Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oval Opposites

by Kiwiboi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are two circles trying to dodge falling arrows. You do that by touch a circle which makes it grow, while the other one does the opposite.

This was made with mobile in mind but it works great on desktops too.
Looking forward to trying a bunch of your spacey games.
I hope you enjoy! *cmd+s* urgh

This game is connected with Circling Circles by Linus Lindberg. Our own little play with the theme.

Now also on mobile! @jagekiwi

EDIT: Changed to Kongregate because site before was full of ads! Sorry for the trouble.

UPDATE: The mobile version is now updated thanks to your feedback!
- You now click the side not the circle
- An effect and sound when you get hit
- Lowered volume on music a bit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#141Innovation3.79
#190Overall3.62
#242Mood3.38
#249Audio3.26
#271Fun3.41
#502Graphics3.17
#546Theme3.27
#776Humor2.00

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Lovely game, maybe start a bit easier (smaller total radius ?), but perhaps that's just my ability - tough to balance for the dextrously challenged. Really fun. Good job!

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I can see this playing great on a mobile device. Bit hard to play on anything other than a touch screen. Simple and minimalistic but those are my two favourite things! Audio is good and very relaxing. Good job!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

The music is beautiful. Relaxing and very nicely made game, reminds me of the game "duet". Good job!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Clean graphics are always nice!

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very cool mechanic, quite challenging! Didn't appreciate the ads though...

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@Simon@LD Ads? Are there ads? Hmm I have adblock, guess it must be the websitehoster I'm using? I even paused my adblock but still no ads. Anyone else?

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Took a while to load for me, first thought this was spam after seeing the ads. Looks like legitimate ads, the index.html file has some additional includes from "Free Web Hosting Area". Interesting simple game, thanks :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Oh wow.. guess the site must get money somehow. Didn't realize.

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

@Kiwiboi I used firefox, without any adblocker. Tested it in Chrome just now, everything seems fine there ;)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

@Simon@LD alright that's good well next time I'll use something different, Google Drive stopped working for hosting recently :(

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice mechanic!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

really interesting. The gameplay is a lot of fun and very unique, but the controls could perhaps do with a revamp. Instead of having to click explicitly within the radius of a circle to grow it, things might feel a bit better if you just had to click somewhere on the correct side of a dividing line, similar to how Super Hexagon works on mobile.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

@burgerdare yeah thanks for the thought, I considered that at start but then I just forgot ^^ It can be annoying when you have to get small and then quickly change for sure, I'll look into that!

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Not working in firefox.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Ads confused me at first, but when the game started, I really liked it! I can see it being really fun with a touch screen too, maybe even expanded for there to be multiple pairs of orbs of different colors. The minimalism was very pleasing but the audio seemed a little sad. I'd totally play this on my phone!

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

A nice little game - I like the mechanics and presentation!
Very well done!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Very nice, I enjoy it!
I'd add keyboard controls (a/d or left/right should be equivalent to clicking on the left/right circle), and collision effects (sound and visual) and call it done :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

@Majko It should if you wait long enough, but not sure why it's so slow and I get why you don't want to wait that long if there are ads. Otherwise Chrome and adblock are friends ;)

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I'm loving how this pairs with Linus Lindberg's game as a unique take on the theme. Mostly the same things I said there apply here, except that I think the music is a bit better for this game; however, the mechanic is perhaps slightly more interesting for Linus's game. Otherwise, both have wonderfully subdued graphics and gameplay mechanics that set just the right mood. And I absolutely love minimalist games. Congrats.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice and simple idea! Would like to see post-compo mobile version :)

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

Worked fine for me with mouse and I made it to level 16. Music is relaxing, and I can see this being built out into a nice mobile game that falls under "Zen games". Reminded me of a simplified "Osmos".

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10am

Wow! Great use of theme. This is very innovative. Love the soothing music.

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:54pm

simple and effective concept, good job

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I got to 28. That is very tricky, but I like it. I can definitely see how it would fit Android nicely. Also, I think the music fits nicely and the graphics are very appropriate. Good work!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Never played anything quite like this before-- abstract but fun, with great music.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice game, congrats!

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

The page seems to be down for me. I'll download the source and try that.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

@Canyon The site works fine for me.

Let me know if this happens to more people.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Only got 19 or so. I loved this, especially the explosive decompression the second circle seems to undergo at the end o.o Music is a little loud, I think, but relaxing and good to listen to. I think there may need to be a bit more feedback of some kind (audiovisual, I mean) in order to make the game really addictive. Agree with other posters that the controls could use some tweaking.

It used to be called "Curvy Companion," right? I think that name was a bit more eye-catching. Thank you for the game! It's really good.

Maxom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Brilliant Idea!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

That was really enjoyable, definitely a mobile experience first. Loved how the final oval grows during the final moments.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

Love it! So simple/basic, but fun, novel, addictive. :)

It's amazing what a diff good bg music makes, too.

WillysJerry says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Awesome idea, Great work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:09am

Simple and fun. The music is nice but strikes me as not quite fitting.

glbs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:14pm

You've developed an interesting mechanics that is fun and challenging to play, and the minimalist aspect is pretty elegant.
It's just a shame the game doesn't offer much variation but you might have been out of time. Good entry anyway !

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:38pm

@Victory Garden Thanks for the feedback, already fixed some of the things you mentioned. Not sure what to add audiovisually even though I agree, you have any ideas?
At first I named the name it has now, then I changed to "Curvy Couple", then back to this cause I had mobile stuff already done with this name.

@glbs Thanks. Yeah I was about 12 hours late and had to make time for some other things. If you have any ideas regarding variations then please let me know, I consider everything for future updates on mobile, it's soon out on iPhone too.

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:13am

Cool mechanic, the difficulty ramped up nicely. The theme you two have is really cool as well :)

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:14pm

After playing its kind of obvious that this game is connected to 'circling circles' ( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=20066 ).

But i think you would both get a better theme score if you wrote that idea in the description. :)
Nice game!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very cool!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice. Over style worked well for this type of game. I thought the game mechanic was a great idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]