Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Level-Sync

by chongdashu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game that I thought about when seeing the theme. It's best to try it out for yourself so that I don't give away too much.

Unfortunately, given extremely tight time constraints, it only contains one level. It was also the first time using Haxe-Flixel, which was an interesting learning experience in itself.

All the same, I hope you enjoy it!

Request: If you do play it, I would love to know how long it took to solve the puzzles. After playing it over numerous times while testing, it has become difficult for me to gauge the level of difficulty. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Innovation4.44
#22Theme4.22
#87Fun3.77
#241Overall3.55
#569Graphics3.09
#745Mood2.77
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

A really great game. I definitely enjoyed playing it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Took me a moment to figure it out, really neat idea for a puzzler!

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very nice concept! I was using full of my brain to beat the game.

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

My time was 1:42. Neat game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hi there. Great game. Would love to see a couple of simpler levels for tutorial and maybe 5 or 10 more complicated ones ;) I imagine it takes a while for level design though. Took 5 minutes to do it, had worked out after about 2 or 3, but kept making mistakes! A restart key would be good, had to reload.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35am

Lovely concept, simple but neat. I spent almost 8 minutes solving the puzzle, it would be much better with a progressive intro levels, that way the player can understand quickly how to play. Good job, though

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really incredible concept; offers a lot of depth and is truly unique. I would love to see more of this!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08pm

2:08, but I derped with the timing several time, I could have done it in 1:30 or 1:40.

I found this level easy (compared to what could be done with the mechanic), it would fit nicely in a tutorial

The text on the buttons is a bit tiny though

Nananas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very interesting concept. Really needs more levels, maybe even a post-compo version.

(My time was 1:36)

someone9999 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Cool game! Got 1:28 on my first try. Very unique idea.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Great little game, cool idea. Like the graphics too.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Excellent concept and implementation :)
I enjoyed.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

46 seconds. Nice game. Great idea. Too short!

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

That was really fun and original.

First time ended at 1:46. It took me a while to understand what was going on and how to solve it, so it took 13 seconds the second time :)

Make more levels! Would love to see a lot more of this.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

1:05, that was a really inventive mechanic. Would love to see that spread out into a longer game. Nice instructions too.

callumW says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I really like this, was a bit sad that there was only one level of course 48 hours is not that long.

Its a great mechanic for theme which is quite a innovative idea. I would say this level was a bit easy but it was good for letting the user understand what to do. I found with mine its hard to explain something you are so familiar with.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:51pm

this is the most innovative game I've played so far, well done :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:08am

Great concept! It is a very clever take on the theme. It took me around 4 minutes from the start to figure out what wasthe order of the steps to take, about 10 tries, and then the successful one was over in 1:05. Great work!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:32am

Don't get it, sorry.

guimonpa says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:47am

1:18, I'd like to play more levels!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:36pm

What a very nice idea :D to bad there is only one level :(

01010111 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:02am

Really loved the idea behind this! It took me about 45 seconds after a couple of deaths, but I'm not the greatest puzzle player :) Wish there were more levels!

egos says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 11:16pm

i win in 19 sec the second attemp..... and i dont know why
Why ?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]