Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Long Way Home

by MRvanderPants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was just the second time I joined the Ludum Dare with a Compo Entry, it was a bit stressful, but I am pretty happy with the result. I managed to squeeze all the planned functions in, and even some extra ones, like the tutorial for instance. Downside of this is, that I didnt have much time to create a lot off levels, so every mechanic comes along only once or twice.

My entry, The Long Way Home, is a mini puzzle platformer. I call it a 'mini' because there are only 5 puzzles in the game. Because off the lack of time and planning skills on my side, I simply had no time to create them. There are probably a lot of bugs because of that same reason too. Sorry about that :) Anyway, in this game you play as both a child and a ghost, who need to work together to get home. Both the characters have their own dimension in which they can move around and interact with objects. The child can shove crates around for example, and the ghost can sneak past enemies. Even some obstacles change in the different worlds, some platforms lose their solid form, and drop everything on top of it on the ground, for example.

The game itself is about a child that became lost in some spirit temple that connects the ghostly world with the human world and gets help from a friendly ghost, which will lead the child back home. But there are a lot off obstacles they need to face before the child is back home again.

Controls are W,A,S,D or the arrow keys. This game was made in Game Maker 8.1, and is only available for Windows. Sorry again.

Anyway, thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Mood3.64
#129Audio3.54
#184Graphics3.77
#390Fun3.23
#565Humor2.31
#618Overall3.15
#662Theme3.12
#790Innovation2.84
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

The audio and the graphics are amazing! I really like the game. There is some kind of bug tho which switches the characters without my input.

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

Cute idea. The platforms that are non-solid in the ghost world took me a few tries to figure out.

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Godd entry! really good mood!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great idea, the puzzles were good but some were a little confusing and I didn't understand what I was meant to be doing. I died for some reason and was unsure why and my characters seemed to randomly switch occasionally. However the graphics and audio are really nice and add to the games mood.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Nice graphics and audio! The game is pretty rough around the edges but somewhat playable, why do the platforms drop whatever they are holding when controlling the ghost? feels little nonsensical.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

Cool game! took me a while to figure out how to solve certain levels.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Nicely done.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:12am

Very moody game. Graphics is extremely detailed. Liked audio aswell!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Nice graphics and sound, I also got the random character
switch happening a couple of times.
Good entry

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice mood and music. Had some glitches and mechanic is quite strange, but I like this little game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:49am

Pretty interesting, and the music is very nice.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:18pm

My game kept constantly switching between my characters while I was using the WASD controls; when I switched to the arrow keys, though, it stopped. Really nifty idea, I like the music and the art, the gameplay could just use some more polish (or, at least, explaining.)

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

Good job!

Tosic says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice game, would be cool if it would have background sounds.
It gave me some errors as well but I was able of playing it!

kyru says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nicely done, the look and gameplay are really well done. Similar use of theme to others but I like what you did.

spartangeek says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

good job on music and graphics. Possible improvements on: controls and bug fixes

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:30pm

The music and mood are excellent!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]