Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

We're connected

by Yozz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple platformer, mr. Goodfellow.

Move and jump by arrows, read dialogs, have fun, don't step the sleeping troll, visit queen Krababa and the Great Marmuk.

And remember: connecting sucks, especially if you're a wompie.

////////// ALL EXISTING BUGS FIXED, ALL VERSIONS UPDATED \\\\\\\\\\

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#100Humor3.35
#284Graphics3.55
#379Mood3.20
#460Theme3.38
#477Fun3.13
#496Overall3.27
#515Audio2.77
#920Innovation2.65

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

loved the story good job

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Such a lovely and fun game :D! The graphs, everything n.n I love it all!

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24am

Very adorable world you created!

geometrix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28am

Game crashed after I stomped the last Grompie. Also, the music didn't loop :(

Pity, I was enjoying it for a moment. Nice and cute presentation.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30am

Hey there! It's possible to fall endlessly if you go to the right after being reversed.
(you can still fix bugs after the game is submitted so don't worry ^^)

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice graphics. I've found a bug: when you jump out of a platform (from the down world to de up world) don't die and you can't continue playing.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Wow. Love the character art and setting. Controls are decent. Can you turn off captions. I die a lot :) and have memorized the dialogs

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Lol.. Great story!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Love the art style, very innovative too!

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

A nice little story-driven platformer! I was enjoying the story and gameplay, until the game froze after stomping the last Grompie. I tried again and couldn't progress. In addition, the collision detection on the Grompies is pretty poor, often I would get hit even when I hit them from the top.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

POOR WOMPIES, always this connections....gosh. Nice Game! Nice Art and poor little fellas :(

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Awesome game. It was annoying that you go so far back when you die, but I love the story elements and dialogue.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice, whimsical game! It sadly froze on me after I calmed the last Grompie, but love all the crazy characters. Upsidedown jumping is challenging but kinda fun. Great job!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

This game made me laugh a lot ;D

Yozz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I will fix bugs later today. Thank you, guys.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I got stuck in the reverse world on the bush...
On second try the game simply stopped after i calmed all grompies. But nice art style + interesting text boxes :)

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I really liked the great Marmuk's lines, very funny.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice story, handsome visual ! There is a bug when you jump in the sky ( when you are reverse ) then you dont die but also you cannot back..

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Cute, but it froze on me when I calmed the final Grompie. Refreshingly different.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Great game, whimsical and fun.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I got stuck on the turtle thing in the reversed world but it was a fun game otherwise!

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Overall the game is great and very funny, the only frustrating thing was death. I guess you could simply throw funny one liners instead of using a health system.
Also I got stuck in the green rock once and had to restart the game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

it would be nice if you could say which tool you used.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Cool game. Save points would be good if you develop it further. Great artwork

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Feels like a complete game. some control stiffness, some things could be communicated more clearly, sound and colours are a bit harsh. there is no death or reset condition for falling into the sky. Nice work

Yozz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35pm

sneeuwpopsneeuw, Construct 2 and Photoshop.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very cool aesthetic. You have a good imagination! :D

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23pm

A nice game, even if a little short.
Few bugs: Music stops after first death (which is a shame because it's awesome) and you fall endlessly if you fall off of upsideland (or w/e you named it :P).
Lovely art, music and narrative thought put into this...maybe we'll see a full game in the future? Plz?

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Nice looking game. Couple of times I died to something and I'm not sure what. Nice to have a story in these games. Great work!

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Cool game, good graphics and I like the writing

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very cute and interesting game! I love the art, music, and general world you've created. The game mechanics were not too innovative though, but that's fine. It was also pretty buggy (I see you wrote that all bugs were fixed but that's not the case). I played the web version. Whenever I ran into the upsideworld version of the big groaning rock thing, I wouldn't be able to move. I tried playing it several times but that bug happened every time. Overall though, not bad! :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

kinda good story, enjoyed playing it :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I love the graphics and dialogue! Good job.

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Really, really cool! It kept surprising me with what kind of game it was.

Eduardo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

Really funny dialogues, haha! good job!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

really funny and good musci

Fanttum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

Cool idea, i did get stuck thou. When the world flipped I jumped and fell up into the sky and couldn't continue :(

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

Love the idea, the story and the art!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

I like the world you have created, and the overall aesthetics of the game design.

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

Haha, this is great. A little buggy but totally fits with what I think of when I think of a good game built in 48 hours.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

I got stuck on a platform :( but anyway, the graphics are very cute, the story is adorable. Love the dialogue!

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

Nice art and gameplay. Poor Grompies I wish they would cheer up.

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

Colors are nice

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice concept. Got stuck on the turtle in the underworld.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43am

Enjoyed the music as well as the graphics, way to go!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice game. Graphics and sound worked well together.

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16am

Weird and funny. Technical aspects aside this is such a good game. Keep doing it!

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37am

Nice story-driven platformer. Pretty polished on the graphics too. Solid entry :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

Really well done! I love the art style and the way the dialogue fits with the quirky characters!

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36am

Really cute, I got stuck in a corner though while jumping to a platform .

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57am

Landed on the side of the turtle sphere, had a dance party, 9.5/10

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

Adorable :)

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

Too much unskippable dialogue!
Also bugged out for me once I reached the reverse world, fell and game was stuck.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

The giant reminded me of Monty Python animations, I was really expecting him to stomp on me. I loved that his chat icon was a toe though, made me chuckle. I did have to restart the game a couple times as I got stuck jumping into the platform where the peppermint weapon was and on the bottom side of what I like to think was a turtle. Speaking of that green thing, he amused me when I first ran into him, nice touch!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Cute dialogs and graphics.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14am

very nice game, although I'm getting stuck in between the turtle and the red wompie on the second world

belva1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34am

nice game after all, but very frustrating to restart the tutorial every time

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice !!

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54am

Cool game !
I really like the graphics

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Nice story and well implemented. Good graphics too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

An original world and a real effort put into narrative progression.

Good job ; )

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice job. I like this game. I did fall up through the sky when I fell of a platform. I like the music alot.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I like the gameplay, and I love the graphics! Pity that it has a bug that stops the gameplay without ending the game, but other than that, I like it!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice Idea and story. Unfortunately I got stuck on the bush and didn't want to see the story again... Sorry.

Oxeren says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:47am

Cool game! I liked the humour and graphics. Though it's a bit frustrating that you have to start over from the beginning if you die :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:02am

Cool idea, loved the graphics and the music but like others got stuck in the bush or turtle or whatever when calming those red thingies

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]