Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Guardian of worlds

by yoanndeplo - Jam Entry

Hello ! This is my second LD and I hope that you will enjoy my game : "Guardian of worlds" I used RPG maker VX ace to make this game. If you see a bug or a mistake, report it and I will fix it.

NB : I'm french, so there are certainly some grammar mistakes in the english version.

NB2 : I can't change the message when a monster or a hero dies, so you will see it in french, sorry.

Enjoy !

Yoanndeplo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Graphics(Jam)3.71
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#473Mood(Jam)2.93
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#691Innovation(Jam)2.29
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Unfortunately it has been a long time since I have written anything in French, but I can read it just fine ;]

This is a neat game! I hadn't thought you could make anything like this in RPG maker. It's kind of like a RPG X-Com game. I didn't get too far because the gameplay felt a little bit padded--I have lost my tolerance for grinding through combat after combat, and because the gameplay seemed like there wasn't going to be any end to the game, I stopped when I felt like I understood what I was supposed to do.

Thank you for the game!

yoanndeplo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Thank you for the feedback !

IMPORTANT : English version is now available !

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

Rather decent entry, with some unintentional humour coming from English translation.

I didn't quite like how the overworld graphics seem very... RPG Maker-ish. Not that I have anything against the tool itself (Ib ♥), I just prefer when game has its own style, or something?
(out of curiosity, which of assets you made yourself, and which were from other sources? Not that I'd blame you, considering the short timespan for making the game... ^^")

yoanndeplo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

I didn't made any assets.

creative630 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Fantastic work Yoanndeplo!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:31am

Beautiful work.

Razoric says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Great work!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Do I need rpg-maker to run this?

yoanndeplo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Thanks for the comments !

Yodamaster : You don't need rpg maker to play the game, but you need it if you want to see how I made the game.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Il déchire pas mal ce jeu ! Il est très beau, les musiques sont cools et le système de combat, quoique très classique, reste efficace. Je me le met de côté pour le finir plus tard :p

Bien joué en tout cas.

TF;DR (too french, didn't read): that game is awesome!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Nice RPG

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]