Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TransmissionForce

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

My original idea was to create a hybrid rhythm/sorting minigame for Android devices. The theme connection would be that you are routing inter-dimensional commuters on their way home from work.

Everything went smoothly, but due to having to work on the last day I couldn't spend any time making it LOOK like you were routing inter-dimensional commuters.

After cleaning up the initial mess of game play it turned out to be something like Guitar Hero. Its much better to play on a tablet than on a desktop PC.

It was finished before the Compo deadline, but seeing as I used nosoapradio.us for the music, some libs I created for the 7day rogue-like challenge AND my girlfriend helped with the German translation, it wouldn't be fair to call it a compo entry.

Overall, twas great fun. I hope you enjoy playing it as much!

Love2d 0.9.x is required for Linux and Mac.

Let me know what your high score was. I toned down the difficulty ALOT in the final version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Fun(Jam)3.72
#95Overall(Jam)3.72
#100Audio(Jam)3.73
#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#382Mood(Jam)3.09
#441Graphics(Jam)3.24
#544Theme(Jam)2.76
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

Tried it on my Android. Pretty fun. It got surprisingly difficult. (I came across your entry because we choose similar names for our games.)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Fun game that quickly got difficult.

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18am

Fun, and quite polished :) Liked it a lot! The text font is tiny in my phone, though.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Fun game! I did not understand what to do at first, but the controls are really nicely done once you get the hang of it. Good difficulty. I enjoyed it!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Hard to play on a desktop pc like you said, probably more do-able on a touch screen device. The simple graphics work well though.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Really fun game! I thoroughly enjoyed it! For a primary screenshot, though, definitely put a screenshot of mid-gameplay. I was expecting something entirely different. Also took me a while to figure out exactly how to "lock in" a color on a side.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Wow! Mate, that was fun! i loved the story of the game xD its is kind of hard for me (windows) but it is so fun! i also like the music! great work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Great game! The artwork is simple, but extremely nice!

teamawesome says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Loved the music; and the gameplay is really neat. The kind of thing I could get addicted to :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:56am

Interesting game but note easy.

Great job :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

fun game and difficult. really liked this game.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

That's great and difficult ! I like it a lot ! Well done !

gladers says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I enjoyed playing this at the Frankfurt indy meet up, great game :)

invader says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Fun and addictive game! Really challenging - keeps you in the zone :)
I LOVE minimalistic graphics and great music, that sets the mood. The game probably plays better on touchpads than desktops.

BTW, was really surprised to see it written with LOVE - I happend to have it installed on my linux box and played with it a little bit. Great framework!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I accidentaly resized window with the game, and all falling cubes turned into small squares. Don't know, was it a bug, or was this intented. Otherwise, nice time-killer game :)

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Thanks for all the comments. I would definitely avoid re-sizing the window as it breaks everything completely. I would have disabled that feature but then it doesn't work at all on Android.

Music is from nosoapradio.us. I recommend checking it out. I have no musical skill whatsoever (except with selecting it)

donfabio says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Fun game. Also had a chance to play it at the Frankfurt Indie meet up. :) Now tried it at home on a laptop trackpad it's kinda hectic... So it's actually meant to be played on a multitouch device. Any plans on releasing it on the Play/App store?

>>> "Everything went smoothly, but due to having to work on the last day I couldn't spend any time making it LOOK like you were routing inter-dimensional commuters."
Since you already had sprites of space people for the intro why didn't you simply replace the blocks with those sprites? :P

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Fun to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]