Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I cant believe its not another space game, but it is. - Connected Worlds

by CoderDozer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super simple (or is it) side scroller space shooter upper!

Tools used:
Built with PhaserJS
Blender for assets
Photoshop for photoshopping
Fruity Studio for them beats
and
BFXR for sfx



Declaration of fix/change after submission: I switched the phaserJS library (http://phaser.io/) to use the minimised version, its simply to reduce download size (min = ~600kb unmin = 2.5mb). NO changes what-so-ever have been made to the game code or game play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#452Audio2.85
#595Humor2.26
#745Mood2.77
#927Fun2.61
#979Graphics2.40
#1060Overall2.60
#1066Theme2.30
#1165Innovation1.95

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

I enjoyed the music. Controls were responsive, and the enemys colours contrasted nicely against the background. Nice work :) The need to resupply definitely had me connecting with a bunch of worlds.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Could do with being a bit faste paced. As it stands it'f far too slow.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

Pretty cool ;D. And that models look like balloons, making sound like them popping when shot xD.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

Simple concept but still fun, gj :)

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

could be faster, and the missiles are a bit slow :)

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Brings back good memories of those old flash SHMUP games I used to make as a kid.

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Funny game.

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice :)

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

A little bit slow for me but the idea of limited fuel gives a strategic aspect to the game, that make it fun. Could be be still a ShootThemUp but with more speed, or a nice 2D space shooter with more strategie about having planet on the track to get fuel.
I'm not fan of the plastic like rendering, but i could work with the good sound design.
But as a shooter he is really addicting more than some better looking.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Hey there. Like the music and SFX, shoot action etc. all great. After removing first wave nothing further happened (on Chrome/W8.1)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

Nice game, although a bit slow for my taste. Great audio and cute graphics, blender rocks(Didn't use it myself this time though)!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

When a new level loads I always get hit by a missile because I spawn right in front of a baddie. It doesn't make the game harder but it does seem like a cheep shot.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

This game should be a bit faster imo, but anyway nice work.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Thanks to everyone for the feedback, helps allot.

@mrexcessive not sure whats going on there, did you advance forward by pressing the -> key

@hamster_mk_4 See what you mean, that wasn't intentional, they are meant to be random movements :D

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Hey there, nice game! Different enemies and and the possibility to move backwards would be great! Solid Sound & Graphics!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:16am

Nice and simple shooter game. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]