Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Broken Planet

by NRathbone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my game, A Broken Planet. I hope you enjoy this short text adventure!

The source can only be viewed in the Quest desktop application.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#395Mood3.18
#637Theme3.15
#709Overall3.06
#721Humor2.11
#903Innovation2.68
#943Fun2.59
#1150Graphics2.00

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24am

A web text adventure! This is a bit different.

Writing's not half bad, story is coherent and interesting. Fits the theme.
Pretty cool.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

AAAAAAAAAAH! AH! AHHH!

So, when you get to the end, you don't get to read the ending bit before it jumps to the ending screen. I don't know how it ends! Noes!

Other then that, solid writing and cool puzzles that take some work but are solveable. I liked it! Way to go!

Could be improved with an ambient soundtrack, if that's possible for this kind of thing.

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I had an idea about a text adventure for this LD but it didn't really fit any of the themes... So it's good to see that someone did one :) Played for a while but got a bit lost after the hallway/lab and gave up ... will probably return and try again when I'm a bit fresher in the head. A big + is that the "quest desktop" helps with the typing and the objects ... would be even neater if the surrounding ui widgets could be colored and themed a bit liked your nice screenshot/drawing!

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Interesting idea. I think the deaths occour pretty abrupt. However its nice to play and the web UI helps to keep track of the things around you.
Well Done :)

jojocanard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I probably didn't understand how the site works : I could't get the code in the Greenhouse. I guess it would have opened the door.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice story, text adventure was a good idea. The GUI interface didn't work for me some of the time (e.g. the security code) but really enjoyed it.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice shot !
Back to the basics of the roleplaying game. I will definitely finish this one when I have enough time :)

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22pm

In the second area after using the gyroscope.. It says journals but there is only one. And if you leave to the south and then come back you can still see the journal even though you already took it.

Supercool you did a text adventure. I liked it and i thought the writing was pretty well done.

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Cool text adventure game!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Quite different. Needs a lot of time though. Don't know if there are still people playing this. Maybe adding graphics would be good.

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very nice little story :) It bothered me that I couldn't always substitute 'l' for 'look', kept just typing things like 'l gyroscope'. But that might be the program you made it in and not an issue with the game.

I assume there's just the one ending and that I didn't do anything wrong.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:40am

It was refreshing to see a text based game! I'm glad that you have options to click on the right - I was never good at remembering the commands to type. When I used the gyroscope I was like AW HECK YEAH!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:25am

I spent a lot of time playing this... it was frustrating that nothing much was resolved at the end. I didn't really feel like I'd gotten anywhere. However, I did appreciate that you gave us the answer to the Greenhouse puzzle up there... reminded me of Metal Gear where you're supposed to "look on the back of the box" to get Meryl's codec. Good writing in general, and it brought be back to the good old days of playing Zork :D Thanks for the game!

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Obviously still has a long way to go before it's finished, but it's a nice start. I enjoyed the writing and the story was intriguing.

garygreen says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:35pm

It made a nice change to play a text adventure. Nice effort.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]