Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

NECLiD

by 0x0961h - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if I tell you that our world is not the only one? That our world is connected to another one? And it makes our world whole, it connects our world, part to part, piece to piece.

But what if one day a strange cataclysm crushed our world and separated it to small fragments? There's only one hope for us: we can call those who were exiled by us long time ago. But will they be willing to help after we declared them the root of all our problems? Will they be willing to come to our world, those so called "Quantum Devils"? Those who walks The Neclid Plane?

Those Neclid Overlords.

-----

Entry has a key re-binding feature. You can change key layout in Options.

Entry uses OpenDyslexic font to provide more inclusivity. You can enable it in Options.

As usual, there _could_ be some problems with sounds and music in HTML5 version, so if you're expiriencing ones and you don't want to disable them (through Options), try desktop version (JRE7 required).

Bored with slow game pace? Turn the "Speedrun Mode" on in Options.

There are no checkpoints and no restart button. The only way to "fast restart" is to press Escape and then Enter. It'll do the work.

HTML5 version was tested (and worked well) in Chrome by me. Testers said Firefox worked good and IE had some problems with SFX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Graphics4.10
#80Overall3.82
#105Theme3.88
#115Audio3.57
#134Mood3.58
#259Innovation3.55
#260Fun3.42
#436Humor2.50

Comments

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

This has a great level of polish for a jam game, interesting concept to wrap your head around too!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

Love the graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice concept and great graphics.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22am

Quantum Devils throwing parties in the Neclid Plane - this is awesome. :D

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Great game! The graphics were excellent, and so was the level design.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice entry, really like the style.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

I can see you do love colors! :) Polished, nicely done!

RevoluGame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nice game ! but that's not easy to play with a non querty keyboard ;)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

@RevoluGame, a-a-and that's why you have the ability to change keyboard layout in Options. ;)

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

Cool puzzle! Great split levels.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

This was a great concept! I beat the last level by using only the character from the necrid plane (was unable to switch characters, even after changing the key).

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

@Lord Draficus, just as planned! When you're in "Neclid Mode" (when blue tiles are seen) human character cannot be selected, 'cause human can't walk Neclid tiles. But, well, you can move Overlord to pink tile, switch worlds and then try to switch characters. :)

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Really really excellent entry! Great use of the theme, surprisingly deep mechanic, great visuals and sound that fits the mood nicely! Just a bit unfortunate that the sounds sometimes overlap if you switch between worlds quickly, makes it sound like a big mess sometimes. But still, top notch entry!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

nice entry, great univers!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

I love the graphics and the concept. I love this kind of puzzle games. Nice job.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

I really liked how the current world would move apart for the new one! Awesome effect!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

Great game , love the art and gameplay mechanics. Only thing I would see being implemented it a reset feature or an undo feature since you move a block at a time.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

I love it! Super polished, fun to play and great atmosphere.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Nice game , like the concept and the art with good levels too
the character are nice I would to see some funny animation on them :D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

Really nice, and great polish

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

Very nice! I was a little bit lost in the beginning, but then I figure it out.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Well done graphics & gameplay. Also the menu aspect ratio is cool.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

The design is great, like the use of colour and the two worlds.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice game, I love the colors :)

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

The art is so so good in this game. I can't believe the amount of polish it has. Everything feels very good. To the top!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nifty puzzle mechanic!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Sooo smoooth and cooool.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

This is amazing, love the style and plays really well.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Excellent job!
Totally LOVE the game and theme using. Expanded world looking very Cool! Only one thing I dislike is slow controls. In everything else the game is great!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

This is the best LD30 game I've seen so far. The gameplay is innovative, it fits the theme, and you didn't skimp on the graphics. Well done.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Really strong entry. Too bad there's such a few levels

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Most of the art was absolutely brilliant and the puzzles were challenging too. I enjoyed playing, but would probably have stayed longer if there was a reload current level button. And less problematic, but still a bit annoying: that levels didn't progress automatically upon completion.
Graphics-wise everything was so slick and smooth, so I was a little surprised that movement between tiles wasn't animated (especially when pushing).
Other than that. A really nice game.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

This looks fantastic!

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11pm

I really want to know how you do these glow effects

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Deceptively simple initially, and great presentation. Pretty cool!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

There is only one thing that I don't like about this game. I doubt it can be done in 48h from scratch :D

Anyways, I pretty much 5 stars. Gratz, best game so far!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice graphics and good puzzle concept.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

@JetL33t, just like it was with parallelsync (LD #28): I had a concept in my head for a long time and always wanted to give it a try. When I saw a theme I decided not to rush around and actually try my concept in action. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I couldn't get this to run sadly (chrome, mac). Judging by the other comments I wish I could

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

@highlyinteractive, you can always download a desktop version. I didn't test it, but Windows and Linux versions are running pretty good.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I liked the concept a lot, and I like how different
yet somehow connected the character look.
This is taking the old push-box-formula into new grounds, somebody had to do it!
One of the better entries I've seen, well done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really cool puzzler with sweet sounds and pixel art.

For some reason I can't change characters though, even if I change the switch key.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

@AdventureIslands, it's because human characters aren't allowed to walk during shown Neclid Planes. :)

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

gorgeous looking game. with a few more levels it looks almost ready to sell!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really love the art and audio! Great idea and very well polished :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Very well polished!

gnx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17pm

At the core, it is a puzzle game like I have seen all my life. But the level of production on the visuals and audio is such, that it becomes an enjoyable experience. Very high level of polish. Default gameplay is a bit on the slow side :)

voxel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

Normally don't enjoy the puzzle games that come out of LD but this is a great exception

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00am

So so beautiful, great job :)

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

Loved the Neclid World, really neat puzzles! :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Awesome entry! Hard as hell, really interesting concept, great art & sound, heaps of polish - congrats :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I think I am too stupid to solve this game. Also for some reason switching the character didn't work for me (the desktop version crashed when starting the level).

But I really like the style (so beautiful!) and the improvement on the general Sokoban gameplay.

Also so much polish for a compo game. You actually made me google OpenDyslexia and find out how it helps people. Nice one!

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very cool, my only complaint is that the movement felt a little unresponsive during the animations, would love to see more of this :)

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Really great idea and execution! Awesome levels of polish.

reidrac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Really impressive for 48 hours. The graphics, the music, amazing... well done!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

@steve, have you tried Speedrun Mode? Feels just like the old times! :D

@rnlf, character switching works only when both of the players are in the "human world". And I'm pretty glad that one more gamedev knows now about OpenDyslexia font. :)

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great work, the visuals and the overall experience are quite polished. Options and remappable controls aren't something you often see in jam games :0

The gameplay is cool, I just happen to be terrible at this kind of puzzle, haha. Definitely appreciate the inclusion of speedrun mode, it allowed me to fail at a much more comfortable pace. A quick 'reset level' key would have been helpful for sure. Nice audio treatment. Solid output for 48 hours!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Brilliant entry. The music is fantastic and the puzzles are well designed. Good job!

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Clever idea and well-executed too. The music gave it another wordly feel to it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Game looks good, but the camera movement gave me severe nausea :(

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I like the aesthetics of this game and the puzzle mechanics are pretty cool too. Overall, good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

You packed a lot of atmosphere into this, I think it's a very nice idea. I thought the design of the Overlord guy was awesome. Top marks for theme too

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

i liked the follow speed of the camera. puzzles just tricky enough to keep me interested. nice one!

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Wow! Great entry! Super polished graphics/sound given the timeframe!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

this is really polished for 48 hours! nice work!

Malapropos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01am

I liked the puzzle mechanics in here and the graphics are quite nice as well!

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

Wow! You made a box pusher too, actually one of my favourites! I like the mood, the background music - a very well made piece!!!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59am

Very clean game overall. You picked a great color palette that I think would market well to a wide variety of gamers (myself included! haha)

Great work

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38am

Very clear entry for a compo game. Even though the mechanic is taken from Sokoban, changing the world adding a new dimension to it. It also fits the theme very well. My only concern was the music that could be better.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

Really nice! Awesome visuals and concept. The game feels a little bit slow, though. You might want to change the tween time for character/tile movement. Arrow controls would also be great. Great entry

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21am

great puzzle concept, one of the best graphics and sound I've seen so far

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35pm

One of my favourite compo entry so far. Its beautiful and polished, and you still have enought time for some complex and great level design. Congratz, this is a win.

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02pm

A really good game. Great graphics. I will like it to be a bit fast, but you can still enjoy it as it is. Good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice game, The difficulty curve is really really steep though, Some easier levels between the tutorial level and the first level would be nice.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice! Animation of appearing of new tiles just great! Also very good level design.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Cool entry. Cool puzzles. Several maps. New things presented at good pace. Excellent art. Sounds. Music.

I would make transition animations (Q/E) slightly faster, but really cannot think of anything else to improve :)

This is like a real game and made in just 48 hours... that's truly impressive. Well done.

(P.S. the web version doesnt work for me... 'localStorage' failure)

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very interesting! loved the use of the theme.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Nice game, congrats!

goosetickler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Great style and fun gameplay.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Really fun and refreshing puzzle mechanics. I love playing puzzle games that make you sit back and think :)

skiddings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

impressive work in 48 hours

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Well done! Great puzzle design. I was about to come and complain about how slow it is, but then I read the "speedrun mode" part of your notes and ended up playing quite a while longer!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

I liked that the pink squares would move and blue ones would come in to completely change the puzzle I was looking at. Interesting indeed.

sthreet says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

interesting game, a restart button would have been so nice.
Got stuck on the third level, but the little I did play was fun.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

Very cool, feels like a complete game! Love the SFX and the atmosphere in it and the characters, good use of theme!

gnerkus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

This game is so good!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice work! Love the graphics and puzzle design! Really good entry!

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

Really brilliant entry. Awesome graphics, audio, mood, really everything!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Awesome. Hard to believe it was made in 48h, with all the fancy graphics, audio and level design!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

very polished and looks great!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

That's a really neat concept and I'm also super into the music. Great work!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Great puzzles! Nice graphics and colors! Awesome music! Genius

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very innovative idea, and amazing graphics and music! Got stuck relatively quickly though :(

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

really liked the graphics, they seemed very well polished, and a nice puzzle game. well done! :)

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

Polished game. Art style simple and perfect. I really like the "moving" animation of level, I feel that lvl is flying. When I first time finished the level I was clicking a random buttons to pass to the next level, until I realize that I should exit to menu. Very good entry! Hard to imagine to do it in compo in html5. Great job!

lekochen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

Finished! Clever design, well polished, nicely done!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:17am

Neat graphics and audio, clever puzzles, very polished. Fantastic work!

Aske says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Great puzzle game. You should make it for mobile. it would be great!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Loved it. Would love to see extra work done post-compo ;) my suggestions: camera panning, or, a view that shows you the entire level on screen. Also, Undo-ing your moves. Great work!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Really nice puzzles, cool graphics, what a great game! More of this please! Hoping for a post-compo version with more levels.

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Really nice aesthetics and style but the animations could be quicker, good thing you've got speed mode.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:48am

This is one of the best looking games I have seen in LD30. The mood is really cool, and I like the animation. Character movement seems a bit slow.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:38am

I think this game has been one of the more mentally challenging ones I've come across so far. Really cool! +10 for double bass pedal runs in the music.. xD

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Awesome Sokoban-like game ! Congratulations :)

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Speedrun mode is awesome! I found the game really slow before enabling it.

Nice game. :)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Very smart puzzles and design! It was tricky, but not unfair. It's really nice and polished, especially for a 48 hour submission!

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:54pm

very cool thematic choice and theme interpretation!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Great puzzle game with nice graphics and music. Really great use of the theme. Good job!

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Nice entry, well done.

BeardoGames says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I really enjoyed the design of this game, especially the horned dude! Very tight and nicely presented!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:20am

Beautiful game, and good puzzles too!

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Only black screen with safari. With firefox it works.
Cool game. I like the graphics.

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Beautiful and clever! I enjoyed it a lot :)

Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhipFfkMzPI

ninjascript says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really great work for 48 hours. Very impressive.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Great use of the theme! I liked the simple graphics. The music was a bit grating and also didn't loop well, but fit the mood well. Pretty deep puzzles for a block pushing game! Great job.

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:12am

Damn. Amazing entry. And for the compo. I envy you. Congrats, man.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:58pm

im pretty flashed by the graphics! the soundeffects thou were a litte wiered. all in all a very cool interpretation of the theme. funny game!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:07am

Love the graphics, awesome innovation as well. Very creative, like the concept. Well done!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great puzzle game.
I thank you so much for including speedrun mode. Only complaint I have is that the sound effects for switching dimensions should then be shorter too.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:14pm

The controls felt a bit unresponsive, and having to go back to the menu to start the next level was a bit annoying.

Minor issues though :) great entry

Lythom says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:59pm

hi, here's some feedback !

What I liked :
- Great use of the theme i puzzles.
- Great puzzles !
- Atmosphere
- Accessibility consideration (dislexy, colorblindness, configurable keyboard)

What imo could be improved :
- Music and sounds ! (Still, thanks for the option to cut them)
- Transition time between worlds, can get really annoying when switching alot. Would help if hitting the transition button while transitionning would revert the transition into the initial state.
- halting moves, would be great if the caracter kept walking when holding a move key down.
- A better indicator than camera move to inidicate clearly what character is being moved. Could be a halo, a shadow, or a graphic detail for exemple.

The core gameplay is a great success, a good one ! Thanks for the game =)

0x0961h says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:38pm

These are really good points! Thanks everyone for the feedback! :)

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:16pm

That's a clever use of the theme (with the moving tiles)! I really enjoyed the visuals and the music. Good work. I have nothing to complain about. (except the browser crash :D)

McFunkypants says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Great polish. World's most abrasive music. Wonderful art! Great job!

sputnik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Awesome graphic and good mecanic.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Very entertaining puzzles and polished presentation. A Solid Entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]