Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Biotope

by egos - Jam Entry

Biotope are the force who connecte the world
Try to keep equilibrium between forest, rock, lac powers inside a volcano island.


The goal:
1.keep biotope alive
2.Use pattern to harvest resource
3.Increase biotope power by using mana resource


Control:
Left click : interact with button and harvest gem

Mouse well : zoom
Middle clik : scroll map
Right clik : moove map
Space bar : next turn
"U": hide UI

Tips :
-Biotopes interaction between generate Gem (rock->lac->forest->rock).
-Gem combination increase mana.
-Pattern regenerate slowly.
-Auto pass turn with play/pause option isn't a bad choice.
-Volcano just destroy other biotopes
-If you have 0 mana and 0 resources maybe its time to reset.
-Keep a eye on the fps/cpu.


Bugs :
-Depend of the browser clear your cache and reload.....
-Bad optimization sorry for the cpu.



Originaly for the compo (Tools Used: construct2 and gimp).
Have fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#53Innovation(Jam)3.85
#242Fun(Jam)3.28
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#434Humor(Jam)2.31
#445Mood(Jam)2.97
#472Theme(Jam)2.97
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#659Audio(Jam)1.44

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34am

Took me a minute to realize what was going on, but it was pretty cool.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59am

Looks very pretty watching an island form from the ocean. Once you get the hang of collecting mana there isn't much else to do but watch the simulation.

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Watching the island grow and the lava flow is really neat. It's quite confusing as to what you're supposed to do, but after a few minutes I got the hang of balancing the different resources.

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

@mechabit in some configuration you can have a lot of mana rapidly
The goal is to spend mana for increase generation possibility

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05am

@graebor i hope you will not the only one thanks :)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

I could play this for hours. It's hypnotizing =P

thomz12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

took a while to figure out what to do, I liked it though!

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

great idea, too bad my PC seems to be unable to keep up with this, but until the framerate goes down it's lots of fun

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

@x1212 effectivelly its badly optimised sorry for this

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

interesting idea, really hypnotizing, but not trivial to understand whats going on.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hmmm, maybe I am missing something but somewhere in the miidle of level 2 I unable to generate mana and I nned to restart :( .. but I will try again and find the right strategy :D

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

@lokiman
its very importante to maintain biotope power
Their are no end if you have no mana and no BT power AND no gem/pattern you cant do anythings

Thnaks all for feed back

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

a little time consuming, but it's okay :)

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I appreciate you pass time to watching ... its the goal if you considere the gamplay a this time
thanks

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04am

Really original! I liked it! ^^

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

A bit confusing at first, everything seems to happen so quickly. The idea is nice and has potential for expanding.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Take a minute to understand main idea and realize how to produce gems. Cool game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48pm

This is one of the best games of ludum dare.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I love it so much ! Amazing job !!

suve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

The mechanics are really hard to grasp at first, but once you get an idea of what's going on, it gets real fun and hard to stop. The game is very random, which can be both annoying, and fun, as you can play many times and have much different results.

egos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

thanks all for your return.
The game play is very crapy at this time but the new one incoming is so much differnet thx LD :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hi there. Love the procedural lava flows and island growth. Nice to see Construct2 being used. Shame no sound. Good job!

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Cool idea, nice implementation. Some music would have benn cool :D

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:38pm

As other said, it took a while to understand what i should do (especially the "pattern thing").

It gets a bit repetitive after a while :
- boost everything up to 100
- hit the play button
- when everything is back to 0, pause and start again...

Not much to do really, yet I spent way too much time playing this. Good job

egos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:13pm

thanks for you feed back
I realize i pass so many time on the algo that the gameplay havent a lot of challenge. I work on it

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:39am

I couldn't connect to your site :(

egos says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 11:13pm

sorry normaly its ok ;)

Rustam says ...
Apr 24, 2017 @ 10:25am

Great Article it its really informative and innovative keep us posted with new updates. its was really valuable. thanks a lot.
http://torrentsherearefree.com

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]