Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Steel Saviour

by Aifryz - Jam Entry

You are in lab. You are a robot. You are controlled by prof.Dragon. You need to find console and disconnect game world from real world. Use WAD + space for moving and shooting. I need to sleep now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#186Theme(Jam)3.57
#220Humor(Jam)2.84
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#575Graphics(Jam)2.90
#590Audio(Jam)2.17
#656Mood(Jam)2.44

Comments

doos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nicely done.. Like the portals into the real world with the photos.. Was a bit different!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I almost die a pair of times while watching the photos of the background XD

eott says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice touch with the link to the real world and I had to laugh a bit at the enemy AI, as it produced some unintentional humor when mirroring the player movement.

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Fun! Nice writing, and I enjoyed how the "other world" was photographic.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Chrome marks this as a malicious download and when I start the exe regardless, I get a message saying that this "is not a valid Win32 application".

silentlamb says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

@udo: chrome marks almost everything with zip and exe in it when it comes form dropbox. My game is marked as malware as well.

@author: Great idea with the real world. Even the collision boxes were well positioned! However there were screens that disappeared when you clicked any key. When you play you don't expect game to pause for a message screen so you instantly skip it.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Really loved the clever take on the theme, first time I've seen this idea.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Great idea with the real photos, I'll definitely steal that for a later project :) Gameplay was a bit repetitive though, and the levels were not interesting.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I thought using real photos was a cool idea and good use of the theme. Gameplay was simple but worked pretty well. I wish the level layouts were a bit more varied though. Good job!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

A solid platformer. Story is pretty interesting. Fire rate is a little slow for the number of enemies that are there at times, but health is so high its hard to die anyway. Getting those switches for the laser gates should have some indication of it working.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:23pm

A good game, found it a bit plain but games jams don't exactly give you time to fill in lots of gameplay. I liked the humour but you spelling and grammar does need a bit of work ;)

Good game, well done

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I really like the way that you switch between the real world and the drawn world, and the way that the objects in the picture act as tiles to stand on. The sound gets a bit repetitive, and the enemies could be more difficult or varied, but a solid game nonetheless

Catmoo says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I really loved that. Mixing the real world with games is always a nice thing to see. Although it was a shame because I almost wanted to always be in the other world.

I did have a crash after the end of the second set of real worlds when moving forwards.

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great concept! The text was skipping very quickly and I would have liked to read the messages between worlds but otherwise, great work. Also, add a game over screen! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]