Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worldco

by awesomeusername - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Worldco!

We're a company which specializes in connectivity. In this age of space travel and colonization, it's our job to keep the colonies connected . . .

Worldco is a frustratingly addictive game of trying to connect worlds and keep them connected as asteroids threaten the links between planets. Each level has 3 different difficulty levels so there's a challenge for everyone (seriously, I can't beat some levels though it IS possible). Aside from the campaign part of the game, complete with scores to try to beat, I've also included a random level generator to mix things up.

Made from scratch in Java, did all the graphics myself with my own art tool (also made from scratch).

Also, *** I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DOING THE TUTORIAL FIRST ***

Thanks for playing and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#169Theme3.77
#179Humor3.08
#390Fun3.23
#446Innovation3.30
#454Overall3.30
#619Mood2.90
#932Audio1.78
#940Graphics2.48

Comments

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I don't understand much (when did I win ;o) but game is quite interesting ;).

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12am

Thanks. I've added a tutorial since then so hopefully things make more sense now.

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

Fricking 5 STARS What A Game THE FUN IS TO GOOD!!! By the way new record hard 1,02... BTW Check out my game

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Super fun! Makes me wish I'd spent half as much time making gameplay for my entry as I did making everything else!

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Read the tutorial.
After that you realize how simple the gameplay is but awesome!!

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice game did you use the inbuilt java classes

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Thanks for the comments, all!

@theCoder15: I used the java.awt and javax.swing libraries.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Fun game with cool graphics (are the asteroids on buttons? :D).

Rock48 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Pretty cool puzzle game

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

So many levels and options and menus and a tutorial! Great achievement

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Guys, do the tutorial. It's a cool game!
I played in "GRAAARGH" difficulty and now I hate asteroids.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I did not understand the game well, but not bad, although it has some ugly graphics

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

First, the game is really fun. Second, do not play on the hard difficulty unless you are alone and can drop some F-Bombs without any consequences. Great job!

MikeTheWayne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I Like this. It's simple, good and I like it. Good Job :)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Finished the game on easy, tried on GNAAARG, well it's .. GNAARG. Liked the idea it took me til the last level. good entry.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13am

Doing the tutorial is a must, but once you figure it out, the level of strategy required is surprising.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice little clicker, and nice, literal use of the theme! I liked it. Sound effects might have added to this.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The tutorial was great and I really like the game concept - it's an interesting mix of timing and strategic thinking. However I felt that at least with Hard difficulty I didn't have much problems defending a level 1 line at all times, so the two more powerful line types saw less use. Maybe some lines transfer different goods, and certain planets prefer certain goods? Also it'd be nice if you could see the cost of a line between two planets by hovering over them. :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Actually a lot of fun. Great game.

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Quit a nice game if I do say so myself!

The gameplay is really well thought through, except for one thing: there's nothing preventing you from waiting for hours before starting, collecting tons of money, then building 5 links everywhere. You can say "but the high scores!" but I don't think that works. There are the highscores, but I don't think that's enough. In a game like that, you shouldn't have to worry about highscores until you've beaten a level at least once. Here, if you don't care about highscores, the game becomes almost trivial. This could be fixed easily with a time limit for instance.

Apart from this flaw, it's a really solid game, congrats!

owyoow says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Really fun game. Good tutorial as well

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:43am

Interesting game ye. Are you missing alpha channel though? Its pretty good for compo.

Njord says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:10am

Funny game, nice job ! Could have done with some audio though :D

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very fun game! You gave a lot of thought to game play.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great take on the theme and very innovative. I liked the tutorial. Good way to introduce the game mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]