Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

KLIN DESTINY

by ticlekiwi - Jam Entry

Hi every one!

This is just a little (ridiculous short?) game.
I would like to create a universe that makes our hero travel in different connected worlds.
But I confess that I find it hard to perceive myself... Ahem.
So, please be nice with me. ^_^

I coded it with ImpactJS (already used in last jam).
- Music : EthnoSoulSoundSystem - hope
- Tiles : Bento Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Graphics(Jam)4.44
#39Mood(Jam)4.00
#81Audio(Jam)3.78
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#238Fun(Jam)3.29
#587Theme(Jam)2.61
#622Innovation(Jam)2.56
#2124Coolness10%

Comments

dustorgan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice visuals! Particularly enjoyed the massive moon backgrounds!!

ticlekiwi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Thanks dustorgan! ;)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Very nice visuals and pleasant sounds and music. It just seems that some textures are blurry (billinear filtering ?).

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Great visuals :) The controls felt very nice. There was a bit of momentum that felt a little slippery, but overall it felt good. Jumping platform to platform in the 3rd area just felt right for the controls and the design of the character. Would like to see more added to this game post jam!

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

great visuals and great music and great mood!
yeah as others said, kind of slippery movement, but it doesn't change the fact that it's a good game.
very short game sadly. would love to see more of this soon!
good job! keep it up! :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41pm

The controls could be better, but pretty nice graphics.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

A nice little platformer! The graphics are very impressive and the mood is really well-done--really epic. I found myself wondering what he was doing with his staff, why there were no enemies, and making up the story that he was some kind of great warrior dragging himself up the cliffs to defeat a horrible monster--no other souls since they were already dead... well, what can I say, it was inspiring :] I would have liked more oomph to the platforming, but a sort of Shadow of the Colossus platformer spirit works really well here (lots of travel, combat at the end maybe). Had some frustration at the level transitions--you might want to fade to black at the end to smooth them out, rather than letting the game freeze. Enjoyed the enormous moons and parallax scrolling, especially in the waterfall level!

Thanks for the game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice art, music, atmosphere and mood. I got a Roger Dean vibe from it all and really enjoyed the sense of scale. Needs gameplay though :) I would keep working on it. This is a solid base to build on.

ticlekiwi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Thank you everyone for the great feedback, you make me want to continue when I get some time!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice but short.

rooter4 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:03am

I loved the mood that this game sets, I would definitely like to see more added onto this world you created in the future. Controls need to be tightened up a little, but other than that, solid entry.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very good graphics. Music was awesome. Good job!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Musics and pixel arts definitely set a nice and special mood. Unfortunately, that mood tends to be altered by the huge inertia in controls and the brutality of camera moves. Also I felt like the portals doors weren't matching the overall nature fantasy mood! (it's subjective tho). Apart from that, very nice little experience, I had amazing feelings while climbing those huge ladders, watching the gigantic planets in the background, and also while jumping between two far pieces of land. I really felt the emptiness beneath my feet and that was chilling. Keep up the good work.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I really liked your game, the atmosphere was beautiful and it was relaxing to play...but the character felt like a piece of soap. He was sliding ALL THE TIME. Like a ninja. It became annoying with the smaller platforms X). Otherwise it was nice !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Some really impressive stuff going on here. Too bad you did not add any other game elements to give me more feeling of success. Great job.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:43am

Fantastic artwork. Could use some more animation, but really cool style.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Starting the game by pressing space freezes my browser of choice, Pale Moon X64 version 24.7.1 (based on Firefox). It eventually gave me a notice about a script running slowly, with the message pointing to line 201 on game.min.js. Tried twice with the same result. Worked fine in Chrome v 37.0.2062.103 m though.

It looks nice, and I don't even mind the controls because it's such an open space. Too bad there's not much going on gameplay-wise.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]