Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Farthest Possible Place

by disease - Jam Entry

SPACE PARKING ... IN SPACE

IMPORTANT: This game may run very slowly in Chrome on some computers. If you are on Windows try running it in Firefox or IE. If you notice any kind of browser-dependent speed on Mac or Linux, please let me know about it in the comments. Thanks!

Helpful Hints: Take it easy. Point the opposite direction and gently thrust if you are uncertain. Stay calm.

To be honest, I was more interested in building the foundations for a fuller game than creating a great entry. Regardless, here it is!

Keep in mind I followed strict compo rules here and am only submitting to the jam because I could not get a good enough entry done on time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#560Fun(Jam)2.72
#577Mood(Jam)2.72
#619Theme(Jam)2.48
#653Innovation(Jam)2.44
#676Overall(Jam)2.73
#691Graphics(Jam)2.46
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice game. Keep working hard :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Great concept. Maybe gets too hard too fast. The first parking space seemed fine, but then the second one ramped up the difficulty quite a bit. Curious about the vortex looking image you have uploaded but I'm not patient enough to play enough to get to parking space 3.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I gave three stars for everything, but 4/5 seemed to high and 1/2 too low :P

It was a neat concept, but it was too plain for my liking :/

Maybe if you turned this into a library and used it for a jam in December, you could do something really awesome with it :D

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

Fun arcade style game. Good start, keep going!

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Pew! Pew! Pew! :-)

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Controls were ridiculously hard but other than that, this was a pretty good game and I really liked the minimalistic design.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Not a bad game, and could definitely be expanded upon, but without a brake button I really had difficulty with the controls.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Tricky game! Parking in space is surprisingly hard :) Well done.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Well, I wouldn't be a good spaceship driver >.<

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:55pm

got it to the wormhole on a first try - keep on working!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]