Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Milkyway Tycoon

by jackyjjc - Jam Entry

"Not only humans like to travel to other planets, other races in the galaxies like travelling too!"

Therefore, You job is to run a space shuttle company and connect the galaxy!

============ How to Play =============

There is in game instructions on how to play :)

Enjoy!


Created by @Jackyjjc in 53 hours.
http://twitter.com/Jackyjjc
http://www.jackyjjc.com

Programming: Java, Libgdx, Intellij IDE
Graphics: Gimp2
Graphics/Music Resource from:
http://ocd1c-stock.deviantart.com/art/planetrenderspack-52955407
http://ocd1c-stock.deviantart.com/art/planetrenderspack-2-53423399
http://opengameart.org/content/cuddle-puzzle-music-futuristic-pop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#81Theme(Jam)3.81
#307Humor(Jam)2.58
#334Graphics(Jam)3.50
#360Overall(Jam)3.26
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#423Innovation(Jam)2.97
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#492Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13am

I can see you took a very literal interpretation of the theme. The graphics and the music are of very high quality. The game is sufficiently complex to make it interesting, however there is a learning curve, it took me several minutes to figure it out enough to start playing. There are some good humorous parts in the game, the description of the UNS Guugle: "A space ship that collect its passengers personal information but UNS says it is there to improve passenger experience" is a clever jab at Google and Facebook. The game does seem buggy, I had the game crash twice while creating a new route between planets.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Hi @DeathPidgeon, thanks for playing my game :) I will play yours later. I wonder in what circumstances your game crashed? I never had a crash on mine. However, with that said I haven't done much play testing though. Again, thanks for the feedback!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39am

@DeathPidgeon Thanks I think I have found the bug. I didn't do null checks for some of the GUI elements and I will upload a fixed version soon

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

*new version updated*

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I agree with DeathPidgeon that this type of game is very complex to make it right. However, the game is still interesting to play. Good job!

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45am

Very impressive amount of work.
Nice game, a bit complex at the beginning but worth the effort.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

Beautifully crafted. Given more content, I would also pay for this (I technically have with Space Rangers). I tried making my game more about exploration, but I can see the benefit to a well crafted universe.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

Was very hard to understand what to do at the start but the amount of content you have put it is great.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice graphics, in-depth game play with some meat to the bones and an overall fun experience. It took me a fair amount of time to figure out what was going on and what I was supposed to do though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

You've put a lot of work into this - love the descriptions of the planets and races. Nicely done.

holgk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

I made a tyvoon game, too. But mine is in real time not turn based game. Nice entry.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Thanks for the great feedbacks guys!! I think I need to make a better tutorial for the game considering it confuses everyone :)

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Complex game. :)

The graphics were nice but a bit static. You could have improved the game's atmosphere a bit by adding some "juice" like moving nebulas in the background etc.

Nice entry!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

The tutorial always is a problem xDDD. Good job my friend! Another tycoon game :-)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57am

I enjoyed the complexity of this game. It's obvious you put in A LOT of effort into your graphics, because they are beautiful. Good luck to you!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01am

This type of game can be difficult to balance, but I think you did a good job.
~funkeh

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

It's a good strategy game, very funny !

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39am

I have to applaud for making such a complex game, great job! The learning curve is a bit steep and it's not very clear where the routes yield the best returns (and at which prices), but that's probably also because I didn't have that much time to play the game. I hope you develop this further, there's a lot of potential!

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

I started earning negative dollars and didn't know how to reverse it haha. I should have read who was on what planet, but I thought my first crack I'd just start laying down routes and see what happens. Pretty cool to see a complex game like this emerge from the jam, well done.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:32am

Sorry, but I have to rate this down for the interface. I simply don't understand the game, but it seems like it would be very fun with a more intuitive and understandable UI. (I didn't even notice the End Turn button for a few minutes.)
The music is nice.

Shivur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Good developped background story.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Solid entry, man. It's a complex game for just 72h. Good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Thanks again for everyone's feedback! I will try to improve the UI and tutorial for the post ludum dare edition :)

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

gorgeous visuals that were very clear, was a little tough at the beginning though.

Great work!

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Good work! A bit too complicated and numbers-heavy - it took a long time to get into it. I played for about an hour and got 14 routes and £300,000 but I couldn't get enough passengers so I dropped all my prices a bit and then I was just haemorrhaging money and eventually lost it all. I never did understand how all the different stats and numbers relate or how to 'game' those figures, it felt more like I was just clicking on stuff blindly. I think some colours, graphs or other visual cues would really help a lot for learning how to play and where the demand for travel is. Good game overall though and good fit for the theme.

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:02am

I gave this game about 10 minutes of play. Pretty solid entry! Very casual, but it does require some learning.

jcsirron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:26am

I thoroughly enjoyed this game! I particularly liked the introduction, which made the game more approachable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]