Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Godshunter - Mr. Chelnoque - Jam Entry

An accidentally creepy RTS-experience.

Left mouse button to choose sailor (only one at a time!).
Right mouse button to move, use things and shoot things (you can only shoot things when high enough).
WASD to move your spotlight (only when spotlight is manned!).
Space to shoot your harpoon (only when it's manned, again)
Your harpoon is aiming in the light.
And spotlight needs recharging once for a while.
Easy!

Protips: enraged monsters are reckless; single tentacles are softer, than body (but not as soft as opened eyes!). Good luck.

Art, music: Cotton
Code, text, gamedesign: Mr. Chelnoque

View Mr. Chelnoque's journal. | View all entries by Mr. Chelnoque

Ratings

Coolness82%
#104Mood(Jam)3.73
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#199Graphics(Jam)3.84
#201Audio(Jam)3.44
#204Overall(Jam)3.46
#306Fun(Jam)3.17
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#619Theme(Jam)2.48

Comments

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52am

Finally we made the GAEM.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

I loved the art style, these pixels are adorable.
Also i liked the concent cause there's something in these tiny RTS!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Any Lovecraft influences? Love the art, the music is making such a nice atmosphere! Great work!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Please do a Moby-Dick game. You have the right stuff to make it happen.

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Kinda hard but really good, nice beggining also!

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Really fun little rts style game. I really liked the mood set by the into. The only thing i didnt like was that it was sometimes hard trying to click on things with the ship moving around so much, but I supoose it also simulates coordination difficulties of actaully being on a ship in rough seas.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

The visuals are good but damn the game was really hard. I also enjoyed the music. Good job.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice mechanics and artwork

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very nicely done, loved the art style :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I never figured out how to hit it with the harpoons. They never seemed to hit.

Also I never got the spotlight to work. I couldn't see it. I assume some of the other stations were for the spotlight... I manned them but nothing happened.

Looks and sounds great tho :)

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Enjoyed playing your game even though I still don't know what's the weak point of the damn thing : ) Art and music = rather cool.

Is the harpoon dude supposed to be immune to the tentacle strike?

Just before I lost at one point, the game wouldn't let me do anything for about 20 seconds. Could be a bug.

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice intro, graphics style is also very good. There is nothing special about gameplay, but it is good too.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Simply fantastic! The music was wonderful, the design was really cool, the visuals were good. For me, one thing that probably could have made it a lot easier though, is simply increasing the size of my ship, character, pointer and interactive objects. Or upping the color contrast so that all that is simply more obvious to see.

Also, I loved that you incorporated some philosophic dialogue at the beginning. The whole purpose of my game was about my worldview, which is probably in contradiction to yours, but it's cool to see people's ideas implemented into their games!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Still don't know if the game is winnable, but I played it for ages! I got into a good pattern. Have 1 person on harpoons, 2 people alternating for the light for quick refills.

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I dont even need a blanket now - such warm your commentaries are! Thank you all heartly. This is our first completed game and it is very motivating to get such feedback.

Hovewer I have to apologize to you for all that bugs and hardness. We have no time to make a proper work on bugfix and balancing, and, what is worse, we have no time and strenght to do this anytime soon (my code is a mess, lol).
So if you encounter a bug, I can advise you nothing better than to restart the game.

But, I hope, the game still can be quite enjoyable.

Polona says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Great art!
Took me a while to figure out what to do, and how to shoot the harpoon and stuff. At first I just took some guns (?) and shot at the beast, then I tried to rescue the ones in the water, which seemed unecessary once I got how to use the harpoon. Then it is really cool. I shot all it's eyes, it used 5 tentacles at once and smashed the ship. I did not defeat the beast, but the game, since it then crashed :D
Enjoyed it very much. (by Alvar)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Really nice art! Cthulu rules! Nice game!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I played this game WAY to long. Maybe 40mn or something. It took me a while to figure out how to shoot, then a while to figure out what to shoot, then a while to figure out the weak point...then eventually, I gace up after having sho all the creature's eyes without results.

It was awesome. Theme is light though.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Pretty cool all around!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:56am

Damn! That was fun. Want to keep playing. nice job.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Really difficult. The scale's too small to control those little dudes. And I found it difficult to make sense of what exactly I was making happen (if anything) and what the different stations do. Also, it kept smashing my dudes in like 1 hit so sometimes I didn't even have time to do much.

The sounds are also a little too loud, and in particular the starting growly sounds are way too loud, and they cut eachother off which doesn't sound very good. The music's alright. Not sure about theme connection.

The graphics though are where this game really shines though (despite the control difficulties), they're very, very cool, 5/5 for them.

radmars says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:10am

Man this could be really awesome but it's just so hard to get the hang of. It's really difficult to figure out what to do before you just get totally wrecked by tentacles - some kind of tutorial or easy mode would be perfect here. Cool graphics & music btw.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:50pm

A bit off-theme, but a great entry anyway. :) And coincidentally the water level in our jam game also has a tentacled sea monster.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Great game! Some time after I hit every eye the game crashe but I really liked what I played, really intense. I also loved the graphics, it has such an ominous mood, it's fantastic!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Gave it two tries, but couldn't really figure it out. Was able to hit a tentacle once, but that's about it. I think my main problem was being unable to figure out the spotlight operating, since sometimes it would just display a lighting icon and I was unable to do anything about it. Everything is just so damn tiny I can't even really tell what's going on. Despite everything being so small, the graphics are still nice and the mood is pretty cool too.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: using cached page]