Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Potatoes To Mars

by HELLO23 - Jam Entry

Controls:
Arrows - move
Space - jump or fire (depends on the part)


Our game is about making a connection between Earth and Mars (two worlds) to save Earth from potato-asteroids' attack.
As the human hero, you fly to Mars to ask for the help of the aliens to get you a weapon to fight the potatoes.
Yea, we really like potatoes, so the game contains potatoes, a lot.

The music was created by incompetech.com, so if you like it go check the website.

Code: Phaser (Javascript library : http://phaser.io/)
Text editor : Sublime Text
Graphics: Photoshop + Flash + Paint.NET

Main Programmer: HELLO23
Main Designer: Slime_Blue

This is the first Ludum Dare for Slime_Blue, and this is my third LD, but first Jam.
Feel free to comment :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Humor(Jam)3.37
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#381Audio(Jam)3.06
#480Theme(Jam)2.95
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#561Mood(Jam)2.76
#608Graphics(Jam)2.81
#627Innovation(Jam)2.55
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Good job on the game you guys!

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

So, potatos. Poland can into space now?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Fantastic! Potato asteroids are very dangerous! I love the walking animation on the spaceman, it's a shame there was no audio for your weapon firing, or potatoes exploding, however I think the music of epic proportion made up, great job :)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The music is so intense it cracks me up! The gameplay was a bit bland but for sure but man was it entertaining. Well done.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Man, guys... the end of the first section destroyed me, such an unexpected twist! Simple mechanics but you guys nailed it in the fun and humour stakes. Great job!

Therrato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

actually was happy to keep playing until i made it to mars, im impressed by the variety of stuff you guys put in, next time add some sound effects to add a little bit of extra to your game

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I couldn't load in FireFox (black screen) although it showed "Loading".
but no worries, it works in Chrome!

I like the cartoonish style and the potato reference :)
And also that "big" surprise from stage 1

All in all i think the music really make the game. It gives an intense feel but no overly done.

Good job!

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I tried loading it in Firefox, and it worked OK. I don't know what it was. The loading takes some time because all the assets are being downloaded before the game starts.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Sadly just loading :(

micahcowan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

Chrome works fine, but Firefox had the following errors:
screen.init is not a function
screen.update is not a function

If these are optional functions of a canvas, perhaps protecting them with a try block would get things further?

micahcowan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:54am

Short, but very enjoyable. I particularly liked the variety of gameplay available.

I did feel like the very first level, the asteroid field between Earth and Mars, was far too hard (though obviously I got past it). There's very little reaction time available between when most of the asteroids appear on screen, and when they can hit you. Even a slight reduction in asteroid speed could make a difference there.

For the final bit, shooting down the asteroids, I thought it could last a little longer, and ramp up more from easy to hard difficulty challenge.

Great game!

HELLO23 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I also thought the first part was a bit to hard, but Slime_Blue said it was too easy, so we decided to leave it like this. I have no idea what is the problem with firefox, I tried it with firefox both on windows, and on lubuntu, and the game worked fine. I am a bit hopeless about that bug that I can't seem to reproduce.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Didn't work for me in Chrome >_<'

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]