Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Equilibrium

by phi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to equalize the population numbers (indicated by the size) of the planets. Establish continuous population flows between planets. The numbers on the planets represent the speed at which population is transported away from them. The green bar at the right shows you how far away you are from all planets having equal population numbers. Get it over the threshold to get to the next stage. Every planet must be connected to at least one other planet.

- Create or remove an arrow by dragging with your LEFT MOUSE BUTTON from one planet to the other.
- Move a planet around by dragging with your RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON, to keep things neatly arranged.

-----------------------------------------------
Tested successfully in Chrome and Firefox.
-----------------------------------------------

Have fun, thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Innovation3.90
#121Theme3.85
#274Audio3.21
#296Mood3.30
#319Overall3.45
#620Fun2.98
#660Humor2.18
#715Graphics2.87
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Inudenis says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Nice, very creative!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice mechanics.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I got a glitch where one of the planets spawned over one of the others, making it hard to play on, interesting mechanics though!

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

@DaanVanYperen: This is not a glitch. You can move the planets by dragging with your right mouse button. It's mentioned in the description and also in-game, but I guess it's not visible enough. Thank you for playing and for your feedback!

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

i like it, interesting mechanic :)

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very creative and original.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice puzzle game, uses the theme well.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Very cool concept. Took me a few minutes to get the hang of it but once I did it was a good "aha" moment. Audio fits, controls are simple, great job!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice mood! I'm not used to this kind of strategy so I'm pretty bad, but I can feel the work you put in it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

interesting idea, pretty fun

Ramori says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

http://imgur.com/Q2DBewu - still no idea what am I doing, but it's fun.
I really like the sounds and simple graphics. Both create very pleasant mood. Instead of thinking about making the most optimal flow, I was like: "Let's see what happens if I connect this to that. Oh, nice. Now let's try connecting this over there...". Very nice game.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

After thinking a little and having the information about the fact number indicate the speed, I came up with formula that must be followed for each planet to reach the perfect equilibrum: Sum(incomingSpeeds) = outcomingSpeed * outcomingEdges. With that knowledge I reached level teen-ish before deciding it's probably never going to end, however randomly generated completion messages can be.

Generally, I found mechanics to be quite original, but they didn't keep me interested for really long; I guess having levels designed rather than randomly generated, and limited number of them (and maybe some other gimmicks) would hook me more (not that I expect to make full game in 48 hours ^^"). As for audiovisuals, they served their purpose, even though they didn't stand out.

Overall, nice job here.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Great result for a 48h challenge. Curious gameplay and smooth visual. Minimal sound and graphics

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Liked it very much, cool mechanics!

Eero Tuovinen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A solid puzzle kernel, very satifying for a competition entry. Merely adding more planets as the only axis of elaboration would be too thin for sustained interest, and the concept has legs for more variety, but these are not competition concerns.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47pm

What a neat mechanic! Normally these "drag lines from circle to circle" games are about bodies with varying populations but a stable rate of change. This is neat because you have to try to understand how the populations will change based on the rates of change.

That being said! I never felt like I "understood" how to win these levels, but I won by just making a bunch of connections and then tweaking them. It would be nice if there was more of a visual sense of how these quantities are changing.

Do you have a twitter account?

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Awesome mechanics! I'm so bad at puzzles , ahah . I stated to ge really confused after so many connections, but I'm glad you put a button to clear them all...thanks a lot for that =]

I really enjoyed the mechanics , and the audio feedback is spot-on. nice work!

phi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

@ZNCatlaw: Thanks a ton for playing and for the feedback! I do have a twitter account (@phigames), but I'm not really using it actively at the moment.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I like the game and it's presentation. Nice time filer keeping brain from rusting too much.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Well done, and very unique. At first, I had no idea what I was doing, but my brain started subconsciously figuring it out after a few levels while. I played it for quite a while, and ended up with a very pleasing visual.

You did a nice job of making the game feel challenging, but not unfair. The whole thing was nicely polished... slick visuals, appropriate music. This is the type of game I could waste time with. Also, I think touch controls would work great with the game.

My only complaint is that there wasn't a lot of variety, but what is there is great.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:38pm

nice idea :) got till level 10 :D

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52pm

nice concept, but all the possibilities made me go crazy XD

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I had to restart a few times because the new planet would pop to close to an other, and if one of the two became too big I couldn't clic the other.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice original puzzle game. I think the sound & visuals suits the feel of the game well.

phi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

@PapyGaragos: You can move the planets with your left mouse button.

phi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

* right mouse button
:s

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

Once you know that you can move planets and that the number is the travel flow (even if that last one becomes clear with few levels), the game starts to be really interesting.
The atmosphere is great, the game have a good response to user actions which renders the thinking easier.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:25am

Hi there. I like the implementation more than the underlying puzzle. Nice sounds, visuals, UI.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:26am

Hi there. I like the implementation more than the underlying puzzle. Nice sounds, visuals, UI.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Nice take on the theme, I like puzzles very much. Well done!

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice to see a fellow Swiss game dev! :)

Made it to stage 23. My strategy: Order the nodes by value in a bi-directionally connected ring (like this: http://i.imgur.com/CDmyadw.png) Then fiddle around a bit until it's in equilibrium.
Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]