Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Suburban Garden

by Ian MacLarty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little adventure game about the flora and fauna in my garden.

Tips:
- Use the arrow keys to move, F for fullscreen, ESC to quit.
- You can play as 4 different life forms (not just a bee!)
- The lizard can't turn in-place (by design). You have to turn while running.

Source is included in the "data" folder of the Windows and Linux downloads.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Humor3.44
#149Innovation3.76
#306Mood3.29
#409Graphics3.32
#626Audio2.59
#790Theme2.89
#924Overall2.82
#957Fun2.57
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

I have no idea whether donationware hosting is considered acceptable for this contest?

The idea of using real-world photographs in this context is cool, very unique. Makes for a big game file though.
Not much in the way of gameplay though, and I think you'll struggle to get interest from game players/developers with a topic like that.
You did create that bee sprite during the 48 hours, right?
Nice that you used sound, but a single continuous buzzing sound adds little and gets annoying fast.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

What the hell was that?!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

As much as I like the idea of using real world photos to build the universe of your game, I don't see how it really relates to the Connecting Worlds theme. I flew around until I found the Lizard, but then I was not able to move up & down anymore with him, so I had to stop there, I'm guessing it's a bug.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Lol how can I play as an ant? :D

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Thanks for giving me a tour of your garden! ^_^

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

This... Is... probably most impresive game here! I really like that abstract art and sound!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

nice gfx :D

the sound goes really good with everything

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I got bored after 5 minutes of flying around. Like the other people have said, it's a really cool idea to use connecting photographs as the backdrop, but in the time I played I reached literally no gameplay.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

to wolfmother: itch.io solicits donations automatically unless you switch a setting in your game's edit page.

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Really cool and I loved the art style.

Ian MacLarty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I've added some play tips to the game's description and turned of donations on the itch.io page.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Liked the transitions and the last life-form was really cool.
Nicely nice !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:58am

Amazing game with a beautiful concept. Imaginative use of the theme.
~funkeh

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Cute! I the lo-fi style of putting iconic on top of photographs; it plays well with the sound effects to produce a unique gameworld. I also think the circle of life metaphor is pretty clever and ties in well with the theme :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very nice. I loved to explore your garden and change my form. Good idea and well implemented. Also cool and fitting sounds. I don't really see the theme in this game.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:19am

Original concept :) The bee is a little slow for a bee ;) controlling the lizard is fun

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:02am

That was freaking scary and disgusting, but I like the graphics and how it shows the cycle of life.
BTW: if your garden is really like this, I will stay away from your house! ;)

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Raised two plants just to check if the second one is going to give different colors to flowers.. Nope. :) Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]