Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cohack

by Exeneva - Jam Entry

A turn-based tactical game where you move units on a grid and must build paths to get to enemies.

The team:
Exeneva
Wolgor
Zelotos
Kosmonaut

We're going to continue building this after the LD! Follow us on social media!

Facebook: http://facebook.com/cohacknightfall
Twitter: http://twitter.com/cohacknightfall

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Overall(Jam)3.73
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#132Audio(Jam)3.62
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#176Mood(Jam)3.50
#217Graphics(Jam)3.80
#512Humor(Jam)2.08
#575Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52am

This was really well done. Clever idea, love how it feels like a board game.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

Looks like the start of a pretty cool turn based game, I like the glowy tiles.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

This was a really neat entry, and I admire you for trying out a tactical game! Our team tried out a strategy game last time and found it was a real challenge to balance, so good on you for even trying.

I got kind of engrossed in the game, but the user interface was too hard to use and I had to quit. You can't exactly tell what pieces are yours unless you're looking at the minimap, and because you can't really seem to be able to move the map around, I had to skip a lot of my turn because of where the camera had gotten fixed. It would have also been nice for the pieces to have moved a bit faster, since watching three other players, all marked as the same color and all using the same pieces, got a bit boring.

Otherwise, the graphics are *really really nice*, and I thought the ambience felt good. Thanks for the game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Great game! I think it would better to differentiate colours per armies, instead of per units. It would make it more clear where is player's army and where foes (because player still has this icons for unit types).

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

Terrific! The polish is great... art and sound compliment so well. Execution here is some of the best I've seen in LD30.

One issue... it's down to 2 of my purple cannons vs 1 enemy cannon... and I can't fire on him! I can actually move through him, which I don't think is supposed to happen either. No matter what I do, there's no option to kill this last guy. I'm refusing to close my browser window and admit defeat so I'm just staring angrily at the enemy, hoping he'll die off on his own.

Am I missing something? I really wanted to see what would happen when I won.

In any case, I think you made a really solid game and I enjoyed playing it . . . even if I can't achieve a victory condition.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06am

I love the ideas that you implemented on this game. For one, I like the idea where units leave a trail that cannot be stepped on. It forces you to plan out where you need to go. Plus, the ability where you can add a tile is a nice touch so you can build bridges (Consider adding a tile where you cannot build there, just for added difficulty)

One gripe that I have is that it's kinda hard to differentiate what units are yours as they are all the same look and color!

Regardless, I believe with a bit more polish this could turn out into a really good game. Good job, guys!

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

Very very good concept. With some more levels, abilities,power ups and other things to make it more exciting; I would definitely play this game. I would love to see this game with a bit more polish.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59am

Loved this entry. There's a lot of decision making the player has to make which is GREAT. I'd love to play this with a friend.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16am

Pretty nice game! I think it had a lot of potential to be fun and interesting. I sort of wish I knew which units were mine, and which units did what specifically. (I spent the first couple minutes just randomly clicking things.) But once it started rolling I thought it was funner! The idea is there, and I thought it was well executed. Great job!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very enjoyable! I'm a huge TBS fan and this was nice to see a well done was as part of Ludum Dare.

It'd be nice if there was some way to see on the main map which units belong to whom - it was easy enough to keep track of, but wasn't obvious at first.

Elde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Some issues with units sharing spaces but otherwise great!

hellochar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55am

That was pretty fun! I got the general gist of it almost immediately, although a few things that confused me:

1) which team the pieces are on (I didn't even know there were 3 AI teams to begin with)
2) I thought create/destroy tile were the only available actions at first because I didn't understand you could move and attack
3) it's not apparent what create tile and destroy tile means. Are tiles things you can step on, or do they block your way? But some pieces can still attack over tiles?
4) Looking at enemies take their turns was pretty slow
5) I wish there was an "undo" button to go back one piece's step. It's also not apparent how many moves you have left for a given piece
6) It's not apparent how each of the pieces behaves -- I didn't know knives were fast and did a lot of damage but only at melee range, until I played around with them. I still don't really understand the laser or the 3rd piece (toolbox..?)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:58am

I favor the enemy AI and the fact that there are more than 1 of them. Nice little turn-based game even though I'm not a fan of neon graphics.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Hey, this was good fun - simple and clearly described rules made it easy to pick up. The 'tail' rule restricting movement of other units is great and helps to make things interesting (no idea how unique it is in turn-based strategy, but I don't recall ever seeing it used). The AI or amount of opposing forces made this version probably a little too easy (if I can win on my first game), but it made for a good intro nonetheless.

One thing you should do is colour code the enemy and friendly units so it's easy to figure out what's going on (not just on the minimap .. and with colour blindness friendly colours). I haven't read the other comments yet, but I'll be surprised if I'm not the first to request this (sorry if it's repetitive !). Nitpicking aside, seriously cool piece of work.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:46am

This is a remarkable piece of work for 72 hours. Action packed, polished, and full of strategy. I played it for quite a while, and bookmarked it for later.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

really nice visuals. the game play took some time to figure out but the overall atmosphere is really nice

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

Great strategy game. The motion made me feel a little dizzy at times, but it was very enjoyable anyway. Graphics and sound are great. AI was a little bit weak though, the enemies didn't try hard to keep themselves alive, just to kill you.

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:36am

The game looks amazing. I love the minimap! Well done!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

Nie mechanic it was fun to play. Red and orange army ar a bit difficult to see on map, and there's no sign of units color in play ( but I think its ok with the minimap )
Bug : Some units can overlap. As a result the overlaped unit is not targatable anymore making it invicible.
Great boardgame entry !

reecpj says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

Nice one, interesting decision to not allow going anywhere a piece has been that turn. Impressive making a hex-based game with AI in a short time!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Neat game, pleasing aesthetics and music, but is there a way to skip past the AI or speed it up?

alvivar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:39pm

It feels really solid and complete. I play it a couple of times :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:40pm

You could work on the audio, but the game is nice :)

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41pm

There's never too many hex and turn-based games in LD! Sleek art, really good idea with the tile create/remove mechanic.

One thing I was wondering about was that you seemed to use Unity 4.6, but not Unity's new GUI system?

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Not my kind of game, but I enjoyed it, well done.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:29am

I like the feedback of selecting tiles and moving (the rotating pieces). I didn't understand how to attack at first. After reloading the game it seemed to work, but you have to click twice sometimes.

As other people have said, team colors are definitely needed. The knife and cannon are good icons but I'm not sure what that credit card looking one is. (I guess you might have a name in the stats screen though.)

Good music and sfx.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:38am

The gameplay reminded me of Brigandine (PS1) or Wild Arms XF (PSP). Did you play any of these games by chance?

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:41am

This was really well done! Only thing I noticed that was odd was the enemy AI stacking units on the same tile and then attacking and killing me off.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:46am

Cool game all around. Gameplay was solid, though the AI needs a bit of work

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:49am

very good game! liked it but i didnt understand the theme in it very much

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I think, it's a good base for the future (a multiplayer mode could be fun !)

frosty says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:33am

Great overall entry! Love the atmosphere and the novel take on the theme. It would be good to have color-coded teams, as others have suggested, and maybe a smaller board so that the game is a bit more focused at first. Nice work.

Shivur says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very cool strategy game

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

cool one, looks we got same inspiration (for me it was recently finished XCOM playthrough :) )
graphics feels really solid..
enemies could have had more colors to differentiate and camera be more smarter when enemy attacks (include target in camera view)
also some small fonts were really hard to read

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I'm always impressed when people get strategy games finished and working over such short space of time. I did feel like I need some more guidance on how to play though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]