Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tubular: A Game About Tubes

by monosaccharide - Jam Entry

You are a very important space business woman, traveling planet to planet via Space Tube Public Transportation
The color of the tube changes how you interact with the world
Use arrow keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#578Theme(Jam)2.63
#737Graphics(Jam)2.16
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Like many entries Chrome tried its damnedest to stop me playing this.
Ran fine without unpacking, good work on the packaging.
The splash screen is LOL.
Nice use of a humorous concept, though I don't see how it relates to "connected worlds". I'll give you a 3 for that anyway.
Music and sound are respectable.
Graphics are adequate.
The use of mechanics like inverting your controls when you're not paying attention is genius. I legitimately had fun trying to work it out.
Overall, good work, tidy up your art/sound and you'll go far.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Pretty good idea, but pretty difficult and unforgiving. The yellow zones make the game feel boring, and sometimes the purple ones didn't work. I went back down instead of through the tubes once after starting and skipped the last level.
Music is interesting and sound effects are pretty good.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Humorous game, and some interesting twists on the different panels.
I thought all panels of the same color were supposed to work the same, but I found out they didn't the hard way :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

@wolfmother
thanks v much for the feedback

@oinkiguana
yeah, i think the yellow zone was a bad idea tbh

@ikr
thats
not supposed to happen
woops

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Fun and tough. It was very disorienting (in a fun way) when switching between purple and another colour.

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The pacing is done really well. The new colors are introduced at just the right time and do not become overwhelming. Great job!

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Simple, yet effective gameplay.

I had some problems with bugs (as others said) the purple one was not always working, and sometimes the red tube would kill me before I got through, but sometimes not.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Lol! You can pass the level just by going left :D
Not the easiest game and overall pretty interesting combinations of tubes.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]