Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Interplanetary Space-Internet Saving Company Deluxe Task Force Adventure

by SnoringFrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Full Title:Super Interplanetary Space-Internet Saving Company Deluxe Task Force Adventure (it was too long to fit on the Puzzlescript screens)

Various planets across the universe are having difficulties with their internet. You have been tasked with repairing their internet to keep the connections between the worlds strong. Without the internet, the lack of cat pictures will drive the planets into total war. Go forth, brave warrior (or internet technician, whatever) and save the Galactic Interwebs from certain doom (or downtime, whatever)!

This was my first attempt at using PuzzleScript, and I think it came out pretty well. I'm pleased with the size of the game (22 levels, I believe) and I think I had a good challenge level. Let me know what you think about that.

Comments/bug reports/suggestions can be left here or at my twitter (http://www.twitter.com/SnoringFrog). If you do encounter a bug, please let me know via Tweet. I'll find out about it much faster that way.

------------------------

CONTROLS:
Arrows - movement
X - Wait
R - Restart

INSTRUCTIONS:
Move the messages to the terminals. Keep the messages away from the viruses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#147Humor3.18
#200Fun3.52
#372Overall3.39
#506Audio2.78
#515Mood3.04
#827Graphics2.67
#844Innovation2.78
#870Theme2.74

Comments

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:08pm

this is really cool! good story and puzzles
My only complaint is that some of the puzzles are really long, so it's kind of annoying if I make one mistake, I have to start all over again. Maybe an undo button would help?

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12am

*points at title screen*

The Z button is the undo button. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

I do like that there's a story in this one :P. At first I thought the puzzle mechanics were gonna be pretty standard, but you mixed it up sufficiently later on. Overall, pretty good!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Great little game! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Wow. I like the title too. nice gameplay

frogcheese says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Clever puzzle game with simple, easy to understand rules and a pretty funny story. I liked it a lot. :)

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Cool puzzle game. I like the ramp up in difficulty across the levels.

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

At first it seems average block pushing game, but it's actually great with viruses, firewalls and antiviruses, which make the game interesting and have good amount of puzzle depth. Kept me playing it for a long time and had a lot of fun.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice humour, and the puzzles get hard very quickly, well done :) Also, "22 levels, I believe" - sleep deprivation getting the better of you? :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Great puzzler. There was a lot to it, you put some thought into the mechanics.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Clever puzzle ideas and I like the sounds, moving was super responsive as well and that was nice too.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:08am

Hi there. Did about 6, up to the first with two-colour receptacles. Good level design and nice text to lead player along. I think the 2-colour needs some explanation.

Hippolyta says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice puzzle game - I like! :-)
Good job!

zatyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:31am

Nice puzzle design. I'd suggest trying to shorten a few of the levels that had many pieces that needed to be moved around, I found them a bit tedious. Things got a whole lot more interesting when additional game elements were introduced.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]