Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Rush

by Dabuuker - Jam Entry

The aim is to connect three planets with the same color as fast as you can in a maximum time of 20 seconds. After a succesful connection the timer resets.

Press, hold and release SPACE to push yourself away from a planet's orbit.

Credits:
Gameplay - Tanel
Graphics - Toomas
Background music from http://soundimage.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Innovation(Jam)3.67
#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#200Mood(Jam)3.44
#221Graphics(Jam)3.78
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Cool! Nice graphics!

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice Game. Like the concept. But wondering if a thrust/gravity control system would make it more fun.

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Very nice game. Note that in case of two very near planets of the same colors, you can jump from one to another ad vitam aeternam to farm the score.

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Well done, the mechanic is nice. Have to be careful not to go directly to the other planets or else you end up going paiiinfully slowly around them and losing. Overall, nice job.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

250! Simple enough to grasp, took me a while to master the timing but got a reasonable score in the end. Had some lucky longshots too!

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Quite nice. The gravity thing is a good idea! The controls aren't very tight, but it's a good idea overall.

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Pretty nice zen game, even if also really difficult. I loved the music and the overall feel of it. Even if, yeah... you can cheat by just finding 2 close planets of the same color and farming score with them. But that's an easy fix, and for a prototype, it's really good.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really cool idea love the graphics

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

Innovation is awesome!

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great simple concept - the timing was tricky but I still found it a little addictive trying to survive for more than a few triples. Nice work !

concalf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

loved it, but it took me some time to get used to the controls. first thought was you would just keep your direction instead of pushing away 90 degrees - even though it is clear when looking at the screenshot :D

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:19am

Hi, nice idea. It feels as though the depart orbit should be at a tangent to current orbit rather than right-angle to it. Good space sound.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:20pm

cool idea. the aiming was way to hard for me. i think the rotation speed factor was to damn high :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]