Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tiles at the Juncture

by porglezomp - Jam Entry

"You come to an ancient temple at the joint of two realms. The tiles on the wall combine as you wobble back and forth between the pair of connected worlds."

This game is a variant on Bejeweled with two rulesets for each world. I didn't have time to make the Underworld rules quite as fun as the Overworld.

I hope to take this entry beyond LD to mobile platforms, along with a lot more polish. I hope you have as much fun playing it as I did making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#146Audio(Jam)3.57
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#448Innovation(Jam)2.93
#468Graphics(Jam)3.17
#486Theme(Jam)2.93
#520Mood(Jam)2.84
#532Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

An interesting twist on a classic game. Nice job!

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Fun take on the match-3. I think the way the music shifts is what makes it for me.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Pretty cool. I found it hard to make squares.

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

Not my cup of tea, but the twist to the game is interesting, its cool that you have to rethink what you're doing. it feels like theres some advanced moves that emerge from this but I cant really get into bejeweled clones enough to find them.

cool :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I think the music is what really did it for me too. I love how it shifted depending on the world you were in. Really entertaining!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

huh. ran into a couple glitches if I moved to fast (if I was dragging a tile when a chain reaction occurred), but otherwise a very smooth experience. audio was good, and the transition was clean. being able to see the other world at the bottom of the tile let you plan a little in advance. honestly, a really good submission. nicely done.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very nice idea, interesting spin on match 3. Great job :)

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Refreshing take on the match X mechanic. Was fun having to adjust my way of thinking how to match tiles when the world suddenly switched.
I like the way the music changed between the worlds also.

Couldn't really figure out what the small colored gems below the tiles were for though.

Seems like a game well fit for a phone indeed :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:24am

Hi there. Like the look and feel already. Nice particles, wobble on the tiles as they settle. Found the flip between worlds a bit annoying, probably as it isn't related to player input.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:25am

I never liked this kind of game, but this one actually added a clever twist. Nice job!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Well, I broke it at some point where 2 rows stacked on top of one another. Not sure how... I think I was moving a piece at that time that it flipped.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I'm a huge sucker for Match X games! :) Liked your take on it, as it was challenging but also different than what I'm used to. Music was pretty great, and overall it was fun! Great work!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:45am

Really impressive and well put together puzzle game! Usually puzzle games are tough to design and implement over the course of a weekend, but this was a great take on the theme, and the gameplay and music made me want to keep on playing. Great job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:54am

Pretty nice. I couldn't tell when the game would change worlds, though.

fcpfoof says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very cool game, great music ;).

Teesquared says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice puzzle game with a twist. Matching squares world was harder for me. I had more fun playing it than you had making it :)

eott says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I like the design, it's very clean and communicates the gameplay well. I even found a bit of unintended humor, when the tiles got a bit crooked and glitched out: http://imgur.com/1x8LhoM

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]