Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bounty of Corruption

by Tom Gardiner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A meteor from another planet has landed on Earth, bringing vicious monsters to destroy all humanity. Luckily, you were somehow the only survivor left on the planet, therefore your task is to kill anything that moves. Good luck!

Terribly sorry about the introduction and outro screens, I was rushed for time. Hopefully the amount of work I put into making the game fun to play will pay off. Thanks!

Controls: WASD to move, look with mouse, click to shoot.

Edit: I fixed a game crashing bug (because of a single variable off by one number!), which is allowed, so the game should be playable in its entirety now!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#18Fun4.07
#22Audio4.03
#73Overall3.83
#160Humor3.13
#188Graphics3.76
#209Mood3.43
#828Theme2.83
#1005Innovation2.47

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31am

Cool game :)

alvarop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15am

Very, very cool game. Nice job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Awesome fast paced gameplay, greatly polished feel. I ran out of ammunition too fast because shooting feels so good! :D

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Can't play windows games.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Great game! A lot of fun, nice graphics and wonderful music. Good job!

Muush says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

This is one of the most fun games I've played during this jam. Congratulations man!

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Screenshots had me expecting a Nuclear Throne clone, but I was pleasantly surprised with the execution and general polish (especially on the map screen). Good job!

ceosol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I am horrible at these kinds of games. However, this was fun and addicting. The camera shifts were not incredibly smooth for me, it made it difficult to see enemies in the direction I was running. I think that could be fixed by zooming out by maybe 25 or 50%. This was very well executed otherwise. Good entry.

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great fun, nice music too

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hey, you've achieved great feel while shooting with the shaking. Also graphics of shoots are nice, it seems like these can really harm someone :). But the real fun begins when you get the machine gun, loved it :) Great job!

And thx for checking out my game :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I enjoyed this. The movement was slightly too fast, but it made for a fast paced environment. Ammo tended to be too scarce as well. For a 48 hr entry, this was pretty stellar.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Oh this one is nothing but action. And I'm glad it is! Very enjoyable, very cool!

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Great game! Had a problem with bullets being absorbed while firing next to walls.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really well done, especially for being a 48 hour game! The graphics and audio made me reminisce about Super Crate Box, and the game was VERY fun to play. Not a whole lot of innovation I felt, but overall 5/5!

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Very fun game! Music is so cool.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Plays very similarly to Nuclear Throne, hehe. The game felt quite polished, lots of little nice effects. Nice work!

radmars says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:09am

Nice, this is really well executed and fun. I was gonna complain about variety of gameplay and then I immediately unlocked the machine gun :P Also once I think I spawned stuck inside a cactus, haha. Nice music too. Great work.

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really fun entry. The variety of weapons was excellent, and the music was awesome.

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I wish I can play this in osx....

Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:30pm

My game was quite similar to yours :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]