Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Binary System

by rogueNoodle - Jam Entry

Take control of a binary planetary system, collecting stars while avoiding asteroids. Lose one planet, lose them both.

Compete with others for the highest score when logged in to GameJolt.

Controls

Left/Right or A/D to rotate the planets
Up/Down or W/S to move the planets vertically
M to mute sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#12Overall(Jam)4.22
#20Theme(Jam)4.13
#21Fun(Jam)4.07
#24Audio(Jam)4.11
#27Graphics(Jam)4.49
#46Innovation(Jam)3.87
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#371Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

jerombd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

Simple & fun with cool graphics and a original challenge: perfect little game :D

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Awesome! My new favorite! Really slick visuals, fitting audio, controls feel perfect, and it's quite an original idea (at least to me). I just wish the debris was either less bright or cleared itself away quicker, it got kind of distracting as things picked up.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

I love this one! Great job. Lots of fun, very pleasing graphics and a greta concept.!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27am

Hi there. Absolutely gorgeous design, sound and movement/controls. Unfortunately I suck at reaction time, so couldn't get very far, but it is brilliant looking - wish I could play it better... will get my sons to try later. Bookmarked - thank you for this, best feeling game. I've seen so far, very professional presentation.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Super fun to play and it looks and feels very polished. Original gameplay mechanic and smart use of the theme, too! Amazing entry.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52am

Simple design, yet beautiful and really fun. It's also very polished.

Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05am

This really fun. Simple and challenging. Cool game!

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

Beautiful looking game with really fitting music. The controls feel amazing

Managore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Wow this is really good! A really simple idea executed perfectly!

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Simple and effective! Love the glow effect and the ethereal aesthetic :)

Macocco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really challenging but fun minigame! I only was able to collect 8 stars in one run though. You should release this as an app for mobiles!

foobraco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Great choice of concept and awesome graphics, looks very polished!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Simple concept, flawless execution, super fine quality design. What's more to say... Amazing work!

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

great game, wonderful degree of polish.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Challenging and addictive! I'm still getting used to the controls, but I think it's matter of time to get a better score. Polished art and great sounds. Nice work!

chamberlainpi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Very challenging! Gets difficult pretty fast (early enough in the game too) but still a game I'm better at than Flappy Bird! Neat graphics too, looks like some special shaders were used.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:58pm

How do you always make such polished games in jams!? I continue to be very impressed. Can't stop playing it now. My best score is 23, which was probably a fluke. :D

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

How do you always make such polished games in jams!? I continue to be very impressed. Can't stop playing it now. Right now, I'm in 1st place, which must be some kind of fluke. :P

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

First couple of rounds I was sure I would never get better than a score of two. Then all of a sudden I got three and from there it was a small step to 30.

I like the fracturing of the asteroids and all the mess the shards make. The glow on your planet's shards when you die.

One thing that could have been nice would have been to have the star not rotate as fixed around one of its arms. Maybe also to have stars disappear if player takes too long before collecting them. (Look at me suggesting making the game harder)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

simple, fun, great graphics and sound. this is a 5 star for me ;)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

The gameplay feels smooth and polished, I like the graphics style and the music is relaxing. Online scores adds a lot of replayability to the game, I got first place with 44 stars! ^^
Really cool game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I really enjoyed my time in this game, the way you rotate with planets, the way they explode. The details make the difference and its a very nice work. A serious challenger !

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:28am

The quality of your games never disappoints me, congratulations! A perfect game, that deserves to be published - on mobile w/ touch controls maybe? Boom! ;)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Really, really good. Loved it! Simple, funny, challenging. This game is awesome! Love the graphics and the music, simple, cute and effective. Really nice work!

NickZangus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Extremely well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This one is extremely awesome! Great graphics, great sound. Very polished game. Saved

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Everything about this game is awesome.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16pm

People are making advertisement of your game on twitter and that's how I found it. This is on of the best theme's interpretation that I saw in this LD. Gameplay graphic and audio, makes me "Come on play again".

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Awesome graphics and animations

fallingBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Great visuals catchy tune, very addictive little game. One of the best out there. Awesome job. :O

0x0961h says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This. Is. Amazing. Core mechanic is simple, but oh my gosh, try to get at least 5 points. Graphics are superb, music is perfect. Stylish and very cool. Great job! :)

P.S. I guess rogueNoodle found himself in making simple and sadistic games: Stasis at first, now Binary System. Can't wait to see your next sadi... game... I meant game... :D

Berail says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Siple fun and nice to eye :D ! good job i like it :D

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Excellent small game. So simple rules, but controlling two objects made all the difference.Very well done. I believe this could be turned into a great mobile game too... if you can think of good controls.

Btw, to me UP & DOWN should have been just the opposite. I do not know why :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

This game is neat ! And I got the 4th best score, so proud of me !

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

This was a lot of fun and hard!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The graphics and shaders are unbelievable! Nice audio too. The controls are perfect in my opinion. This is a keeper.

malf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Fun game , great graphics!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nice graphics, super fun and effective game!
Great job!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great visuals, nifty idea, good difficulty, all good!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I've used a very similar concept in my own game, and by now have seen several others. But this one is definitely the one with the best graphics and sound! I prefer using the mouse to control the planets, as that would mean less challenging controls (for me at least) and more room for making the game challenging in other ways. This would also make it more suitable for touch screens. The game ran fine in Linux, thanks for including a Linux port.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Amazing. My favorite game so far!

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47pm

All around amazing game. Love the mechanic, the art is incredible, sound fits perfectly but isn't distracting. Can't throw enough praises your way!

XenosNS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

A true roguenoodle game, deceptively simple mechanics that are hard to master. Nice homage to Asteroids. Like the glowly teal/purple. Great job!

skiddings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Very nice little game!

mlabarca says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

Such a cool game! Love the graphics and the music, and it's a lot of fun to play. Great job!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

Very nice game. Congrats. Love the look and feeling of the game. Controls take a few seconds to get used to, but then it is magic! Super fun! :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

Awesome work dude :D

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

Great graphics, nice music, pretty hard :)

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fun idea and nicely implemented. :D It was pretty hard but it got a bit easier when I started to control one thing with the left hand (in/out) and the other with the right (rotate). :D

Well done! :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

That's just a very well done game. Great chunky graphics!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:25am

that was beautifully executed. well done. audio and graphics matched each other pretty well and were very nice. Great job! :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Now this is awesome, super simple and fun but difficult to master. Easy controls and you feel really good when you start getting a good rhythm or flow going. I love the mood, the audio and colors really help with that! The art style is great as always from rogueNoodle. Great job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Well executed, simple yet addictive and super polished as always...
What more to say?? :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:49am

Really good little arcade game. Great graphics and controls. Great job! :)

rlangewi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

This is great, very polished with a simple and fun mechanic. Good job!

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:43am

nice packaged game and really good music.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:56am

I love how polished and juicy this game feels.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Lots of particles everywhere. *-*

Nice game! :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Super rad! Very slick all around, however the particles can really cloud up the screen, maybe a max particle count and shorter lifespan.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:57am

Nice! At some point avoid asteroids become a real challenge! Good job!

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Wow, great style, veeeeery difficult to play. Like it!

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

nice simple arcade game that fits the theme well!

guimonpa says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Great game, it looks really polished, simple and challenging.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:59pm

This was really great. I loved the graphics style, and the audio really complements it. I've played another game with the same mechanic this LD, but I think this is better balanced and polished. Good job!

rantt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:02am

This is really fun. It's a lot harder than it looks. I really liked it, great job.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:16am

Awesome idea, hard little game!

AdricZero says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Fun game. I did find it difficult though. Since having the two connected planets made avoiding asteroids 2x more difficult. I liked the music a lot.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Amazing game, as always. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

dustyroom says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:25am

Great entry! The only thing I would change is darken the asteroids debris once they collide. The scattered debris is too bright and makes it difficult to see other asteroids.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:39am

This is actually pretty addictive once you get used to the controls. Really great take on the theme and an amazing soundtrack.

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Simple but efficient gameplay. Very well polished-game. Perfect playability. Good design!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very polished and fun, I think this could sell well in a mobile phone market

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Simple but effective. Nice game ^^.

radmars says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:17am

Wow, really well executed game on every level - the music is especially awesome. My only complain is that the explosion debris is pretty visually confusing at first.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I'm not a fan of this kind of casual games, I like to get into the game with a lot of user interaction and story (it's obvious from our entry I guess) but I think for a casual game it's really clean, simple and it works. I can see this as a mobile game, if you haven't done it yet you can consider doing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]