Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hypertonic

by JM-DG - Jam Entry

I did this entry in 48 hours. I was not able to submit in time only because Game maker had an error while generating my executable (bug with the new feature marketplace).

Hypertonic is a game about getting the biggest.
You are controlling a "molecule" around in space and the goal is to become the biggest by absorbing other smaller molecules. However be cautious of the other bigger molecules as they can absorb you.

Controls
- movement : mouse
- zoom in/out : mouse scroll
Let's see if you can find the hidden 8-bit mode feature. :)

Sadly, I lacked of time to finish and make an actual interesting gameplay. :c

Engine : Game Maker Studio Professional
Art : Photoshop CS6
Sound FX : jfxr
Music : Ableton Live 9.0 & Cool Edit Pro 2.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1872Coolness26%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

Why you no Mac?

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31am

Your zip contain a virus !!!!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

Would be good on mobile I feel.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Thanks for your comments guys.

@Norfinel It's probably just that GameMaker installer is detected as a virus. 100% safe, I guarantee.

@Andrew Adams I don't own a mac... yet... else there would be a mac version. Maybe next year.

@Mali It is the direction I wanted to take.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11am

I'll make sure to check your games.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

Chrome really didn't want me to install this haha. Really fun game, reminds me a lot of a faster paced osmos. Had a hard time winning, since there was always one bigger than everything else on the map combined relatively quickly. Overall a really fun entry.

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29am

Looks fun! I'll try to test it more in depth when I'll be less tired though

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

virus?? D:

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Really cool game, although every time I play it, a red giant forms and just devours everything. Love the music and the eerie atmosphere as well.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

@Vyteros Yeah! Game balance is an issue with my game. I didn't have time to arrange it properly because I lacked of time.

So, right now game balance is in the hands of randomness... Sometimes the level will be fun and balanced and sometimes you'll just appear and be already dead.

But I plan on working on the game later and finish it perfectly.
Add powerups, rework game balance, game modes, etc... :)

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nice Osmos-like game, controls and graphics are just right!

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

Serisouly an installer ?
Ok I played it, look like spore first phase.
You should made a mobile version or make screen bigger on pc because when we are big we cannot move anymore.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

@(Not) Ivano Thank you for your comments.

@Inateno Sorry about the installer. That's what GMS create when you create the application. Next time I'll do a zip.

It was created with the intention of making it to mobile. Normally when you are big and can't move anymore it means that you're the biggest and that you've won.

Seems like there's a lot of "become the biggest" game out there I didn't know about... :)
Thank you for your feedbacks.

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Nice music, very challenging game... feels like the red orbs should be more inclined to stay away from each other to give you a chance! Could become a nice mobile game though :)

JNyknn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:56am

Windows 8/8.1 thinks every non-Microsoft piece of software is a virus. A Linux version would be nice.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:32am

well it's almost a copy-paste from the game Osmos, but it's still cool. Just one thing, why the resolution is so small ?? it's almost unplayable when the molecule is getting big...

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:50pm

A really good game idea. And actually quite fun to play, took me over 20 tries before I won.

It's a bit too bad that you are so dependent on the RNG god. Sometimes you die within 5 seconds.

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:05pm

"You are controlling a "molecule" around in space and the goal is to become the biggest by absorbing other smaller molecules. However be cautious of the other bigger molecules as they can absorb you. " Super cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]