Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ormington Chomost Calling

by DesignerNap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not Many people today realise, but Britain's telecommunication systems used to be entirely owned and run by the General Post Office or GPO.
In 1964, a bright young telephone engineer called "Jeff" started his apprenticeship for the GPO in Earl's Court, London at a secret location known only as "Freemantle"
A few years later in 1969, the United States succeeded in landing the first man on the moon.
That same year under a new government act, the assets of the Post Office were due to be transferred and the responsibility for telecommunications lost to the GPO
This was of concern, as since 1967, Jeff had been working secretly on the General Post Office Space Program from a hidden location in a little known London borough called, "Ormintgon Chomost"
They were against the clock to launch their probes and prove the technology before the GPO lost control of the telecommunication systems.
No one knew of their existence, and their attempts to contact other worlds, until now.

This game is a mix between searching for planets in space, launching probes to land phones on the planets and then waiting for an alien to pick up the phone when you call.

Arrow keys, Space bar and A + D to control.
Any bugs, let me know ASAP and I will try to fix them :)

Thanks for playing!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Humor3.65
#115Theme3.86
#129Audio3.54
#194Mood3.46
#237Graphics3.64
#266Innovation3.54
#308Overall3.46
#344Fun3.29
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

I love the idea and execution. Very british :)
Dialling is the actual challenge, if only the numbers would move too. I so far wrecked one pod, landed 3, but didn't reach an alien yet ;)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

Thanks! Yes the number entry was the skill part. I wanted the feeling of the old phone and when I tried moving the numbers too, it became too easy ;)
Thanks for the feedback' I am heading over to your game shortly.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Mechanic with the telephone is really fun. The music was a bit loud in the first screen, and it was difficult to hear the narration, but the screen and story was cool.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

all hail the queen! haha good game!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great! I like how the gameplay is story-driven, yet every mini-game is still interesting. I've never been that much focus on simply dialing a number :P

I didn't really get what the voices said (the fact that I'm not a native might explain that), too bad because it seems like a lot of effort has been put in sound too.

Also nice graphics, it must have taken some time to create every planet and their surface. Impressive amount of work for 48 hours.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

great mechanics and atmosphere!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Thanks ZBGE! :) the sound was mostly just for atmosphere and flavour so the game is still playable without understanding it all. Thanks for the feedback tho, yes it was a big undertaking to create it all but I scraped it all together in the last minutes :D

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

thanks xandy :)

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice polish, especially with the intro, though the phone minigame got old fast, which prevented me from continuing.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Best 48H game so far :3

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

At first the telephone drove me nuts, but eventually I got the hang of it. Really liked this overall - the only things I'd suggest would be making the "lunar lander"-type sequences more involved, and making Jeff a little less creepy-looking. XD

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I once had one of this phone :D
As someone already said, the narration volume was too low, but overall your game is interesting.
Unfortunately I didn't contact any alien :/

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice mood and style %)
Like idea and color palette.

Andro Dars says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:48am

Great fluff but found the telephone minigame too annoying. Really loved everything else.

Is Ormington supposed to be Oprington?

Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I love the whole idea of a GPO space program, and the lunar landing is very nicely done, I love that they're putting telephones on the planets! I just can't get my head around the dialling, so I was ecstatic when I discovered Amesbury on 1121!! Alas, after successfully landing pods on all of the planets, I managed to make three calls, and found no alien life.

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Hey Andro. No. No it isn't. Ormington Chomost is a fictional location that my sister and I came up with many years ago. :)

and hey Cptalbertwesker, thanks for the feedback!

Aifryz says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Great audio makes great atmosphere! Sadly, the calling element is WAY too hard! I've managed to land pods on every planet but couldn't find any forms of life :)

radmars says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really cool concept! Nice work overall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]