Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape This Place

by Demorro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Developed in HaxeFlixel. Arrows to move, WASD to control your directional lashings.
Loosely inspired by the "Assassin in White" sequences from the Stormlight archive books.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#218Fun3.49
#238Humor2.91
#281Overall3.49
#374Innovation3.40
#419Graphics3.30
#431Audio2.89
#486Mood3.07
#1043Theme2.37

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43am

Cute and fun! I was kind of sad that it ended so soon. Until I reached the "The End" screen. Then I was happy again. Good game.

Duncan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

I agree with cabbage :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

I started playing this game not realizing you could use regular movement with the arrow keys, I was playing with just changing gravity--and I almost liked it better that way, until I got to turrets :P Anyways, nice game!

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

That was really good!

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Cool idea. I don't really get the theme :P but what ever.
It wasn't easy so maybe make the resown quicker?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

The controls seem a bit awkward to me, and the game has kind of a weird learning curve. Other than that, it's a nice implementation of an old idea. :) Nice work!

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Not sure where the theme links in but overall nice job.

Demorro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

Gotta play to the end ;P

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

Unique controls! Can't decide if i like or hate them ... As others have said, I miss the tie in with the theme, but cool game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

This is an awesome mechanic. I like the pixel art and animations. It is weird though but in a good way.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

Haha this is a pretty cute game! :D Love it!

crezefire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Really good game. Has a lot of potential to be the next Super Meat Boy!!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Wow, really strong platformer, reminded me of VVVVVV. Very challenging but still fun. The graphics are simple but looks good. I really loved the ending credits :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I had a hard time getting the controls down, but had a lot of fun!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31am

Fun game :) Neat graphics and audio.
Quicker respawns would be nice considering a pretty high momentum and very spiky spikes :)

suppi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

very nice mechanics! though the controls were a little annoying.
also, the height of the screen was a little too big for me, it didn't fit all the way on my laptop :(

neosam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04am

Wow, that was hard :). Great idea, 5 points for Innovation!

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Good game, really liked the level design. one minor complaint: the movement felt like walking on ice.

Other than that, great entry!

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Neat take on the VVVVVVV concept, ran a bit choppy on my computer, which made it hard to play.

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I'm really sorry about the performance. The time constraints led me to take a very very ill advised course in choosing how a bunch of the mechanics were implemented.

suve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Quite fun. The collision boxes are bit too large and it's easy to die, and the music gets repetitive quite soon. But other than that, it's a really nice and fun entry. The graphic style is interesting and pleasant to the eye.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

That's a cool idea, but you should tweak the controls a bit:

The character has a lot of inertia which makes him hard to control, and his hitbox is a bit to big (I really expect him to fall when both its feet are in the air).

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

this is so original. it was fun. a bit challenging at first, but really awesome once I got the hang of things. Great job! I loved this game

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Interesting controls / movement for he character. Just not sure how it fits the theme.

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

Really cool idea but I do not posses the skills to play too far into the game (keep hitting the wrong set of movement keys and when it came to the first timed jump room I was done for!).

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Am I playing a dangerous sheep-ninja 0o ? Very strange physics (I was under the impression I was just flying in the air) but not bad otherwise.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:17am

Hi there. Like the special abilities, the platformer itself I found too difficult - but I am bad at them. Nice pffft sound on death.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:04am

Great game! It was fun to play, even if it was short the levels were well designed. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]