Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

On the edge of Earth: 5000

by Hypnohustla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrows to move and use machinery.
Hold down while moving to run!

Some computers need a bit of a beating to show the correct data. ;)

---

You're the sole operator of a space ship assigned for Project Connected Worlds.
It's YOUR duty to search for dead planets and revitalize them for the use of New Earth Federation!

Revitalize the nearby planet and win the game.

---

Tools used:

- Unity with Playmaker add-on
- Photoshop for graphics
- Propellerheads Reason for sounds

The button sounds were recorded with the help of my trusty old Super Nintendo! :) How can one machine have all the buttons and switches you need!?

---

Other thoughts:
I know the theme connection might be a bit far fetched, but what can you do with a theme like this? I'm happy with it though. :)
The whole process was surprisingly painless, everything came together quite naturally. I don't feel nearly as exhausted now as with the previous Ludum Dares.

Ok, go shoot that missile now! And make sure you hit the planet!

PS: Ten points to anyone who can name all the movies that inspired this game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Audio4.15
#12Overall4.22
#23Mood4.12
#24Humor3.98
#26Graphics4.37
#59Fun3.84
#224Innovation3.60
#643Theme3.14

Comments

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

Really well done. Solid all around. Love the running animation!

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43am

Love all the little systems! That's great.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very cool and polished! I love the intro theme!

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

Wow, really well polished. An amazing accomplishment in 48 hours :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Great entry, very climatic, love the phisics.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

I'm astonished, i freaking love you and your game.
And i thought we had a good presentation in our game. XD your game is like amazing. For just having 48 hours.

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

Great game! really liked it!

Still don't understand how you can calculate the distance with terminal C?

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

It took me forever to work out how to get the info I needed from console C, but when I did, I enjoyed the mechanic. Brilliantly done. The toilet was also an excellent touch.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08am

This is just fantastic, great mood, nice pixel art, nice animations, great attention to detail and funny! Wish there was more.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Great entry so polished and music works perfectly.

Absoulutely loved your game in the last Ludum Dare so was looking forward to seeing your entry for this one, didn't disappoint.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Great game all around, love it!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Damn CPU, it wins all the time against me...
Really pleasant to transform dead planets like this.

Actions are cohesive and intuitive, as usual I like a lot your audio and your direction.
I recognized 0 films, I should buy some cultural knowledge.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Amazing. I'm more than a little in awe of this, as I am all of your games. Great atmosphere, visuals, music, the lot. I managed to rejuvenate the planet and the puzzles were pitched just right - I had to stop and think but didn't get too frustrated. Special mention for the cheating CPU and the floating stool! Top marks!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Awesome. The game view reminds me of the cutaway scenes in Wes Anderson movies.

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Love this so much. That moment when you open the hatch to go outside and you lose gravity while the camera zooms out was awesome. Keep up the great work!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Star Trek, Star wars, Bladerunner, Darkstar, (I guess: Gravity, 2001: A Space Odyssey, flash Gorden, )... I don't know anymore ^^

I like the artwork very much. This game is so awesome looking.. it feels very polished. Good job man!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

This was pretty fun, took me moment to realize what to do but it was simple, well executed and atmospheric.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

My favourite so far, polished and hilarious!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

This game was very good. Better than half the drivel that currently infests the flash/tiny game portals.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Unfortunately I'm having real trouble figuring out what to do which is why my rating on fun is a little lower. It's got a great presentation, good music and cute sound effects, and a cool concept, I just don't really know what to do.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

"I'm Commander Shepard, and this is my favourite game on the Citadel."

Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Very impressive!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

This is my favourite so far. Really cool game you made here.

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

One of my favorite games so far. 5/5

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

That... was amazing!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

The music created the perfect atmosphere for your game. I love all of the attention to detail and little touches you put into the game. Also, I have a feeling that the CPU cheats at rock paper scissors... or I'm extremely unlucky. I was impressed when I opened the airlock that the objects floated up!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Pooooo in Spaaace!
Really enjoyed playing this. A brilliant little game.
Plus I may have created more life on other planets through bacteria contamination via multiple toilet use.

rejooh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

My absolute favorite, everything is so polished and fun. The toilet, the music switches and the computer shaking and of course the star trek reference. But I don't wont to spoil everything, go play it for yourself. Amazing job!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very oldschool art style and I like it. Plenty things to do on the spaceship... and the zero gravity scene, just perfect :D

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:47am

From opening doors to going outside, all actions feel great.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:26am

Really, really awesome! Polish up the wazoo!

The end mood is just ruined by that twatter thingie.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I went flying into space, and it was beautiful.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

A really polished game for 48 hours.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Cute game, love the graphics, well done. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I really loved all of the little interactions hiding on the ship, it really sold the sense of the world and the isolation and drudgery that went with space ship life (but without actually being boring). This is one of my favorites!

fizzd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:34pm

very impressive, I am in awe :o The audio is great, the sounds are satisfying, the little puzzles were a delight - especially the (spoiler)


the shaking one, and i love how everything could be played one handed :) Fives across the board!

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Excellent, will be top 3 !

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Great game! I love the art and music. Well done.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

This game has a really cool feel to it, I love the graphics and animations, reminds me of the film Silent Running.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

Phenomenal. I'm amazed you did so much in such a short time, and yet now that I think about it, the game isn't really very long.

It seems inspired by "Dark Star", "2001", and "Wrath of Khan" but I'm sure that's not all of them.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Great game! Do want more levels/chapters! Keep going! 5/5

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

that game was so simple, but still so much fun. Extremely polished, loved all the interactions and the animations, and any game with floating turds is obviously 10/10 lol great job! Bookmarked and will play again when bored :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Awesome work. Particularly liked console C, and the zero-g sanitary evacuation system. Ooh and the thing with the gravity and the breathing!

rantt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This was fantastic, I loved everything about it 5/5. Great job :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

This game is great. So many details, so many useless little things to improve the experience. I felt really lonely, and pretty happy to be. I didn't get how to use the C Terminal (nor A I think), but got the planet of my first try anyway. Maybe were I just lucky?
Too bad it doesn't really fit the theme.

I'd like to see the movie that inspired this game. Reminded me a bit of 2001 Space Odyssey

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Very nice game! Tricky idea with beating computer, i like it.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice game, congrats!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very nice concept and brilliant execution. I loved the detail of the rock paper scissor game xD

Oxeren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

Amazing! Very well made.

pythong says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

poop into space! and then drift around your poop!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

My favorite so far.
i pooped 3 times
nice touch to have it floating around outside when you put in the battery

i'd love to see a whole game like this

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Very nice, I love the sounds and the mood of the game! :D

Perjoka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great game, well done!

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I really love art style, the sound and music you have there, but I found the puzzle a bit too easy.

And I'm going to bet that one of the movies that inspired you have to be Moon, being the only worker in the station :P

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great entry, this was almost perfect. I loved every minute of wander in this beautiful spaceship. Bravo!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Such a cute game and well polished. I really love the little things you added, especially the floating poop hahahah!!! It took me ages to find out how to get the distance from Terminal C, and then I didn't know where to point the turret - I just shot randomly, and then finally noticed the planet in the background. Nicely done :)

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

cool graphics, cool design, cool music, cool character (simple worker with only a simple mission).
puzzle part is a little easy, but anyway...
(the arcade games will be really hard in the futur...)

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Overall, really great! I think that figuring out how to show the distance on terminal c was a little too obtuse but after that it made perfect sense. I think this could be expanded on with more planets and perhaps a narrative too. Really like the art-style, sound and the concept seems really interesting.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

great work, would like to see it expanded to full-title.

mactinite says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

This was really awesome. Really gave me that Kubrick feel.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I enjoyed pooping 30 times in a row. Great graphics, nicely executed!

jawm says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

very good game. well polished, great audio. difficult to understand initially but great overall

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Wow I had such a laugh playing this xD Ingenious!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

While somewhat short, it's very, very detailed and polished entry. Loved the surroundings, loved the gravity, loved the way music changes depending on distance and gets completely mute when the character ventures into space. Too bad the use of theme is somewhat forced... ^^"

Also, the rock-paper-scissors machine was absolutely hilarious. I mean, I lost with the CPU 6 or 7 times in a row, what can be funnier than that?!
(probably putting in a fake screenshot of player winning in CPU, while it's impossible in game)

Mase says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very attractive and cohesive graphics. The droll humor is great as well.

The pitch terminal is confusing because of its red-herring display; I expected it to act like the other terminal... it took me a couple attempts before I realized how simple it was.

Also... the targeting laser shifts off of the planet if the player leaves the control room.

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

*rather, the laser appears to shift. It's just a visual issue...

lekochen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

I loved it! Great atmosphere, clever puzzles, excellent music and nice pixelated world (and poop), well done!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

So good - this really needs to be built into something even bigger. Had the classic LucasArts feel, but fresh.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

+ humor 5/5
+ animation
- theme
Remember me of the LucasArts Games. Well done!!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:43am

I cannot name a single movie that inspired that :(

Good job. I mean REALLY good job. First game where I give 5 stars in multiple categories this LD.

Congrats!

Birke says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Cool little game. I would have liked it to be a bit more obvious what to do by providing more clear feedback to the player when doing something wrong like having the wrong distance or pitch put in. Visuals were great.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Amazing game! This one deserves a place in top 10 imo.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

...I think I might give you 5 stars for everything... Yes. The amount of details you put in that game in 48 hours is incredible.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Amazing for a 48h entry ! I was a bit lost at first but I finally figured what to do...and it was already the end.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

It feels kinda like The Jetsons!
Great job..

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:54pm

very cool little game!

EndingChaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Fantastic aesthetic! Very impressed!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:35am

Hi there. Like the humour, the paper scissors stone computer, the mundanity, very Dark Star x Hitch-Hiker's Guide. That you can rest in chairs and put your feet up. Shaking the screen, airlock. So much you did that is fun for player... good job!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Great game!!! all of this in 48 hours wow...

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice game! I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would from the beginning. Nice Star Trek sequence :)

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:32am

Brilliant! Reminded me of the movie Silent Running (for some reason)... I love everything about this game. Just... brilliant work!

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:18am

What a great experience! Thank you!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Pssst! You are in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXaZCdM5i9o

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:04am

Love the graphics, good job overall!

mechabit says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:47am

I guess Moon and Silent Running as influences and naturally space odyssey. Perfect animation and humour and mood.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:59am

I pooped into space. Twice. 5/5. Game reminded me of the movie Silent Running (early 70s). The slow walk speed bothered me a bit as I had to wander from console to console a lot. I wish the terminals were marked ABCD and I wish I could bring the instructions up anywhere. Simple polish stuff. Overall, fantastic effort. The art, animation and sounds are terrific. I love being a loner on a space station. One of my fav entries.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Great job, took me a while to figure pressing down arrow allows you to run.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:29am

I adore ! Everything is so well designed, build, polished... ! It doesn't really fit the theme. But anyway this is brilliant ! Huge congrats :)

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very clever game, I loved it :D ! Maybe the instructions was a bit too much, I'd like to find by myself. The no-gravity scene was awesome !

Jod says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great balance between sound and graphics. Love the little storyline and the ambient storytelling. The poor man must be bored out of his mind!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:21am

Very solid, with attention to lots of little details. A very pleasant experience.

E_Roberts says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:35am

I actually registered for this site, just so I could comment. ;) Love the game, I especially love the “Silent Running” feel of the game. If you have not seen the 2009 Movie “Moon” you really should. I would love to see what you came up with as a sequel if you added that influence to this idea.

What I specifically love about this game is the exploration of it. Not labeling the terminals is a brilliant, if a frustrating at first, move!

I will be looking for your next submission!

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:12am

Awesome entry, very high quality! I had many difficulties with the console A... more than 5 minutes to target well the planet. X'D

sbarrio says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Incredible entry. My favorite so far. Loved every single detail of it, from the actual use of doors, terminals and chairs to the real gameplay. The animation is really nice and the music fits like no other would.

Congratulations on it!

P.S- Extra points for the usable bathroom!

sol_hsa says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:27am

Played this through without reading instructions. Most of the time I had no idea what's going on, so I assumed I was trying to get some kind of communication link going. Then I, apparently, uh, blew up the moon, and got a "the end". That was a bit wtf-y. =)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Great atmosphere

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:56am

It took a bit long to understand. And once you understand, you complete the game in 30 seconds. Too bad. But a nice game overall.

And I think I found a bug: after opening the door that leads to open space, you can open the door left and wander in the ship whith low gravity. Nothing too serious, though.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:06pm

lovely feel to this game, i love the smooth animations too - that guy walks so nicely!

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:36pm

this is gonna have to be a 5/5, too brilliant haha

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]