Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ACID WORLD

by Aske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to ACID WORLD,

Some things are too strong to fight, you don't need to kill them..
Just try to survive.
And then kill the Demon to escape..

Controls:
Left Right Up Down (move) - Z X C V (abilities) - H ( dance time!)

Tips:
For a better experience, put on some trippy music.. :) (but don't judge it based on that)

It's the second time I use Flashpunk, and my programming skills has nearly multiplied through this LD.
This is normally not the kind of game style I do, but I wanted try something new out.. so please give feedback :)

And as always:
Have lots of fun!


Bugs:
You can run left in the start. Forgot to put a wall there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Humor3.86
#223Fun3.48
#284Graphics3.55
#350Mood3.24
#666Overall3.10
#855Innovation2.77
#987Theme2.52
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Your game made me laugh so much xD!! This is awesome for stress relieve!! The visual is so cool too!

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

lol'ed

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Very crazy game, a lot funny.

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Nice job! It'd be better with sound though :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

It is not your decision to make to take drugs, but don't encourage others by saying if they want to! You got lower stars overall because of that! (1 star less for each category). After I found out that there were too many people to fight, I just ran past all of em, and strait to the brain, it was rather short and easy that way. :3

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42am

I don't encourage people to take drugs. All I'm saying is that my opinion should have no influence on your decision at all.
And I am aware of that you can run over the small guys. I sadly didn't have any time for balancing it out correctly.. But thank you for the feedback :)

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

Boodog: I really wanted to have sound, but I had school next day and I live Europe, so I sadly didn't have time for it.. :(

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

DANCE TIME WOOOOOOOO!!!! \o\

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Hahahahahaa xD

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

this competition needs more crazy like this!

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Really acid))Nice.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I didn't know how to kill the demon O.o The small dudes killed me too fast so I ran past them xD

The art is gorgeous in my opinion, really captures the feeling of "WTF?!" you were obviously gunning for. I had to put Strawberry Fields by The Beatles on while I played 'cause it made it so much better :).

Gameplay is still a bit floaty, but that's to be expected in a 48 hour development cycle. Good job overall!

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Cool graphics! Generally wacky and I like it.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Well that is a weird take on the theme but interesting nonetheless. I liked how the game abilities worked like magic/skills in MMOs with cooldowns and what not.

I didn't like that you get thrown right on top of enemies so you practically dead unless you've played before to notice that.

All in all though great job (and you CAN and SHOULD tell people not take drugs, but you CAN'T force them in either way :P)

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Haha! Rad. My favorite is just holding down Z and flying around kicking people. Not the best strategy though...

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01am

lmao I like this.

SK16Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Haha very nice game :D didn't figure out how to defeat my brain though :P

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hi there. Like the look but not the feel, found it tricky to control or get past first 5 or so mobs. Shame no sound.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:26am

Cool trippy visuals! The game is really hard though. The kick seems to barely do any damage, and the 3rd ability doesn't seem to do anything at all other than a fancy animation and draining your mana. I progressed through most of it using the second shooty ability.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

This is the trippiest I have played during this compo, and perhaps one of the trippiest I've ever played, period. I like the art style. Trippyyyyy!!!!111213123

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:11am

Interesting idea!. It would be cool if the bad guys had more variety. It would be nice if there was somthing to prevent you from overlapping the bad guys, this made it difficult to attack them.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice effects and style.

bluewizard says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:14pm

sweet

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:47am

Funny use of the theme. I'd like to see more feedback on if I'm hitting stuff. I wasn't sure if I was actually was hitting the brain or not. A bit short, but funny. Good job!

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Whadda heck did I play... :D

Alrite, so the good stuff:
- art style is good, liked!
- character controlling seemed fine enuf

Could be improved:
- I didnt get feedback on hitting something. I'm not sure if the only thing that worked was the... ball-throw action
- Game is darned difficult for me :) I'd have like checkpoints, sorry :D
(also did speedrun-tactic, which seemed bit on the cheating side)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]