Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nafasi Conquest

by CaptainNakou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello,
I'm Nakou, and let me introduce you to "Nafasi Conquest."

It is a game of conquest based on a world in space, where the connections between the different worlds are essential to acquire power and defeat your opponent.

It's my second participation in the Ludum Dare, so I hope this game will be much better than the last one.

Unfortunatly, the IA is completely dumb. It just can capture neutral planets. I've a bunch of function for the attack mode but they crash the game 95% of the time.

I hope i'll show you a moar complete version one day.

NB : If the game crash when you do the "Clean" map, it's "normal". You just have to reload it. It's a problem with the map generation, it can happen (1/50 time) when there is aberration in connection.

Cheers!

Captain Nakou

!!!! WARNING !!!! DONT JUGE THE MUSIC BECAUSE IT'S CC MUSICS I'VE FOUND AND IT'S NOT A PART OF THE CONTENT CREATED DURING THE LD!!! PLEASE IGNORE IT!!!!!! (Forgot to remove it when i published it.)

PS : This game is dedicated to Sid Meier btw, that's why the name is in Swahili language, like Baba Yetu, the song from Civ IV main menu :).

POST MORTEM : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/nafasi-conquest-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Theme3.50
#544Audio2.74
#875Innovation2.75
#1002Graphics2.35
#1009Mood2.33
#1105Overall2.50
#1110Fun2.20
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

Having a level generator and AI (even if you're unhappy with it) is pretty sophisticated! I stayed away from both, so you're a step ahead of me :) This shows promise, nice work.

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40am

woaw, thank you so much!
I'll test your game as soon as i can :).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29am

Really interesting concept and good execution. Especially with the level generation and AI in that short time. Good work!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:38am

Simple but efficient concept, which is something I like.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great you included tutorial in your game! Concept is strong. AI is pretty weak, but the fact that you have one is a huge advantage! Well done!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I'm amazed how much you got done in such a short period of time. Good framework!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Managed to conquer about six planets. Enjoyed the music too. Good job!

chas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I'm loving this music.

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Dont juge the music guys, i forgot to remove it (because it's banned for 48-Compo)

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

I waited a good 5 mins but had the pin wheel of death :(

Couldn't play :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]