Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dance Dance Invasion

by adcrusher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my fourth Ludum Dare game!

In Dance Dance Invasion, you play as a town mayor who just wants a peaceful town. Party Aliens from another dimensions create portals to your town, and try to get the party going. Your goal is to stop these party aliens and keep the peace.

CONTROLS:
WASD to move
mouse and left click to aim and shoot your lazer canon

Shoot and close portals to score points!

Link onto the portals then sandwich the aliens between you and the portal to drag them in and score extra points!

Party Aliens increase your party meter

If your party meter fills up, you have failed your duty as town mayor.

Good Luck and thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#17Humor4.11
#45Fun3.90
#97Mood3.67
#99Graphics4.00
#102Overall3.77
#122Audio3.56
#595Theme3.21
#602Innovation3.10

Comments

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

I liked it! Very funny =)

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

First game I've given a high score in humor! Truly enjoyable game, way to go!

cobrajs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

Sweeeeet game man. Great concept, dig all those dancing aliens. Nice work!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

really fun game. i had a big old smile on my face playing it :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice graphics :D

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Brilliant!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I liked it! The dancing guys were animated really well and it took a bit before the difficulty started shooting up, but when it did, yikes!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Great game in every aspect and I love the buff aliens dancing :D

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very enjoyable. Laughed the whole time!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Graphics and sound effects fit really nicely with the game, and it's definitely an interesting take on the theme! I like it!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I enjoyed this xD I wasn't 100% on the scoring scheme but all teh funnehs made up for it in plenty. Highest Graphics rating I gave out so far! Great entry. Good luck!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Excellent!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Why you no Mac?

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Very nice... to fun

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

HAhahaha, this is great!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

That was a ton of fun. I love how frantic it gets. That's a really great risk/reward system you have with throwing the aliens into the portal. I love the animation and aesthetic you have. Great job!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Top-notch from top to bottom, everything. Your pixel art blows my mind, your fullscreen mayor shot, the dancing aliens, the mayor, etc. I'd like to be able to make great pixel art like that one day. No lies, 5 stars everywhere.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55pm

very fun, good job

Vennril says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Funny idea and well executed. I especially liked the alien animations. Congrats :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Fun and funny!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Wonderful game, couldn't help but dance a bit after playing it!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Funky. Controls were intuitive and you can definitely form a strategy on how to handle the invasion. It's a shame the camera is zoomed out for much of it, the dancing aliens are totally rad.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:20am

This is actually pretty addicting, man. Great artstyle, great gameplay. Everything fits together perfectly. Congratulations on making a fun entry! Definitely a game I'll revisit.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Lovely pixel art and fun gameplay :)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

just very fun :D

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I really liked the art. It's a fun concept but aliens sometimes spawned off screen (as well I could move off screen. Not really a fan of not having background music until theres enough aliens.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15pm

A surprising twist on the overused twin stick genre?! Count me in :D

sikosis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Well executed and great art style. Gets crazy hard too :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Aha funky take of the theme, cool. Controls are great and smooth, yet gameplay is a bit simple at the time, it's pretty much an alien rampage :) Oh and loved the houses arts by the way.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:41am

Awesome hahaha

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:35am

Very nice pixel animation!

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:13am

Time to party!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]