Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SPIRITS!

by Hackingroelz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run the debug.bat file or run the jar directly to start playing.

Controls
Use WASD to move, space to go to the Shadow World and enter to posses something.

Issues:
- Lighting doesn't work
FIX: try to run the batch file instead of the jar file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1836Coolness28%

Comments

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

You forgot source!

Hackingroelz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57am

The game's coded in Lua, so the source is included in the Windows version.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

How do you run your game? I installed the LUA interpreter but when I double click on main file a terminal window flashes then goes away.

Hackingroelz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Run the debug.bat file or run the jar directly

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Lights didn't seem to work for me, but other than that, cool game!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16am

Nice stealth action, lots of things to interact with as your other self, quite difficult though I found.

Hackingroelz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25am

@hungyg, if you're running the jar file, try the batch file. For me the lighting doesn't work either when I run the jar file directly, no idea why, it should be exactly the same.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

When I run the jar, I have a black screen and when I run the batch file, same + Compilation error
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=611377error.png

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

The game idea looked really nice and since I love stealth game I liked it.

It is a bit too difficult where the mobs detect you sometimes when they are giving you their backs. They sometimes find you in dark areas too. Wasn't really sure what to do some of the time. But I had fun with some of the levels and the interactions.

All in all, I liked the game's idea and how I interact with things in the spirit world.
Good work :)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I felt as though the guards' lines of sight were often wonky. Also, it seems as though hiding in the shadows doesn't affect visibility, which is odd for a stealth game. Nice job, otherwise, though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Game looks great on screenshots, too bad I get an error too :/ This is the log: http://pastebin.com/pAtjPbT1

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:30am

[rGine] Initializing...
[rGine] Loading game code...
[rGine] Initializing game...
Exception in thread "main" org.luaj.vm2.LuaError: vm error: org.luaj.vm2.LuaError: attempt to index ? (a nil value)
at org.luaj.vm2.lib.jse.JavaMethod.invokeMethod(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.lib.jse.JavaMethod$Overload.invokeBestMethod(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.lib.jse.JavaMethod$Overload.invoke(Unknown Source)
at main$init.call(main.lua:6)
at org.luaj.vm2.lib.ZeroArgFunction.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.invoke(Unknown Source)
at hackingroelz.LuaEnv.invoke(LuaEnv.java:123)
at hackingroelz.Start.main(Start.java:53)
Caused by: org.luaj.vm2.LuaError: attempt to index ? (a nil value)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.error(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.indexerror(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.gettable(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.get(Unknown Source)
at org.luaj.vm2.LuaValue.get(Unknown Source)
at hackingroelz.debug.Log.fatalError(Log.java:170)
at hackingroelz.gfx.Screen.createDisplay(Screen.java:70)
at hackingroelz.gfx.Screen.createDisplay(Screen.java:155)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:606)
... 8 more

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Sorry, no Java.

Tosic says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:41am

Made in pure java? Congratulations...
Nice game! :D

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:35am

I only got a black screen. Do I need a certain version of Java?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]