Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ConnectTheWorlds

by mrexcessive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thank you for trying my little game.

Built with lovely tools: Construct2, Audacity, Gimp

Multiple-lunar-lander, trek your way across the Galaxy.
Probably easier to play on devices with touch-screens (update: I am trying to add keyboard shortcuts, before deadline)
(update2: Keyboard shortcuts for Landing added - see ingame help text on lander screen)


HTML5 so should work on any platform Browser and Javascript permitting.


Tested on W8, W7 (IE11 and IE9), iPhone5, Nexus7.
Please let me know if you find any problems.
Contact details in source if you have problems getting it to run from source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#197Humor3.03
#818Audio2.18
#886Mood2.59
#904Fun2.63
#918Theme2.65
#965Graphics2.43
#1002Overall2.72
#1049Innovation2.39

Comments

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

Good humor and nice graphics!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

Fun to play, but need some polishing.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

Great game!

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Web version on pc: I can burn fuel but cannot change orientation of the ship. I tried arrows, wasd, mouse - nothing works.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

@pusheax Indeed you can't change orientation of ship... it's just a vertical descender - that was on the wish list... but time is a pirate's monkey - or something equally profound. Anyway, isn't it hard enough like it is ?!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

Took me a while to get used to the controls, but I managed to land sometimes. I did get stuck in the help once (needed to refresh the page out of it).

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

Nice to play, but sound little scary ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Liked the different screens but had a bug where one time the crash landing on the planet seemed to bug out and the lander just stayed in space not moving down.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

I crash so much at start but finally get it ! crazy sound xD, i like it

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Simple and rough landing game. I got feel text is good.
I wanted more decent ending scene.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

Some of those planets are difficult to land on, but I kept going back for more. Great humour too.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Thank you for your comments.
You can get out of the Help by just continuing to click on the ? until all help pages have been displayed...

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Hello there. I love games like lander. Nice to have a fully mobile device compatibility. Great game and very challenging. The sound is ehhh remarkable ;)

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I just don't find the relation with the theme but the game is great ! It's so hard to land and i like it.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Took me a while to understand the landing controls. Maybe it could start with engine power and burn duration set to 1 by default? Once understood, they were smooth. I also liked the planets screen.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

It took me a few crashes to figure out what I was doing wrong. After that, I made a couple landings. Interesting take on the theme. Nice job!

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

The scenario is fun, graphics are OK, gameplay is cool but I can only control the engine with the mouse, on my keyboard the 123/456 keys don't work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I appreciate your humor.

Is there a limited amount of fuel or something? On one of the planets I could only burn a few times before it stopped and made an error sound.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The controls are so simple I expected it to be repetitive, but there's a good progression and difficulty curve here.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

@awesomeusername if you read the text from each planet... one of them gives your ships computer a virus.. which means it forgets the power+burn settings you have set. There may be (!ahem) an antidote on a later planet.
@kidanger not sure why keys not working for you... Numpad keys or main ones ? The app has to have focus... other than that I can't reproduce the problem. What browser,version and OS do you have ?

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Landing ship is way too easy! Good idea tho!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Ahh good old lunar lander. Every comment and planet description was hilarious. Great job, lots of fun =D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

It was fun until the computer started to forget my settings - then it was just impossible! Still, good job

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

humour is good sound less

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

I liked the saying when you click on the planets. cool game.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

This was so funny, and well made. The question marked really helped out so that was important, and great dialogue! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very cool concept. Really liked how each planet had a description. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08am

Nice graphics, interesting descriptions, landing was a little difficult. Not bad.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Soon worked it out :)

Would be nice if the planets had custom artwork.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

@All thank you for lovely feedback!
@WillEdwards... yes customising more than just the planet surface was in the original plan, but I ran out of time unfortunately.

maad9 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Simple and fun. Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43am

pretty nice

jawm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04pm

audio is very loud

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09pm

@jawm apologies for audio, I did a lot of testing on small devices like iPhone and Nexus and it wasn't so OP there.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

The graphics is abit of a letdown, but otherwise good try.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Simple and fun. Nice job.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Sounds are disturbing, especially that alarm. Gameplay is good but everything needs polishing.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice little thrust-em-up. :D

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

interesting idea. a little too twitchy at places, and the audio could use some tuning, but nicely done!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Interesting take on the lander genre, though the physics seem rather wonky and the game gets a little silly at the really high-gravity planets.

I think I must have not done the levels in the intended order, as I got the message about fixing the virus before I got the virus in the first place.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I struggled a lot with the keyboard controls, but I enjoyed it once I started using a touch-screen. Satisfying to finally beat all the planets! :D

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This game was worth every second! Great job

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I played the web version and was not able to alter anything when landing on Sunnydale, I just kept crashing...

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I like the humour of this game. The game-play, however, gets a bit boring quite fast. Still it was fun to play for a couple of minutes.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

That was some nasty radiation i hit there. Nice game, could have had some more features to it.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Felt a lot like Lunar Lander, only a lot less frustrating :D. I liked the Hitchhiker reference (I didn't see the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast thankfully).

Also please tell me that Sunnydale was a Buffy reference :P

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

@AndrewKennedy - yes a Buffy Reference.
@Nerd Burglars - you need to select both button 1's, and then click burn. It's based on how the Apollo craft engines were 'programmed' (very... very... roughly) - You couldn't have a human try for a 1.753 second burn... we aren't that good at timing things.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

It cost me a bit to figure out how to land on the planets, once I did this becomes fun.Love the completely impartial summary of the landings... and references to Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy maybe? :)

alhvi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice game, took me a while to figure out the controls(web desktop). Maybe you could start each landing with 1 power and 1 duration by default. I liked the funny planet descriptions.

chongdashu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

Took a bit of getting used too, but got the hang of it after a while! Maybe instead of labelling 1,2,3,4 for both engine power and burn duration, label them according to the keys that should be pressed? Nice job anyhow!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05am

OMG the computer virus makes the game so much harder/impossible. Some funny text though

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12am

I managed most of the planets in that first screen, but Clarence was problematic! Not all landings operated the same and I don't know why. Text is funny but hard to read because it is partially transparent and sometimes text overlays the "initiate landing" button. Overall, enjoyed playing and I'd be ready for it to have another level of complexity as soon as I can figure out if Clarence is a difficult one or a bug. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

@All thank you for playing and your comments.
@jshaffer94247 Clarence isn't bugged, just difficult, especially if you still have the computer virus...which was picked up at D'Hares.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:20am

Nice game, but it was hard to undestand on the first level xD

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:23am

Fun! Really enjoyed it. (Those high-gravity planets are hard!!!)

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

Landing controls won't work for me. I tried keyboard and mouse. Only thing I get is some sort of denial sound, but nothing changes... (Using Win 8.1)

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11am

Great ! I want to see which upgrade I will receive on the next planet. Efficient graphics too !

nilstastic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

Pros: Lander games are always fun!
Cons: Quite hard to control, should be a bit more intuitive.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19am

@nilstastic It's definitely possible to do all planets, but yes supposed to be very tough especially from middle onwards (once you get the virus!)
@J-d-H the denial sound is (...should be...) if you try to press Burn but have not yet selected an engine power ('1' at start) and a burn duration ('1' at start). You can earn the engine upgrades
Apologies if you tried this.. I developed it on W8.1 tested in Chrome/Firefox/IE. Probably works best in Chrome as HTML5 generally better there at present.

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

It's pretty basic. Maybe add some way to move left and right and avoid obstacles? Still pretty fun.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31pm

the sound startled me. a lot

Jedi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Took me a few deaths to figure it out. I didn't care for the buttony controls, but in a way I guess it's more simulation like. I thought the ship fell impossibly fast on the high gravity planets; maybe there's some framerate dependency?

Loved the HitchHiker's Guide references :)

I thought it was clever how you stretched the gameplay into multiple levels, and the backstory of each planet helps to make each one fresh.

I didn't finish this (my ship was falling faster than I could react once the engines started shutting off randomly) but this feels like a complete entry all the same.

Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

@Jacic there are no obstacles, well other than landing pad and planet - didn't have time for them ;)
@pythong - sorry about the sound volume ! Alarms are meant to be alarming tho' !
@Jedi thank you. Should not be framerate dependent, you need to slow earlier. Much easier on touchscreen or with keyboard - mouse once engine is broken is not at all easy.
Cheers all...

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Fun! would like to see a polished version

zeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Interesting concept and entertaining gameplay. I liked the mission success summaries. Nice job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I like the celebration music. The Burn button should just be held down and maybe the power should stay at the previously selected one and default to 1. It does start to have a nice ritual feel to it though, like starting a car or ... controlling a spaceship. Maybe make the buttons glow or a tutorial for the first planet?

The background/stars are done well but the foreground/rocks are a little rough on the edges.

You did a great job of balancing when the ship blows up, as I never felt like I should have lived when I died.

I love the feedback when your velocity is too high (sound and explosion effects)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48pm

solid entry, when I finished it and I saw the new engine power I thought that I could launch the rocket into the space and maybe see an animation of the supernova, but instead I crushed against a cloud of nasty radiation, :p

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

Cheers both -:) great f/b

I wanted the Burn button to trigger a burn rather than manual control of the rocket, because that how the real thing worked. Humans not got enough at fine timing to be trusted with direct control. Was hoping to introduce fuel rationing but ran out of time.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nice - pretty fun gameplay. I always liked these types of games. Obviously lacks polish, but you got a lot done in 48 hours! The level select screen and build out of multiple worlds is pretty cool.

As mentioned, that alarm is alarming! My poor cat is growling at my speakers. I am too.

Still, there is something quite charming about your game. It's more than the sum of its parts. Nice work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Had a lot of fun with this one! Great humour and surprisingly fun (& tricky!) landing mechanic.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:50am

I couldn't control the ship. =(

buckslice says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Fun game. Great humor haha!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

It is a good job, but it detracts from the sound. Good luck!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

good effort, it was nice to play it and good difficulty curve

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Interesting game, sounds a little bit strange tho :)

snooze82 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I liked Götterdämmerung ;)

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

nice idea and I liked the landing mechanic. with just a little polish this could be very fun, nice job! :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

The sound effects were a bit annoying in the game but the game was fun and it had a hook to it even though it was so simple it kept me coming back for more. The graphics need some more work as does the sound but overall it's a good game.

anssipe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Hehe, that core infection made me laugh, even it did make the game it self a bit frustrating... Nice and simple game. Good work!

Sascha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I liked the idea of travelling from world to world, and to see some writing and descriptions of the world included.

The controls for the gameplay were very unintuitive though (why burn duration as a mechanic, when a long hold of the button could have done the same?). All in all, a nice entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

@Sascha burn duration is a mechanic because that's how craft are controlled. People can't accurately time a short burn. Also... at higher levels, the longer duration burns reduce the chance of a computer failure having an impact during the approach...

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice work, needs a bit more work on graphic, but anyway gj.

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Great game! I really like the little storys about the planets :D

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

+ soothing landing music!
+ hitchiker's guide to the galaxy reference
+ the intense pressure of landing the spaceship!!
+ multiple levels
+ multiplayer ;) I played it with my girlfriend, she set the engines and I clicked like a maniac :D
+ cat planet

- could have needed a retry button on each planet :)

great game! we had a great time playing it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

@O1F0 you can click the planets again to replay the ones you enjoyed ;)

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:44am

Nice game - the 4th planet (the big moon) proved to be to erratic for me to land, but I enjoyed some of the humor in the text.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

This game was a little annoying because of the sounds. I also did not understand why the controls stopped working sometimes and made me crash. A little frustrating. Nice effort tho.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:34am

@sPoCkEr2 - read the text in game...

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

Learning the controls took a bit of work, even after I'd found the instructions! =) But I really appreciate the humour of the game - the Thus Spake Zarathustra (Sunrise) bit on piano was excellent. Also appreciate your work on the parallax! Tuning the engines was pretty fun once I figured out what I was supposed to be doing, but I ran into increasingly serious issues where the planet I clicked on didn't end up being the planet I wanted to go to - which prevented me from finishing the game. Annoying - I was three planets away from the end. Still, great job for two days!

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:37am

Cute idea. I like the progression curve and the story.

It took me quite a while to figure out how to use the controls. It is rather weird, although it makes sense once you get it.

My one big problem was that after a while, my engine power and burn duration would randomly get deselected after pressing a few times. Also, the sounds were rather annoying (my sounds are rather bad too, so that's a common thing heh).

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:21pm

hahah i like the sound of panic with this glitched graphics! pretty good mood for the kind of game

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

@Oana and others... yes the random deselection of engine power and burn duration is intentional... text of story says your computer goes wrong after planet D'Hares...
It gets fixed later... if you do enough planets... top centre ;)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:34am

Like it alot I keep crashing and it makes me wanna play more ahhhhh!!!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:32am

Nice game, good level of challenge. A couple of minor issues where old message windows would sometimes overlap new ones, also it seemed to me that the alert sound played too readily - I felt in control doing a slow safe landing that was successful but still the alert sounded anyway. Good job overall though :)

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:44am

Fun to play. I really liked reading every planet description :)

Jhelle says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Game was enjoyable but could use a bit more depth. Also the sudden sounds scared me (should've turned down my volume :p).

Good job!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:28pm

How do I control this thing!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:22pm

@sandbaydev select burn power and duration, then press burn button, so 1, 1, BURN (at start), then repeatedly press BURN when you want to fire a short low-power burn... That should do the first landing for you!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Roger that!

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:47pm

nice little game only the sound anoys a little bit

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I played this game on my mouse, not on a touch device. I can see how much better this probably is on a touch device. Pretty nice idea to have different gravity, burn rates and such. Buttons would have been nice to give some feedback that I've pressed them, also after initiating the landing I would have appreciated a short pause before the falling begins.

Nice entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:38pm

@sandbaydev Cheers for the retry and f/b!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Did not know what to do... just crashed every time no matter what... Need moar instructions!

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:45pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Strangely, this somehow captured me until the very end. While unbalanced and sometimes buggy, the game was so damn fun to play.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thanks all.
@LandoSystems - click the ? on the screens for help, there are 3 or 4 help screens. Different help on galactic map from lander screen. Both pause game while you read. Just keep clicking ? until help goes away again !

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I liked the humorous texts sprinkled throughout. This was a fun variation on the classic lunar lander game!

I have the following suggestions for refinement. It would be helpful to get a chance to look at the gravity setting before you start falling. Maybe just a one second pause to get ready. For keyboard shortcuts, I suggest something more like QWER for engine power and ASDF for burn time, so that one hand can comfortably select both.

Also, when the computer starts forgetting your settings, there should be a sound effect that indicates when this happens. Otherwise I don't know until I hit Burn next, which might be fatal. It does add an element of challenge, which I'm sure is what you were going for, but in its current state it feels a little unfair.

Sound effects overall could use some volume balancing.

Also at some point the game bugged out and kept telling me I had just successfully landed on Espere, despite having actually landed on a different planet, so I'm afraid I couldn't complete the game. :(

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:35pm

As the planet "Espere" overlaps the "Initiate landing" button, it seems there's a bug that you always land in that planet if you click the wrong part of the button. Other than that, I really liked the idea of tinker the engine performance depending on the planet gravity.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Thought the humor was good but ultimately the gameplay is just a lander with varying boost strength.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:22am

@JavadocMD thank you for the detailed f/b. Only added keyboard last minute so didn't think it through - yes QWER would probably be better, but of course there'd be the AZERTY issue.
Re. computer going wrong, yes this would be better with an effect of some sort on cutout, perhaps even a persistent effect to show it is in a broken state also.

I realised the Espere problem a day after - I hope it doesn't cause too many people problems (hope - geddit!)

Cheers again!!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:27am

Some of the later planets made it hard to judge how much you could thrust before not being able to anymore. It was fun but a bit finnicky.

kostka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:38am

Very nice game, fun to play.
Little annoying sounds but it's just for me.
One thing, for Burn Duration keys are 6,7,8,9 not starting from 5 like you write in help. It was little confusing.(Maybe someone said this but You have so many comments that I could not find it:)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:41pm

@kostka you're right about the burn duration keys being 6789, keyboard did not get enough testing, and the new help wasn't checked enough. Sorry 'bout that!

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Nice one!

dook says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice concept. I thought it was a little too hectic, but I like the idea of a more 'programmable' lunar lander game :) All games are better with sound, but that alarm was a bit much after a while ;)

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I can't burn? Burning seems to do nothing.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

@stvr you need to set power and duration before pressing BURN... It says in the help and the instructions...

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

The controls are unnecessarily complicated (unless I'm missing something). Maybe keyboard controls would've been better? Feels like this game ultimately boils down to click spam

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:42am

@LeftRight92 you're missing something...

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:41am

Good marks on humor. This one made me really curious, I had to get to the end. The few levels where it was broken were tricky, but luckily the dev implemented keyboard shortcuts to help out :) Good job!

Xeke_Death says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:03am

Was having fun until I got the virus that made the lander forget settings... Crashed multiple times because it cut out close to landing on a high gravity planet...
Good work on all the text, was a good read...

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Instruction, instructions, instructions... they are really needed; I lost some time trying to figure out how to play your game at all and almost gave up. Having that figured out, the rest was pretty easy... u_u"
Also, these velocity alert sound and wrong planet sound are so annoying. D:

Aside from that, somewhat decent game, but not particularly exciting gameplay-wise; the most interesting moment was apparently some virus that caused engines and burning settings to be reset. Also, I have no idea what the green bar was supposed to represent. ^^"

The CD-coloured aura on completed planets was fancy, though, as well as the particles flying from planets to land on. ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:25pm

@Sunflower... sorry I thought the Help ? was too blatant! I agree, in retrospect I should have added more clear direction for the first level.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Pretty funny :) Took me about ten tries to figure out how the heck to make my burners work, but once I figured it out, it was a decent game mechanic.

Trilby says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I think it's an okay game.

For the desktop, I think it would be better if the entire game is controlled by a keyboard. I didn't like repeatedly clicking on my mouse.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Playing on PC Desktop and missed this line at first :
"(update2: Keyboard shortcuts for Landing added - see ingame help text on lander screen)"

With Keyboard, I've beaten all planet at first try, even with the "virus".

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:51am

I wish the help screen would explain how the game is played. Took me a while to know how to land the ship. Once that was done, it was fun to fiddle with the controls. Good job :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:09am

@Hypnohustla I also should have made it clear that the help is different on the Lander screen ;) UI design really does need sitting on shoulder of 100s of users, watching them using your 'obvious' toy and realising just how opaque it is.

se1by says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Landing got pretty hard, but otherwise a great game!

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Was fun figuring out how to land on the different planets, and a nice touch with the engine upgrades :)

It was pretty frustrating how the engines randomly turned themselves off though.

All in all fun game!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Not easy to master but quite engaging once you get the gist of it. The alarm SFX was mildly annoying but I guess that's how emergency alerts are supposed to sound. Graphics and music could be improved of course but for a 48h game they are OK.

Quite a good game overall!

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:03am

Funny text. Good job. :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice concept - bugged out halfway through so couldn't continue! :(

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:10am

The map and upgrades adds a lot of polish/complexity to lunar lander gameplay. While the "virus" was a neat idea, I got stuck because it ramped up the difficulty too quickly.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Interesting try, a simple game to understand but real hard to beat sometimes, especially when sound feedback and visual feedback on giving the ideal landing speed does not give a clear idea when everything is happening too fast.

Other than that, I had no issues with the game at all and the victory music was great. :)

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Yep, fun but gets a little repetitive with the humour becoming the only motivating factor. Bravo for braving doing it in HTML5 though! Gleep! Oh, also a double encore for the marvellous humour and references :-)

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:35am

Really cool! Great work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:51am

After getting the virus, I found trying to turn the engines back on while falling too frustrating to be able to land on the 7 and 8 gravity planets. Would have been much easier if the engine controls were on the left so I didn't have to try to do everything with one finger or hold my phone in a very unusual way.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:30am

@All... Thank you! Comments and suggestions are much appreciated.
@Arakade cheers - I normally code for Unity as I like C# a lot... and the Unity virtual world is cool.. but been doing 2D for LDs for a while and Construct2 seemed a better fit for doing that quickly... in some ways HTML5 a definite advantage plus the ease of export to various app stores.
@SnoringFrog yes virus is a pain! supposed to be though. Many have finished though I can't do it reliably myself ;-) Controls actually started on left... moved during 1st day to right - was going to make it configurable but too low on priority list.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice writing. I didn't enjoy scrabbling to select the initial settings at the start of each stage. Great work on making a simple mechanic fun.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:07am

Some very amusing dialog text in there - lots of great references :) I would have never though that Lunar Lander could be made fresh by stringing together levels with a story and some powerups ! Great work.

Posva says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Fun to play and nice graphics but the audio is quite annoying to be honest :P

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:27pm

This game has a good heart but needs overall polish. The sound bit was annoying and the later stages in the game didn't make me feel like I was controlling the landing but instead making my ship violently shake up and down. :P

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice little game - the sounds scared me!

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pretty neat game! My only complaint is about the "you're doing something wrong" sound that plays when I click something I'm not allowed to click (like a greyed out planet or the burn button when my engine settings reset).

Sestren says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:45am

Reminds me of Ship Chip Lander from Cosmic Osmo and the Worlds Beyond the Mackerel. Nice game!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Strong humour and some good core mechanics. A little hard to get to grips with - setting a default power/burn may have helped there.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice entry! I like these type of games. The sounds were a bit painful to my ears, though. More so than my game. :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Good work

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:27pm

The gameplay is a bit on the simple side, but still fun - and I really like that the highest setting isn't always best, but you have to mix and match a bit! The graphics (especially the color choices) feel a bit retro for some reason. The flavor texts are great! I wish I could've seen more of it, but the gameplay got really frustrating after picking up the virus - which was an interesting idea (a negative power-up, so to speak), but I feel that it ramps the difficulty up too much.

davisan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:27am

Very nice! The virus was a great addition to the game mechanics.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:42am

Look, the high gravity ones are nearly impossible to land on already, the virus isn't helping.

Haha. Really though, it's fun, and the help text is really really useful.

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Tone reminds me of Hitchhiker's Guide. Great stuff!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Hi. Thanks all for trying... Yes it gets tough after the virus... but there is an antidote ;) and the planet for that is pretty straightforward... might take a couple of tries. I saw it completed twice (my kids) before submitting - so I know it is possible (for people with better reactions than me!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]