Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cells

by Xanjos - Jam Entry

My 3rd Ludum Dare Entry and 2nd one submitted for the jam (plus first entry since being unable to complete the last LD on time).

Kind of started late on this one (on a Saturday evening) since I was initially unsure whether to take part this time as I was pretty much ill for most of the weekend (plus, it was difficult trying to make something in the limited time I had that would fit the theme).

Graphics are a bit basic as I'm really terrible at drawing things if you haven't guessed by now (I actually used the primitives in Unity for this one) and the AI is a bit rudimentary (but still does the job somewhat) and there may be one or two bugs I haven't found yet.

UPDATE (on the last day): Just replaced the Linux build with a universal one that should work on both x86 and x64 (Again, let me know if there are any problems)

UPDATE: Standalone versions have just been added (Also, I don't have a Mac or Linux machine myself so please let me know if there are any problems with those builds)

Instructions

1. You are in control of the red cells whilst the computer is control of the blue cells

2. Click on one of your cells to connect to all of its neighbouring cells.

3. You can only click on cells that can connect to at least one neighbouring neutral or opposition cell

4. The game ends when there are no more neutral cells available and whoever has the most cells wins.

Tools Used:

Language:C#
Library/Framework:Unity
Sounds:bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#574Fun(Jam)2.69
#589Humor(Jam)1.35
#637Innovation(Jam)2.51
#640Audio(Jam)1.68
#708Mood(Jam)1.79
#726Overall(Jam)2.57
#735Theme(Jam)1.89
#760Graphics(Jam)1.80

Comments

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This is quite fun to play, however I do not quite see completely how this linked to the theme.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

@Capitals: I wasn't really sure whether this could be linked to the theme as well (I showed it to my friend who was doing the jam as well and he said it somewhat fitted the theme) but I suppose each cell can 'connect' to all of the other cells surrounding it (if you can interpret that as the theme part)

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Really cool game!

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I'm with @Capitals on this one. Me and the computer seemed to have a... draw?

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Cool game. I wish there was either a multiplayer version or a way stronger AI so we could test various strategies :O Otherwise, good work!!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I think it fits the theme

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

@Aumni: I actually coded the primary mechanic with two players in mind first then added the AI later (I suppose I can add local multiplayer in some form or another in a post compo version).

As for the AI itself, it's pretty basic. Essentially all it's doing is iterating through every single cell it owns and checking which one would capture more cells. Also, because of time constraints/me being lazy (or rather, this is actually my first time trying to make AI for a game jam game or actual AI for that matter), I used a random number generator as a tiebreaker when you have several viable cells (There's also a few lines of code that makes the AI go for neutral cells more and taking that out makes it very aggressive and attempt to capture as many cells as possible but unfortunately it becomes so stubbornly aggressive, it won't actually finish the game because it's too busy trying to capture the most cells).

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29pm

the entry is ok, and it reminds me of a very old flash game i once placed (very similar, but ewith hexagons)
the ai needs some work though, because all I did was eating into blue (if possible: getting 4, elsewise get 3) and i easily won

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39pm

@pythong: I'll agree that the AI needs some working on (I'm not exactly great at making them to be honest). At the moment it's stupidly passive (since it goes for neutral cells more).

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I think that what the game needs (in addition to a better AI of course :P) are some deeper mechanics. For example if capturing a circle prevented that circle from being captured for N turns (maybe 1) the battles for territory when the players clash would probably be more strategic! Another mechanic you could add is that circles which are cut off from the "main group" (largest amount of circles that connect in some way) become automatically captured by the enemy (for example in your fourth screenshot, the four blue circles would automatically turn red. What I'm trying to say is that it has potential, even though it isn't much right now.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:02pm

@Moosefly: One of my planned mechanics was that if you capture an opposing cell, your newly captured cells will start capturing its neighbours (beginning a chain reaction of some sort) but I decided to cut that out due to time and complexity (and the fact that it could potentially make the game too short).

I also originally had randomly chosen walls (cells that cannot be captured by either player) added in but I had to take that out as sometimes the random wall generation would inadvertently block off a group of neutral cells (preventing the game from finishing).

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:31pm

@Xanjos
Yeah, the time limit can be quite harsh. Too bad you had to cut those features, they sound pretty cool!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Fun game! However, the sounds can get quite annoying, and it doesn't seem to fit the theme well.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

@Noah: I'll admit the sounds weren't exactly the best choice for the game but I figured some sound might be better than no sound at all.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice. I love "simple" games like this

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Took me a couple of tries to win. :) Short and sweet.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Very cool! I like this :D

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Pretty easy, just always pick an extruding point but interesting idea and solid implementation

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Nice and simple.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Not bad AI and interesting concept. It could be further expanded with special cells with items and different levels with unique map configurations. Good job!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Nice concept. Like others said, with stronger AI it would be really cool, but understandable given the time constraints of Ludum Dare. Thanks for sharing!

someone says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice simple mechanics are good. Shame you didn't get walls working properly, that would potentially have made it more interesting.
Very easy to win so I tried eliminating all blues. Wining with three blue cells on the board is the minimum possible.

Shide says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:05am

Nice game, but too easy. It make sence to do different level of AI, because when you firstly done it, playing the game become no sence.
Try to think about replayable.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:34pm

@Shide: Yeah, the AI is pretty dumb and easy to work out (I'm not really good at making AI per se).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Nice game. Kind of in line with the theme. AI was basic. Easy game to play, hard to master. Nice job.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:03pm

A very simple game. And I mean this in a good way.

Here's an idea: how about each player can program their own AI, and then you can let your AI fight against the opponent's AI. This game would be a perfect for such a competition.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:38pm

The idea is simple. With some more mechanics, it could become an interesting game.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice mechanic, but like Moosefly said it needs deeper choices. Great job for a game jam anyway :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice work.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I'm on linux 64 bit, and it won't run for me. Maybe put up a 64 bit build? Thanks.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:55pm

@DeltaF1: Thanks for letting me know. I'll try and put up a 64 bit Linux build hopefully by Sunday evening.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Just replaced the Linux build with a one that should be compatible with both 32 and 64 bit.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Simple but well done game. I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]