Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SLIMILIZATION

by jacklehamster - Jam Entry

In the beginning, the Earth was without form, and void.

But the Sun shone upon the sleeping Earth and deep inside the brittle crust massive forces waited to be unleashed.

The seas parted and great continents were formed. The continents shifted, mountains arose. Earthquakes spawned massive tidal waves. Volcanoes erupted and spewed forth fiery lava and charged the atmosphere with strange gases.

Into this swirling maelstrom of Fire and Air and Water the first stirrings of Life appeared: tiny organisms, cells, and amoeba, clinging to tiny sheltered habitats.

... and they looked f*cking ugly.

================================================

[Edit] : Uploaded Post-Jam version on Newgrounds, for which I just added Medals.

================================================

This game has a mysterious secret, which has to do with the theme. (I plan to reveal it a week before LD30 voting ends.) Can you uncover it?
[spoiler: http://jacklehamster.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/slimilization-the-big-reveal/]

For anouncements about Dobuki Games, please follow: https://twitter.com/jacklehamster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#96Humor(Jam)3.36
#225Innovation(Jam)3.33
#266Mood(Jam)3.31
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#301Overall(Jam)3.34
#465Audio(Jam)2.83
#471Theme(Jam)2.98

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I loved the artwork. Pretty fun game :)

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

that`s a nice game! I like the mechanics, they`re pretty solid. I like the way the slimes move and behave around each other !

I wish you had put something on the background,like grass or so, because this solid green background makes it look like the objects are just floating around.

Also,what are the ponds for? I didn`t get it D:

I also don`t understand how the game fits the connected world theme.

But overall it was nice and fun to watch my slimes take over the world and build several piramids, while humping trees and tents. keep up the good work! =D

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Love the art and sounds :)

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Well, I took some risks about the theme. Rather than talking about it I'm hoping players discover on their own how it relates to it. I might get a crappy rating for theme, but meh...

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53am

Played and got 40 slimes then I got a message that wonder was built really far away. Tried looking for that other wonder, but lost my way and couldn't find my own town ;(. Fun though! bookmarked for inspiration.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

Pretty interesting game. Could use some more explanation as to how everything works. I didn't realize for quite awhile that there was actually another slimilization nearby. The art style and character design was pretty good.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:39am

Very fun game, even if i had no idea about what to do xD

Citsua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

I have no idea what the hell I just played but it was awesome.
And... was this game online o_o ? Or was it the AI suddenly invading my city and creating ponds and trees everywhere x) ?

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very interesting take on the theme, and cute graphics.

I think my civilization has been assimilated by another one, though.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Cute graphics, but I've really got little idea what to do. I've discovered the other civilisation, though.

But seriosly, what's up with the names of wonders in faraway land? It just seems so... pointless. >.<

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Fun and nicely done -- peaked around 85 slimes and met the pink and blue colonies - not sure if this was supposed to be the connecting worlds?

shatterhand says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:20am

The secret is that we are actually playing with other people, right ? The other colonies are other people who are connected to the game and playing it, right?

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really interesting approach nice!

Spoiler Alert!
I was just getting started, then I am surprised by a house appearing next to my colony. I was like UHHHH WHAT

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:39am

The graphics are cute, but the sound effects get pretty annoying. For an idle game it would be better to not have so much noise.

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:25am

Graphics were cute as hell, while the Japanese schoolgirl talk was confusing as hell, and then ponds and trees and a slime died and I don't know why and HOW DID I JUST SPEND TEN MINUTES IN SLIME WORLD???

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:51am

Those little creatures are very funny. The sounds starts to annoy as the populations grows. I really missed some instructions how the game works and it's easy to lose your creatures if you move around too much. It would be nice to listen to some background music too.
On the other hand, the game is very innovative making me want to see it more polished with a initial tutorial. :)

shatterhand says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:41am

Yeah, I am pretty sure now this is an online game, and that's the "secret" that links it to the theme. You can even see where's the other players are pointing on screen.

It would be nicer if there was some way to interact with them.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:21am

Ah, well, if it's online, that would explain some things; especially some questionable wonders names...

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

neat

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:07am

cute and interesting, not sure if any relation with the theme, at least when it comes to gameplay aspects(storywise you can contend that the creatures are from another planet, dimension or something other-worldly related, humane imagination is the limit when it comes to a story related theme)

kostka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:32am

Great game, I wanted to get 100slimes but they started to die quite quickly near 98 :( even with 2 miracles.
Some of them seemed to be lost, most of them were lazy and didn't want to go anywhere far from group.(I made spots and trees everywhere near village to expand it)
And unfortunately I didn't meet any other village during 1 hour game:(
But it is great game, it would be awesome if there where more things to do. Nice sound, fun graphics. Good job.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:29am

It was great when they started talking with each other :D

Fun game to play, though it takes some time to build up your population, but it is part of the magic I guess. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:38am

Hi there. Fun sim world you've built there. Love the sounds and animations. Wonder nice idea (AoE ?). Good job!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Cute little game! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

jacklehamster says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Thanks all for trying out and commenting on my game. Some of you figured out the secret, but anyway it's revealed here: http://jacklehamster.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/slimilization-the-big-reveal/

Managore says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:26am

Fantastic game, I built a dozen wonders and had a ridiculously big town before I stopped playing. Like others have said, it would be nice if there was a way to return to your town, especially since the game encourages you to go out and look for other civilizations. I'd also love to see a world map, showing all the civilizations that have been built.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice game, congrats!

ViKing Games says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Very fun use of the theme, and can get very funny.
However, the graphics and audio are relatively average, and there's not much to build. More structures would be a blast!

ViKing Games says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Very fun use of the theme, and can get very funny (especially when naming monuments immaturely).
However, the graphics and audio are relatively average, and there's not much to build. More structures would be a blast!

ViKing Games says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Oops, double post. Not sure how that happened. Sorry!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

Wasn't able to see any other civilisations (although that might be because I was playing this pretty late at night) but the general gameplay concept is actually pretty interesting.

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:34am

Very fun game and creatures, I love the Smilies design and animation. It is very long to grow up the smilization: I stopped at only just 5 smilies. I used more than 20 ponds... but I didn't understand what are the ponds effects??

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Those slimes look kinda stupid but I like them XD.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]