Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PEW PEW PEW PEW

by invi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Master the elements. Find their weaknesses.

You are stranded on a magical square with four different worlds, four unique elements, four dangerous beasts and only one thing to do - PEW PEW PEW PEW.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#50Overall3.91
#101Fun3.70
#143Innovation3.78
#151Mood3.53
#170Graphics3.81
#198Theme3.74
#238Humor2.91
#274Audio3.21

Comments

ming_tea says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

This was fun, and I really liked how the theme fit in.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40am

Holy crap, that's a cool game. Really hard though :o

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

wow. Really creative and enjoyable game. You managed to work an awful lot of mechanics into a tiny four-sided playing field, and that's damn impressive.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

much pew. me likey

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

Tons of fun. I love how frantic it is. Very polished and nice look. Loved the game feel. The camera shakes and particle effects made it very satisfying.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

This was fun and challenging, I also loved its simplicity.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

pew pew pew indeed! Haha stellar game bro! love it!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58am

Great shooting mechanics, and extremely challenging!

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Looks so simple yet very challenging! Awesome work! :D

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Great concept. I basically love anything with different elements. Simple but effective graphics, awesome presentation with the rotation cube. I wish the powers were more unique, though, instead of mostly just being strong against the opposing element.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

You stand on a cube and you can walk by the four sides, each side give you a different kind of bullets. Enemies are spawn on each side and have different weakness.

I like your concepts and pixel arts, but I think you could make the cube bigger so that we can have larger space to react.

Nice job overall!

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05am

Definitely the best game I've played so far for this compo. Everything is just so polished and well done. I did run into a bug where I somehow fell off the cube and was just firing from somewhere in never never land. Just restarted and all was fine though. Great job!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

Stone square guy always gets me. Nice solid gameplay! good use of theme.

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45am

One of the most interesting takes on the theme that I have seen thus far. I think I would have liked to have seen the game a larger size to make it easier to play. Also perhaps a tutorial.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

Shit, it's hard :) Nice presentation

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

Great concept! Game is a lot more fun once you understand each enemy's weakness.

Canyon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

I didn't have a mouse plugged in (just touchpad) so it was kind of frustrating. But I can tell it would be pretty fun with a mouse. Maybe consider adding keyboard only controls as an option? ARROWS to aim and WASD to shoot, or constantly fire and you fire the direction you walk? I don't know. In any case, great work!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

Good game fun but actually hard :D

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37am

Fun! I am very jealous of the amount of polish you managed to put into this. I feel the stone square guy has too much HP, even with using the right element against it. I can never kill it before having to run away from the next wave! Guess I just have to practice jumping over it. :P

Aleph0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Really fun and challenging ! :)

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Pew pew pew pew ! Very fun, beautifull and hard ( especially on laptop :D ) Nice entry !

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Hard, but fun! Shooting things feels really good. Fire is my favorite!

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Excellent concept, and I love the art and sfx. The game is a bit too hard for me, I really wanted to progress more..! Top job though.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very unique style and gameplay is amazing. It was very hard for me, but still very amazing.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Fantastic! So simple but so complex!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

simple idea but really well implemented. felt polished and it was really satisfying to shoot.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Love the different weapon effects, very satisfying feel!

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Great graphics and really well polished but the square wasn't really big enough to react quickly

nicso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Awesome concept, loved it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57am

Wow that's hard. But very replayable.

pa3kc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

Gets hard a bit fast but fun!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Don't know how to survive. Shooting everything still kills me after a few seconds. I really hate the modern type "you only have one life" policy. I want to have 3 or 4 lives at least.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice game. I would prefer the square to be bigger, or the enemies to move slower.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I think I fell in love with your game. Best game so far. This game is looking awesome, great particle effect, simple yet rewarding gameplay, cool sound effects, its hard though :D the little guy could jump a little higher. I hope you do Post Mortem or something, I would love to see how you made the game.

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Ruthless game. Gorgeous though. Love the font choice on that and your website. Game is very well polished, it did take me a second to realise what was going on but I got there eventually. Very pretty game, good sounds. Music might have helped but the rest was lovely.

heterosapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Good concepts and GREAT execution! Look at that level of polish for a 48 hour work.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very clever theme interpretation and a fun thing to play. But I suck at it :p

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I do appreciate a good challenge. Cool game, love the graphics.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Seems interesting, but it's too hard at the start, I think. I couldn't figure it out. Maybe if enemies started a little slower it'd work better.

Good job with everything else though!

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32pm

That was actually pretty cool, though I felt there wasn't much of a connection with the theme. Really fun twist on the Ikaruga "formula". Would've loved if I could jump with space though, and if there was more room for movement (the earth guys took too many hits, so eventually it got hard to dodge them and get to the right element to kill the other guys).

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Very difficult game and at the same time very enjoyable, well done!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I wish I could tell that I liked the experience...unfortunately, I keep dying and dying at the beginning. Guess it isn't my tyme of games X).

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great work on the theme! Super fun.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:38pm

IMO best LD30 game. Highest amount of polish combined with a great and minimalistic concept.

_Rilem says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:23pm

What a fun game, really hard, but fun. I died within ten seconds almost every time :P
My highscore was somewhere near 30 seconds.
Lovely graphics and good soundeffects. Enjoyed it very much :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]