Only to understand this was some kind of FTL game :D.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23am

OK, I reviewed the overall score because I didn't understand at the first time the principles of the game. Very humorous game :D.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice entry... reminded me of Oregon Trail for the new world. 5-star humor!

KittyMac says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

very humorous

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

"Ok, this game is quite funny, I'll probably give it 3 in humour [a moment later] Ok, this actually is pretty funny. Let's give it 4 [a moment later] Ok. Five. [a moment later] Shit! Where is six?"

Seriously, this is my favorite entry so far. Not only the game is hilarious, but it's also pretty, clever and fun to play. I can't see anything wrong with this game. I'm just wondering : Did you composed the music? If so, it's really impressing. If not, I can't rate you in audio/mood.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Almost a full 5 stars for me! Really fun! :D Maybe you didn't compose the music, but you chose it really wisely ^_^

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Hilarious interactive story-telling! Wish I could have crash landed Zelda, or ran Peach into a castle. USS Apple Pies fell off the earth!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Love the music, the funny situations were great as well, also thanks for the poem!

dunin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Why FTL, Out There and co. add mecanics? Only choices is really fun...
Good writing.
In my best run I died two days before the discovery of ((India) America) the end of the game.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I really like the concept. I play several times. Music is gorgeous. The cycle day-night is a little bit too long and it's too bad ships aren't moving. Anyway, it's a very nice entry :)

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

Nice rogue-like-like (?) game :) ! It's bad that you absolutely need the "skill" to get a choice and most of time you have to Do nothing or to pick the only choice you have. The game is absolutely hilarious though x)

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:04pm

One time I had to drop some supplies at the end of the world, gained 447 food rations instead and then died of starvation two days later.
Anyway, so fun!

LeafThief says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:38am

Three days away from India, the hearty, swift, coordinated crew of the Betty, Katie and Fry met their demise by the hands of aliens.

Great humor and funny game, good job!

miwuc says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:28pm

It's a really nice game, but it's sad that you got #27 for music that you didn't make. It's not fair to everyone that follows the rules of the compo. Next time, please either make the music yourself or enter your game in the "jam" category.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]