Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Traffic Controller

by ChrisGaudino - Jam Entry

Get as many ships back to their home planet as you can!

Left-click and drag on a ship to draw its flight path.

Right click and drag to rotate the camera.

Use the scrollwheel to zoom.

Use the buttons in the top right corner to adjust game speed.

Made by Chris Gaudino - @GaudinoGames
Music by Brian Gaudino

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#100Overall(Jam)3.69
#118Mood(Jam)3.67
#184Innovation(Jam)3.44
#224Fun(Jam)3.31
#227Theme(Jam)3.50
#308Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

raddevon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Love the music and the mood it sets. Nice visuals too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Loved this game, though i didn't know what to do at first because i hadn't noticed the instructions in this post

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Got to a score of 15 before crashing two blue ships into each other. Great game concept, I like it a lot and matched the connected worlds theme very well. The music was relaxing and focusing, I got startled when the explosion sound effect played :P

Thanks!

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Fantastic music, relaxing but keeps the right rhythm. Maybe the game could be more indulgent with ship losses (2 or 3?), but it keeps the player engaged and redirecting them to safety. Nice work!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Very nice! The drawn paths work really well. At first I thought the music was overly melancholy, but it seemed fitting once my ships started crashing into things.
A proximity alert of some sort would be a welcome addition, along with a x1.5 speed. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Awesome idea! You should release this on mobile.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I loved the music. I wish it would be a bit longer though =P Very solid mechanics. I feel kinda relaxed while playing this ;)

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Hey! Awesome!!
Nice graphics and concept is super great !

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Perfect. Nothing to say.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Really good game, while quite simple the idea works really well and really can become quite stressful when there's many ships out.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I got 26 before two hit each other. Cool game, immediately understandable if you've played air traffic control on a smartphone. The added complexity of the moons and orbit paths kept me on my toes, but I still felt the ships moved quite slow, especially when there were only a few.

It's your game, but might I suggest a bright flash of light when ships appear? It would let me know where and could be explained as a wormhole =)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Audio and setting were great. The draw mechanic was a nice touch. Didn't realize moons were a problem at first. I like it; nicely done.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

nice game but i think the mechenic will work better on a phone.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Good concept. Agree that would work great on a touch screen.
It would be nice to have option to speed up game. Fun for me!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Thanks for playing everyone! wdebowicz, there is an option to speed up in the upper right corner.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Great entry - some really unique twists on the line-drawing genre, especially having to factor in the moon orbits as well. And if those are trail-renderers for the drawn lines, that is GENIUS ;)

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Thanks! Both the orbit and drawn lines are using Unity LineRenderers.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Haha, well done! Reminds me of a game with helicopters, can't remember the name though :)

rjhelms says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

The orbits make this a really cool and thematic twist on the air-traffic control idea.

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Neat! It got real tough once you got more than a few at a time. Took me a while to see there was a speed toggle, that was a great addition :) Music was great.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Cool variation of the flight control games. I like the idea of having to hit moving targets. But it gets too difficult too quickly in my opinion. Good entry!

Budaniel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice game. I was way too impatient I think, because I kept speeding the game up, therefore losing ships into the sun before I could catch them (hence my best score being 1, even after trying and trying). I like the music and visuals a lot, and the controls are easy enough.

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Interesting concept.

Tosic says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:15am

Amazing, but hard :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]