Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Brawler & Mage

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#321Audio(Jam)3.20
#378Graphics(Jam)3.40
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#442Humor(Jam)2.28
#566Mood(Jam)2.75
#583Innovation(Jam)2.68
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#699Fun(Jam)2.32
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

Pretty fun idea. The execution needs little polishing though it's pretty hard to stay alive and the mage's magics didn't seem to be all that useful.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice. I'd prefer if the player if the player just attacks to where she/he is facing and don't use the mouse position to direct the attack.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very basic and straight-forward, but the controls doesn't feel quite right. The character sprites looks good, though. With some polish I think it could evolve into something fun.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice graphics! And the music is awesome!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

I really liked how the instrument changed when changing characters. I wasn't too certain about the character changing. Also the mage didn't seem to be that helpful.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

pretty neat. though not much to it, and i really dont see a use to use the mage.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Really nice art and music and idea. Combat could use some tuning but I would work on this some more. Could be neat!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice game. Controls feel clunky, but the art is nice and I like the audio transitions.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

I really like the UI! The art style is really cool too ^^ Nice submissio, keep it up!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The graphics are nice, and the music changing is neat, but as people already said, the mage is not useful :/

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

Nice audio and graphics. Controls are a bit strange. I agree with the xrm0 with attack where facing. Also mage seems pretty useless but maybe I'm using him wrong :) But overall nice job!

Vidd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Cute art. Might be nice to add keyboard controls since you could attack based on movement direction.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

It was hard to survive. But the idea was pretty good. Made me miss streets of rage :). great concept

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:28am

I like how you change the instruments of the music depending of which character you are playing, nicely done!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Really like the art but I wish I could use the keyboard to attack instead of the mouse. Also music transitions worked well.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:11am

Hi there. Good idea, the combat seems a bit glitchy... not much positive f/b to player. I like the small move/charge->big move mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]