Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Veiled World

by panurge - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can YOU help defend the kingdom from the horrors that await in THE VEILED WORLD? Will YOU be able to do it without killing any gnomes? The answers are YES and MAYBE.

The Veiled World is a platformer/shooter with light jumping puzzles involving the ability to switch between two worlds at will. There are four playable characters with different weapons and play styles.

As an incentive for playing, the game will rate your ability and assign you your own personalised spirit animal upon completion. :)

TIPS:
- Stone platforms exist in both worlds.
- Make sure your own weapons don't bounce back at you.
- Switch back quickly to get out of trouble.
- Try not to kill any gnomes. They're not bothering anyone.


TRIVIA:
- The game was made in Construct 2.
- All sound effects were made by me either using my mouth or objects within immediate reach of my comfortable desk chair. The one exception is the birdsong, made by local birds but recorded by me.
- All the art was done using Sprite Something, an app for iPad which allows me to still be productive while lying in bed, using the toilet or partying hard with friends (actually, that last one is a lie).
- The mac and linux builds are untested. If anyone does try them, feedback on any bugs would be appreciated.


Thanks for playing!

***

POST-COMP VERSION NOW AVAILABLE HERE: http://panurge.itch.io/the-veiled-world

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#7Humor4.25
#54Fun3.86
#87Audio3.66
#161Overall3.66
#249Mood3.37
#274Theme3.64
#277Graphics3.56
#669Innovation3.02

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

I lol'd pretty hard at your character pronunciations. I played as the 'rarangerar' :) Mechanic was cool, enjoyed the sound effects and your spritework. Polished game all around, good work!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

good work the animations are really good. love the death effect. that sounds strange, but it is really good

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

I love the graphics and the sound. I like it. Good job

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice pixel art, funny descriptions and sweet sound. Good work! :)

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Very enjoyable! I especially loved the voice reading the character types. The gameplay has a good feel to it too.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I like it a lot! The game has a lot of personality, I love the character select screen voice overs, and how the enemies taunt you.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice game, but a little to difficult to controll for me (too fast and bouncy).

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Is this the greatest game that ever was? At first I thought the controls were a little "twitchy", but then I thought "ba ba ba, ba ba ba-ran"

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I had a smile on my face the whole time I played it. Possibly the best entry I've played so far.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Had a laugh when the babarian hits himself. Great game overall.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Cool little game with a nice dollop of humour and sfx. Controls and the floatiness are not too my taste though.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Thanks everyone!

I think I upped the twitch factor of the controls too far because I was playing the game so much yesterday that it became deceptively easy for me. If I do a post-jam version, I'll definitely bring them down again.

@mrspeaker - I was hoping someone would notice that! :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Yet with one character it was a good game, but the three extra game experiences are reinforcing the fun and the challenge.
You did a good job in balancing the four characters which leads to unique gameplay for each one.

Special prize for the mouth-made SFX, they are great.

I will not mention 'Humor' since it's a high value constant in your LD entries, but my favorite rank and totem are "0! sexy bear".

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

I came back and played again for 30 minutes or so.

I'll be back for more tomorrow, for I am soresoreserous.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31am

Wow, 4 playable characters in a ludum dare game?! UNHEARD OF! Very polished and very fun.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

Physics here is totally broken, but suddenly its pretty fun :D Graphics/animation feels really neat! I enjoyed your game a lot!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14am

Great game, love the art and sound. Wasted quite a bit of time just flicking over the characters on the select screen and listening to their names, hilarious.

Ended up getting paladin, cheerful rooster with the Ranger. Impressive entry definitely one of my favourites so far, will have to come back and play more.

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08am

Hahaha, Sorcecerer!xDDD
Liked the game mechanics a lot, but it's a bit frustrating since the acceleration in-air is too sensitive and I usually fail on jumping at the platforms, maybe it's just me that i'm pretty bad on this haha
anyway good job mate!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17am

Those sounds are golden! Cool and fun game.

But when I press the up arrow key all enemys float up in the air. Could be a bug or maybe a magic spell or something. Who knows, right?

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23am

@primaerfunktion - Hahaha. I could be sly and congratulate you on finding a secret gnome-levitating spell but the truth is I had no idea that would happen - I always use WASD to play. Thanks for giving me a laugh!

NickZangus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Beautiful graphics and very challenging! Good job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40pm

This was really awesome! Has some nice humor as expected from you. :) Played as barbarian and loved the bouncy axe. Now I have to try the other characters.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Haha, barbabarran! Cool shadow-world concept. Great graphics and sound. Jump controls were a little frustrating (jump and move seemed one or other). Really great presentation though and fantastic humor.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

i love the misread names , the artstyle, how fast the movement was and everything else! there was some problemw ith the collision tho but it didn't really matter :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48pm

That was really cool! (killed some gnomes though...)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Funny and enjoyable, when I heard the character pronunciations
I knew already that I'm going to like this.
Well done sir, had lots of fun!

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:15am

Damn! How did you accomplished so much? I envy you. Awesome job, man. Very funny! I cracked up laughing at your voice overs. The first thing I did was to kill a gnome. Sorry.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27am

like the way you used the theme. The jumping reminded me of Legend of Kage on the NES. Well done!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Games like this make my fingertips sweat. The text was hard to read when playing full-screen, but otherwise a very solid entry!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46am

Mad and beautiful and mad and and and beautiful! :D

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Fun game, would have liked a health bar, I had no idea I even was dying first time and thought my punishment for hits was just being repelled from the veil, until blood! everywhere! :P
Managed to beat it as the ranger, died as everyone else :D

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I really liked the basic idea of the game but felt that the controls could have been a bit better. I had some issues (only with barbarian) that he missed a lot of jumps, but maybe it was me who had missed something. I liked that you had 4 different characters to choose from. :D

Well done! :)

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Very funny; love the sound effects. The smushed font is also amusing.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18am

yeah character pronounciation was great! i chose the barbarbarian and his axe was rad...

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Pretty humorous, I felt the jumping wasn't responding sometimes. But overall a very nice game.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I suck at this game. Mostly because on my laptop, I can't use my mouse and keyboard at the same time. But I had a lot of fun anyway. the characters ar so cool! Especially the Rogue. the sound effect are awesome too

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Sorry, I think I killed some friendly gnomes :P It's a nice idea. The controls are a little frustrating and there must be a problem with the font because I could barely read any of that text.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

My first attempt was with the Barbarian and I wasn't very good. But then I played with the others and I could finish it. Nice art/animations and sounds. It's very funny! :D

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

That was hilarious. Great job!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

sorceresus!!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Properly made me laugh out loud :D I liked the mechanic for moving between worlds - great job!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:01am

Omigosh I laughed so hard at the start. Possibly funniest thing I've seen in a Ludum Dare game? (I am a little sleep deprived at the moment though)

The camera is a little shakey, which annoyed me, but I had fun.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:24am

Lovely entry, very promising, loved the humour, but couldn't work out how to right-click on my mac's touchpad. Ctrl-click and Cmd-click didn't do it :(

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:50am

Well done. I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fQEfK1MQqVU

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:45pm

The sound effects are funny. Are you sure that we're not supposed to kill gnomes - they look like they enjoy it when they're shot. Nice pixel art, and definitely one of the funnier games.

xRubbermaid says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Easily the most fun entry I've played so far. Sound effects are really charming. :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:44am

My spirit animal is a drunken unicorn! That was great, except for the jumping physics, which were a bit of a beast.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psssst - you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiOCPZZx_Fc

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:15am

I really like the mechanics of this game. The audio was a nice touch. High marks here.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:19am

I'm a lustful lion

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]