Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Planetary Guide

by Alexander - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with WASD
Jump with Space
Control the planets with the corresponding number keys
Takes about 5-10 minutes.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#103Humor3.33
#176Innovation3.70
#301Theme3.59
#471Overall3.29
#560Audio2.71
#645Fun2.94
#730Mood2.79
#839Graphics2.66

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

'Gain(us') and 'Uranus' - enjoy these humour scores :)

While it was tricky to decipher the planets,
the rhymes were so fun - I couldn't have planned it.

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Great game. would have been easier if I knew my planets

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Simple but in a good and really fun way, loved the word rhymes and clues, and the end was perfect haha, great job :).

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This was so insane. Finished it with the help of google (sorry my memory of planets is poor). That was really really creative. So clever. Also connected worlds in multiple ways.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very original way of integrating the theme. Like the concept a lot and the music added to the feel of the game. Good ratings for this one.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

It could be educational game :-) Nice idea!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

The puzzles/riddles were nice!

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Vengeance for Pluto!

An interesting concept and a good execution. A bit hard to get the controls, yet the game is impressive.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Overall nice job I sucked real bad lol fuckin riddles haha my game is holiday nightmare

shashwat says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice Game!

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Bug: In the saturn part (riddle 2) you can jump on the roof of the building you start in, seeing your planettextures.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Great! Great! Rhythm and rhyme, planets and pluto. Best game so far!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:14am

Hi there. Novel approach to education about solar system.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Loved the clever way of solving puzzles. The rhymes are also something to be proud of! Great work!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Clever idea of mixing the planets and the platforming. :)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Darn straight! When I grew up, there were 9 planets and no less!

Cool idea, a bit quick since I still recall the order of the planets. Nice work on the rhymes - even the Gainus one.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:12am

This was lots of fun, I enjoyed the puzzles. I learned a bit about the planets, too.

dadman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Needed to write down the planets and what number was which... Not sure if this main mechanic is difficult or just time consuming to look it up. Could be called educational!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]