Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds of Men

by kdunee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Windows/Linux build is superior to the web player in terms of performance, however that shouldn't be much of a problem.

Gameplay video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g85zQtd4j2g

Please let me know if you encounter any game-breaking bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Theme3.91
#99Graphics4.00
#153Overall3.67
#205Innovation3.64
#249Audio3.26
#272Mood3.33
#299Fun3.36
#843Humor1.89
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24am

Nice graphics :)

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Thanks, gillenew :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Feels very polished for an LD game! Love the voice declaring the remaining population! :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Wow! this is really fun! it doesn't take too long top play and you nailed the theme :D

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Planet glow could be more pronounced. Took a while to know which planet to click first. Very polished entry and fun game once I got past the initial confusion. Lovely graphics too.
Great job!

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

First nice game I played yet. Very nice idea and execution.
Well done!

MidgeS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I really like it. Sound and graphics are awesome. :)
Can be quite difficult if you get a bad spawn, but it poses a great challenge.

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Very nice, I played for quite some time. My only complaint would be that it felt unintuitive that I had completely protected some planets, but I still lost because some outer planets got hit. Also, it needs some sort of high score :)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I enjoyed this game, although it was a bit confusing at first.

kostka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Very nice game, everything works fine.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I liked this game, it had a nice concept is really quiet unique. I had a great time playing this. :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Just lovely game, can't believe its for Compo.

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I like the graphics :) Took me a while to understand the gameplay , tough. pretty difficult, but I like games with simple mechanics \o

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

The graphics and audio work well. Overall looking and sounding polished. The zooming in for the planets is especially impressive (although not useful for gameplay). Nice touch on the voice prompt.

Gameplay wise, it seems like an interesting take on the tower defence concept, with a twist on resource management (powering worlds/satellites) and tower placement. The gameplay suffers from a lack of a goal or end game though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Hey there. Good message in this game, stop building war machines and start on the Arks already people... Like the music and gameplay, felt very doomed... Good job!

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I didn't really understand how to play properly until I watched your gameplay video, but found the game really fun once I did.

Extremely hectic near the end when I had to keep my old planets connected, while trying to safely connect to the remaining few, and at the same time keep shielding the old ones.

Very enjoyable!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Wow! I thought it was a 2d game, but that I zoomed and smiled :D
Very nice, but I could not figure, how to connect the planets.

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Interresting game. Like the abstract style.
In video it seems so simple, but for me it was very hard...

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Interesting take on the theme, and very polished and shiny!

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I really liked the fast paced gameplay, got really stressful (in a good way) when your trying to quickly link planets and place the counter measures. Even though the controls are really simple it took me a little while to figure it out, perhaps you could give players a short duration to link 1-2 planets and get a hang of the controls before starting the asteroids.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]